Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An alternative to the companion title '200 Easy Suppers'
I recently bought a used copy of '200 Easy Suppers' and gave it to some young friends who were looking for ways to prepare some easy meals rather than always eating takeaways. In many ways, this is rather similar except that speed of preparation rather than simplicity and ease of preparation is the central point. The authors are not the same but, within the series which...
Published on 30 April 2012 by Andy_atGC

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its ok
I only like the meal on the front of the book hense why i ordered it, the other recipies however isnt my cup od tea and doesnt look too nice.. The picureon the book that recipy is lovley prob why they pu it on the font cover as its the only meal in the book that taste nice .... But atleast the kindle version was cheap :)
Published 11 months ago by Natasha Hood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An alternative to the companion title '200 Easy Suppers', 30 April 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 200 Twenty-Minute Meals: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
I recently bought a used copy of '200 Easy Suppers' and gave it to some young friends who were looking for ways to prepare some easy meals rather than always eating takeaways. In many ways, this is rather similar except that speed of preparation rather than simplicity and ease of preparation is the central point. The authors are not the same but, within the series which is now almost 20 titles, several authors' names appear 2 or 3 times and on very different titles.

I had made the point in another review that most home cooks have a repertoire of 10-12 meals that they can make without referral to a printed recipe but many will have rather fewer. We are all quite busy and may not have an hour or two to devote to preparing and cooking a meal once we get home from work or university. We could probably find twenty minutes and the results will probably be more nutritious and certainly far less expensive than any takeaway. There is nothing here that demands exceptional skill or complex or unduly expensive equipment. A few basic tools such as a kitchen knife, a serving spoon or spatula and a couple of pans and a cooker is all you really need apart from the necessary ingredients. Some things, dried herbs or pepper for example, will last for months and can be easily stored in a dry cupboard. Others, such as the meat or fish can be bought, some used and the rest frozen once resealed for use on another occasion; fruit and veg can usually be bought in small quantities, especially when not pre-packed, so storage need not be an issue.

The nature of the series is that all the books share a common size and format. There are usually 110-115 main recipes and most will have a variation in that certain ingredients may be exchanged for others, an obvious example not knowingly in the book would be Shepherds' Pie and Cottage Pie - you could turn one into the other by replacing minced lamb with minced beef. Replace the meat with fish and you are well on the way to Fishermens' Pie.

Every recipe has an accompanying photo illustration and an introductory section usually provides explanations for a few terms used within that book. A good index follows.

Despite the obvious subject differences of the respective titles and the many authors involved, the books are very consistent in their presentation. If you own one title, another would be a good companion. If you own 'Easy Suppers' do you need this too? Probably, yes, as there is little that is common in their content. As may be expected, there is not too much here for vegans or vegetarians, but that is another common feature of the series.

The books are very good value and have a very good presentational quality. Small, but not pocket-sized, they will be quite at home on a kitchen shelf where they will be easily available when needed. The sole criticism is that the books do not lay flat or remain open during use and they will need to be weighted down.

An excellent choice for the busy cook or anyone wishing to add a few simple meals to their repertoire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Cooking, 16 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. C. Colbert (Blackburn, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 200 Twenty-Minute Meals: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
I have a couple of these books. I find them really easy and useful to use. So far all my meals cooked using them have come out alright.This book is no exception.I would recommend for anyone to use.There is enough inspiration for anybody.Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cooking made Easy, 13 Mar 2013
By 
S. M. Hanson "Spittysmum" (Alicante, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Twenty-Minute Meals: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
I love these books, and I have nearly all of them now. They are easy to follow recipes. and always turn out good. Obviously i havent made everything in these books, but the few recipes i have tried have always turned out well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars c ook book, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Twenty-Minute Meals: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
full of easy nice dishes and easy to follow instruction a must for any cook who entertains a lot yes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very handy for quick meals that can still impress, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Twenty-Minute Meals: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
The recipes in this book are generally good with quite a few classics thrown in (essential for newbies). I have made several and they've been pleasing. Time-wise I think the book is fair in estimating around 20 minutes preparation time but it could take you longer if you are not familiar with some of the preparation methods described or of which you are assumed to have knowledge.

I like the book's small size and handiness. It's easy to store in a small cupboard over the hob, for example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Impress your friends!, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like I said, try it out with all your friends or new visitors and feel like you've made the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its ok, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only like the meal on the front of the book hense why i ordered it, the other recipies however isnt my cup od tea and doesnt look too nice.. The picureon the book that recipy is lovley prob why they pu it on the font cover as its the only meal in the book that taste nice .... But atleast the kindle version was cheap :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

200 Twenty-Minute Meals: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook
200 Twenty-Minute Meals: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook by Hamlyn Cookbooks (Paperback - 5 Sep 2011)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews