Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hamlyn - 200 more slow cokker recipes
having already got Hamlyn - 200 slow cooker recipes, I knew this book would be great. It doesn't dissappoint in any way shape or form. Continues in the same vain as previous book, recipe per page with colour photographs of each recipe, with many different cuisine types, styles and alternatives. Even the Introduction is informative and interesting to read. For first...
Published on 19 Sep 2011 by Sam

versus
132 of 136 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book for those wanting to test the versatility of their slow cookers
Many people will buy this book for the same reason that I did - because I am a slow cooker fan who enjoyed "200 slow cooker recipes", the previous Sara Lewis book in this series.

What are the main advantages of a slow cooker? In my opinion they are fourfold:
To be able to put everything in one pot.
To be able to start the cooking in the morning before...
Published on 30 Jan 2011 by Derek Jones


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

132 of 136 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book for those wanting to test the versatility of their slow cookers, 30 Jan 2011
By 
Derek Jones - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 More Slow Cooker Recipes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Many people will buy this book for the same reason that I did - because I am a slow cooker fan who enjoyed "200 slow cooker recipes", the previous Sara Lewis book in this series.

What are the main advantages of a slow cooker? In my opinion they are fourfold:
To be able to put everything in one pot.
To be able to start the cooking in the morning before going out either for work or enjoyment and return home to find the meal ready.
Not to worry about precise timings for an extra hour will not ruin the food
To slow cook the many meat cuts that benefit from this method.
However, recent slow cook books seem to seek ever new ways to use a slow cooker that do not relate to these advantages. This new Sara Lewis book is no exception.

The book has seven sections, listed below with the number of recipes in each section:
Soups 16
Light bites & everyday suppers 19
Short-cut suppers 14
Vegetarian 13
Food for friends 13
Puddings 17
Drinks & preserves 10

That is a total of 102 and each is accompanied by an excellent colour photograph. The 200 figure in the title is reached by the variations listed at the end of recipes. For example, cider toddy becomes three recipes by giving variations for gingered cider toddy and citrus toddy. Many of these 102 recipes seem to demonstrate the variety of uses of a slow cooker rather than illustrate its main advantages. For example, warm lentil and feta salad involves cooking puy lentils, red pepper and tomatoes and adding them to feta cheese and salad leaves. And what about baked eggs on toast? That takes 40-50 minutes to cook but I cannot see the advantage of using a slow cooker in this case. And is it necessary to use a slow cooker for mulled wine, cranberry mulled wine or mulled wine jelly?

Many of the recipes require the use of dishes or ramekins to place in the slow cooker, whilst others do not produce complete meals. The recipe for fish pie requires you to cook the fish in a slow cooker, to boil and mash potatoes separately, to put the potatoes on the fish and then put it under the grill. Venison puff pie involves cooking the venison in a slow cooker and then putting puff pastry on top to cook in a conventional oven for 20 minutes. Asian glazed ribs require the ribs to be cooked for 8-10 hours and then put on a tray with a mixture of honey and soy sauce and grilled for 10-15 minutes. To be fair these are the most extreme examples.

This book, which is well written with clear instructions, will appeal to those who are looking for recipes are that are not run-of-the-mill (such as chillied beef with chocolate) or who want to test the versatility of their slow cookers with recipes for soups, fish dishes, puddings, preserves and drinks in addition to the more common recipes. It does not appeal to me as much as the author's earlier "200 slow cooker recipes" but it is being sold at a very affordable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 More Slow Cooker Recipes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Ok, so like most people I bought this because I already owned the 200 Slow Cooker Recipe one and loved it. So I was thinking that 200 MORE recipes would be great. Needless to say I was slightly disappointed to discover many of the recipes from the first book. It's still a good recipe book but don't buy it if you're expecting a full 200 different recipes from the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not one pot slow cooker recipes, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are looking for meals where you put all the ingredients in a slow cooker this is not the book for you. 90% of the recipes require you to cook many of the ingredients in a frying pan first. It has some lovely recipes and maybe useful to some however the book was not for me. As a busy working mum I want to be able to throw the ingredients in leave to cook and come home to a home cooked meal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hamlyn - 200 more slow cokker recipes, 19 Sep 2011
By 
Sam "Sam" (Worthing West Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 More Slow Cooker Recipes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
having already got Hamlyn - 200 slow cooker recipes, I knew this book would be great. It doesn't dissappoint in any way shape or form. Continues in the same vain as previous book, recipe per page with colour photographs of each recipe, with many different cuisine types, styles and alternatives. Even the Introduction is informative and interesting to read. For first time slow cooker users - I can't recommend this and its predecessor highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 24 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 More Slow Cooker Recipes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
I have found THE most amazing recipe in this book, page 98 pot roast lamb with rosemary, chuck all the goodies in the pot and 8 hrs later you have the best bit of lamb you will every taste. This book's worth every penny for this recipe alone ! i have tried some of the others and they are great too but so far this one is my fave', get the book you'll love it :0)))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow cooker book, 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: 200 More Slow Cooker Recipes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
I got the first one of this range in slow cooker and its brilliant so when I saw this one I had to have it, brilliantly priced, pictures are great inside, easy to follow, but one thing am slightly miffed about is the picture on the front - the recipe doesnt seem to be inside which seems a little odd as the old book the recipe for the front cover picture was in there. But great book so many delicious recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book full of fantasy, 8 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 More Slow Cooker Recipes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
The book has a collection of fantastic recepies, but I doubt a little bit if you need the slow cooker for these type of recepies. In my opinion you use the slow cooker basicly for potroasts in all its varieties, and from those recepies there are just a few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good value, 17 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 More Slow Cooker Recipes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
I love this series of books. Such good value, so well produced. Nothing to complain about really, they are informative on the use of slow cookers too. It's an essential little book for your slow cooker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars slow cook book, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 More Slow Cooker Recipes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
I haven't given this a very high rating because I was disappointed with the recipes. However, others may find them to be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cook, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 More Slow Cooker Recipes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
There's a lot of the same recipes as the first book I haven't made anything from it yet but wished it was different as the first book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

200 More Slow Cooker Recipes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook
200 More Slow Cooker Recipes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook by Sara Lewis (Paperback - 3 Jan 2011)
4.39
Usually dispatched within 7 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews