Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tasty pastries!
The 200 recipe range of books from Hamlyn is inexpensive at around a fiver each - less from Amazon - and each offers a selection of recipes based on a certain theme - although they don't all contain a full 200 recipes!. This one offers Pies and Tarts and benefits from Amazons Click to Look Inside feature. Using this feature will give an idea of the layout and content of...
Published 21 months ago by James B. Spink

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as some in the series
I do like this series of cookbooks. OK - they are never going to turn you into a gourmet chef. If you want that then you need to look elsewhere. What they do very well is provide lots of ideas for simple, fairly cheap to make and yet mostly tasty recipies. I have a young son and a husband who is a picky eater, so I am always looking for ideas for nutritious, tasty meals...
Published 22 months ago by Stracs


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tasty pastries!, 13 Dec 2012
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 200 Pies & Tarts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The 200 recipe range of books from Hamlyn is inexpensive at around a fiver each - less from Amazon - and each offers a selection of recipes based on a certain theme - although they don't all contain a full 200 recipes!. This one offers Pies and Tarts and benefits from Amazons Click to Look Inside feature. Using this feature will give an idea of the layout and content of this book and reading the introduction may help you decide if it is for you or not. We have a few other books in this series but this one is one my wife's favourites and contains some very tasty meal ideas. There's nothing quite like the smell of homemade pastries cooking to give you an appetite!

The books in this range are small and chunky and nicely illustrated, but I'm not sure the spines would stand up to too much rough use in the kitchen! Still, they are offered for a good price and represent decent value for what you pay. A range of books that will probably suit those new to cooking, rather than the more experienced, or perhaps those just looking for some new ideas. A good-value book we've used quite a bit - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pies and Tarts galore- a good recipe book., 9 Dec 2012
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 200 Pies & Tarts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Another good recipe book from the Hamlyn all colour cookbook series, this one is packed with tonnes of recipes of Pies and Tarts. They are so many mouth watering recipes to choose from.
The book is essentially divided into the following subheadings- introduction; bite-sized snacks; savoury light bites; main meals; sweet pies; sweet tarts; and gluten free. The introduction covers tips and techniques, short crust pastry, gluten free pastry,hot water crust pastry, pate sucree,and how to cheat with bought pastry. I like the fact that it says you cheat with a bough pastry as sometimes making your own can be tedious then it becomes a question of 'here is one I made earlier'. I think it is good to make your own but also have the option to use ready made one. I found that section very useful and a good foundation on which to develop the various recipes. There 200 recipes as the name of the book suggests with beautiful pictures illustrating each one and a step by step guide to preparing and baking them. I am not a big fan of buying ready made pies as I like to make my own and this book has proved immensely useful in the variety of recipes covered, which are really easy to make and quite delicious too. The book is compact and small and easy to carry around. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Pies & Tantalizing Tarts, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. K. Cross "keithcelt2" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 200 Pies & Tarts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I now own a baker's dozen of these wonderful little books. This latest in my collection matches the excellent standards of the other twelve. As ever: it is a compact book, with wipe-able covers; has a recipe per page with many including a tip for changing the dish into something different; has full-colour photographs of the finished dishes; easy-to-follow recipes for novices to the more accomplished cook; & has useful front sections on how to make the various pastries needed, & Tips & Techniques eg lining a pastry case; & even has a gluten free section at the back of the book.
The Pizza Puff Pies (made with shop bought puff, so really easy!) were fabulous. The recipe makes six, but I have a feeling that, over the Christmas period, I'm going to be doubling the amount of ingredients at least, for any visitors that come a-calling! The Honeyed Pecan Pie was even easier, & equally as delicious, &, next time, I'll make the chocolate pecan pie. My favourite recipe from the book thus far, however, is the Goat's Cheese & Beetroot Tart. With two of my most loved ingredients in this indulgent creation....what's not to like?!! Another terrific Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook. Buy with confidence, cook with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as some in the series, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Stracs "Stracs" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 200 Pies & Tarts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I do like this series of cookbooks. OK - they are never going to turn you into a gourmet chef. If you want that then you need to look elsewhere. What they do very well is provide lots of ideas for simple, fairly cheap to make and yet mostly tasty recipies. I have a young son and a husband who is a picky eater, so I am always looking for ideas for nutritious, tasty meals which both of them will eat. I can usually rely on this series of books to provide me with inspiration for this. Each book is split into sections e.g. soups, fish/seafood, meat/poultry, desserts and so on, and there are plenty of recipe ideas in each section which means you can usually find something to suit all tastes.

The layout of the books is good - each recipe has a double page allocation with a good colour image of the finished meal, a full ingredient list and easy to follow step by step instructions. My only criticism, and the reason I have given 4 stars instead of 5, is that the spine of the book is quite stiff and as a result it is hard to get the book to stay open at any given page without weighing the pages down. When just flicking through the book for ideas this is not a problem, but if you want to follow a recipe step by step in the kitchen as you are working then it is awkward. I would also say that the variety of pies and tarts in this is not as good as I expected, certainly compared to some of the others in the series. Saying that, it is still good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better......, 25 Oct 2012
By 
C. M. Cotton "Chris Cotton" (Europe and USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 200 Pies & Tarts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have previously reviewed a number of these Hamlyn cookbooks and all are very similar in style and presentation. This is a small, almost pocket size book. It contains as the title suggests 200 recipes. It is broken down into chapters that look at,bite size snacks, savoury light bites, main meals, sweet pies, sweet tarts and gluten free pies. Each recipe takes two pages. On one side is a picture of the finished dish and on the other is the list of ingredients and simplified cooking instructions. I have one small problem with this book, some of the recipes are so overly simplified, certain stages of the process are left out...needing some guess work, but this does not really detract from the quality of the recipes.

This is a great little book, but I do think to get it to the smaller page format, they have sacrificed some of the preparation/cooking stage explanations and have overly simplified some of the recipes. This is a good little book but with a bit more of an explanation to some of the recipes it could have gained 5 stars.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of inspiration, 19 Aug 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 200 Pies & Tarts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is another book in this very useful series of small cookery books published by Hamlyn. It contains two hundred recipes for pies and tarts and most have a suggested variation at the end of the recipe which means the book actually contains many more than two hundred recipes.

There is an introduction to the book which gives instructions for making several different types of pastry and advice on such things as baking blind - no need for expensive baking beans - just used dried pasta. The book then has six sections:
Bite-Sized Snacks
Savoury Light Bites
Main Meals
Sweet Pies
Sweet Tarts
Gluten Free

All the gluten free recipes could also be made with ordinary flour. There are ordinary everyday recipes such as chicken and mushroom pies and steak and kidney pies but there are also recipes for the more exotic varieties such as citrus baklava and Mexican egg tarts or Portuguese custard tarts.

There are recipes which will be of use to the more experienced cook and those which are ideal for the beginner. Each recipe is laid out in easy to follow steps and the ingredients and quantities are clearly set out. There is a colour illustration on the opposite page to each recipe and there is a useful index at the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pastry paradise, 18 Aug 2012
By 
Lulu (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 200 Pies & Tarts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Beginning with a useful guide to making various types of pastry, including gluten-free, and divided into sections covering bite-sized snacks, savouries, main courses, sweet pies and sweet tarts, this is a chunky little paperback with plenty of ideas for classic and contemporary dishes. Spinach boureks, Medieval spiced steak pies, Samosas, Portuguese custard tarts, French onion tarts, Caribbean chicken patties, a substantial Picnic pie containing sausages, chicken and smoked bacon, Game pie, Venison and red wine pie, Pumpkin pie, classic Lemon tart, Pear and almond tart and a Mango and palm sugar Tatin (with an additional recipe for the suggested accompaniment of coconut ice cream) are just a few of the highlights. With clear instructions (in both metric and imperial measures), estimates of preparation time as well as the actual baking, a photograph for each recipe and suggestions for variations, experienced cooks will find lots to interest them and beginners will have nothing to fear. Having a compendium of dedicated recipes makes it very easy to practise the craft of pastry-making and to justify always having a batch on hand in the fridge or freezer. Pie fillings can make expensive ingredients go a long way and get substantial meals out of cheap ones; this unpretentious and practical book would soon earn its keep in any family kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really nice ideas, well laid out., 29 Oct 2012
By 
Mad Saint Uden "Mad Saint Uden - it's an anagram" (Kent - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 200 Pies & Tarts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
After a short but practical introduction which includes a guide on how to make some (but not all) of the pastries required here; this book follows the formula set for the series- which is :

On the right hand page is a colour photo of the finished dish. The left hand page is split. The left hand column is the list of ingredients, the main bulk of the test are the directions. Separated at the bottom of the page are some variants of the dish. This text is clearly laid out with black text on a white page.

This is one of the best in the series - I think because the title is accurate and you will find pies & tarts inside, but also that a pie can be a whole meal and so personally I find it more rewarding to cook rather than faffing around for hours to produce 'a side dish'. As such I think this one is especially good for beginner cooks.

I am a big fan of this series, but this one is to be used rather than simply to make up the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pies and Tarts yumm, 8 April 2013
By 
Shaya (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 200 Pies & Tarts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love these little cook books, they are handy, have great instructions a good clear picture of what it should look like in the end and a nice size to use.
I have several of these little books and they hardly take up much space on the bookcase but packed with recipes.
The cover photo is a Venison and red wine pie and looks gorgeous!
Inside you will find
Tiny Treacle tarts, Game pie, Individual chicken and mushroom pies, White chocolate and raspberry tarts, Autumn fruit pies Toffee apple tarts and many more delicious treats and meals.
I do love to cook but have not cooked many inside this book but tried out all the chocolate ones....of course mmmm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Pies & Tarts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
But not enough savoury pies. Has too many sweet pies for my liking. Would maybe buy the hairy bikers instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

200 Pies & Tarts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook
200 Pies & Tarts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook by Sara Lewis (Paperback - 7 May 2012)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews