Customer Reviews


199 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Gem if You Like Moroccan Food
The craze for tagine cookery started when the beautiful earthenware funnelled pots which the Moroccans use to cook their casseroles, became available in our shops. This is a great little book, even if you have not yet acquired a tagine, as it offers a large number of delicious Moroccan recipes from soups and pastries to couscous and tagines.

The contents are...
Published on 8 Nov. 2012 by Brett H

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I have used many of the Hamlyn 200 cookbook series and after enjoying a delicious Moroccan Lamb dish in the 200 Slow Cooker Recipe book, I hoped I would find more inspiration in this collection. The book is split into nine sections: Kemia and small first courses, Soups, Tagines, Fish, Kebabs & accompaniments, Vegetables, Couscous, Pastillas, and Deserts & sweet...
Published on 20 Oct. 2012 by K. Wright


‹ Previous | 115 16 1720 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple effective recipes..., 6 Sept. 2012
By 
S. Riches - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 200 Tagines & Moroccan Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an exceptionally good cookbook because nothing is complicated and all the ingredients are readily available.
The odd thing is that we all know the traditional shape Moroccan tagine with its funnel-shaped top and circular base, but nowhere in the book is food presented in one, and really you don't need one to produce any of the recipes! You can produce impressive food in the minimum of time.
The simplicity of each recipe is its joy, but having said that, the variety of ingredients is excellent and the dishes produced from them are varied.
There is also a good section at the front of the book telling us how to make couscous from scratch, also pastilla, and, the one bit that has always puzzled me - the preserved lemons which are a feature of many tagine dishes.
The lamb kebabs recipe later in the book also tells you how to make the Moroccan flatbreads from scratch.
All very useful, very simple, well explained and with good photographs too.
The book has a wipe-clean cover and robust pages, and is roughly half-A4 size so sits nicely on a surface while you prepare food. Steve Riches, Northampton, UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A taste of the exotic, 27 Sept. 2012
By 
Bee of Good Cheer (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 200 Tagines & Moroccan Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My mum and dad came back from Morocco last year raving about the cuisine, and with a bag full of spices and ingredients. Never one to feel like my pensioner parents are keeping the fun to themselves, I thought I would explore the world of North African cookery with the help of this little book.

Big on spices (but not heat) and with tasty, hearty ingredients, including lots of pulses and vegetables, I can see the reason behind the parental plaudits. This is comfort food, Moroccan style, although I did have to give the numerous lamb and chicken dishes a miss as I don't eat meat. There is however a good number of recipes suitable for both fish eaters and vegis.

The book includes recipes for main courses, side dishes, starters, desserts and some of the little extras (like preserved lemons) essential to Moroccan cuisine. Each is photographed clearly in colour, and the methods are clearly written, if lacking a little personality. Access to a large supermarket (or the online versions) is probably needed for some of the ingredients, but many could be made or adapted from easily accessible supplies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of delicious morrocan recipes, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
M. Mohamed (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 200 Tagines & Moroccan Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have had several books from the hamlyn all colour cookbook series as I've mentioned in other reviews they are all really handy and clear cook books with simple instructions, clear preparation times and a clear appetising picture next to every recipe. It is in the format of one recipe per page and without any other waffle or off topic discussions interspersed in between which makes it really user friendly when you just want to get on and cook something.

This book has 200 moroccan dishes which vary from salads to soups to cous cous dishes to meat, fish and sweets so quite a variety there and looking through it the majority are dishes you would want to eat, so realistic choice of recipes. My husband was quite excited while leafing through it, at the thought of all the dishes he will be eating when I make it!

The recipes seem quite simple and achievable, for example I have seen some overly complicated harira recipes online so many times I've thought of making it and then been put off but the one in this book is very simple and straight forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Tagines & Moroccan Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
wife loves it and it was new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Nov. 2014
By 
A. A. Morley "brightondreams" (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Tagines & Moroccan Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
10/10 arrived within 48 hours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little focused cook book., 2 Sept. 2012
By 
NeilC (Windsor, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 200 Tagines & Moroccan Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This tagine and Moroccan focused cookbook is the perfect complement to a recent long weekend in Marrakech. We bought a tagine there (the earthenware dish, not the meal!) but have struggled to find proper recipes that make full use of it. This little cookbook hits the spot. It has a great selection of Tagine recipes both for oven baking and and hob cooking but also complements it with a good range of other Moroccan dishes and pastries. We've tried about 4 of the recipes now and they are all simple and straightforward, clearly explained with excellent photography to inspire you. One particular favourite were the peppers with argan oil as we'd brought some argan oil back with us and wanted something that highlighted the flavour, this worked perfectly.

A nice touch is that some of the recipes have a simplified version to make the preparation even easier and it also explains how to make really great cous-cous. All-in-all, if you're interested in Tagines and Moroccan dishes, this is a great introductory book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Tagines & Moroccan Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
recipes very easy to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Tagines & Moroccan Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Good basic Moroccan dishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading it makes you hungry........, 26 Aug. 2012
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 200 Tagines & Moroccan Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook 200 Tagines & Moroccan Dishes by Ghistaine Benady and Nadjet Sefrioui

This little cookbook doesn't disappoint on any level,. It follows the Hamlyn format of a double page for each recipe - 1, a full colour picture and 1 of recipe details. The instructions are clear and concise and cover a variety of dishes from soups and tagines to couscous and pastries. The mouth watering recipe's are beautifully photographed enticing you to try them and the recipes very easy to follow. With over 200 to choose from the book is well worth the money.

Whilst the book is smaller than many of its predecessors, this in no way detracts from its usage. If I were to be 'picky', I'd wish for the book to be ring bound so that it opens flat, but at the price and with the quality of the contents, I'm not complaining and give it a resounding 5 out of 5 stars

Recommended *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Book, 20 Sept. 2012
By 
Basement Cat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 200 Tagines & Moroccan Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I don't know how authentic the recipes in this little book are, but they all seem to be quite user friendly for the average British cook. Nearly all of the recipes use ingredients that you can find in larger supermarkets, and you don't have to go out and buy a tagine. There is a clear colour photograph of every recipe, and each one has a variation suggestion, which is part of the 200 recipes in the title.
All the recipes are wtitten in a clear, easy to follow way, and the majority are quite simple to prepare. The book shows you how to make main courses, deserts and starters, and also some of the main components that are used in their preparation. For example, the authors show you how to preserve your own lemons, and how to prepare couscous. This is a lovely little book, with so many marvellous recipes. In fact, the whole series of books is great, and such excellent value for money that you can't really go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 1720 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

200 Tagines & Moroccan Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook
200 Tagines & Moroccan Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook by Hamlyn Cookbooks (Paperback - 6 Feb. 2012)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews