Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little technical but quite well laid out
Although the diagrams are wonderfully clear, and it is mostly based on the more obscure games (though it does include Cribbage, Gin Rummy and Bridge), it can take several re-reads of a sentence to make sense of how to play.
Most games come with example plays in the text and, once you are used to the author's style, you can pick up the games quit easily. It has a...
Published on 16 Sep 2002

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good selection, poor descriptions
I bought this book because I was interested in finding some new card games to play with my family and have found it to be somewhat mixed. The games which have been selected are interesting and by grouping the games according to the recommended number of players it makes it easy to select a game to learn.

At this point however the book runs into trouble, it is...
Published on 29 Aug 2011 by Mr C


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little technical but quite well laid out, 16 Sep 2002
By A Customer
Although the diagrams are wonderfully clear, and it is mostly based on the more obscure games (though it does include Cribbage, Gin Rummy and Bridge), it can take several re-reads of a sentence to make sense of how to play.
Most games come with example plays in the text and, once you are used to the author's style, you can pick up the games quit easily. It has a nice index and is also categorised by the number of players required. It includes several solitaire games and games for larger parties but focuses mainly on two- and four-player games.
Most games also include a brief paragraph about the history of the names or where it was commonly played.
Overall, quite good once you can "learn" how to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Job, 3 Feb 2012
By 
J. J. Westcott (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Card Games (Paperback)
If you enjoy playing cards, this book is perfect. Lots of games, divided into sections of games for 2, 3 or 4 players, plus patience games. Clearly described, when you're learning a new game, and illustrations to help too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good selection, poor descriptions, 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Complete Book of Card Games (Paperback)
I bought this book because I was interested in finding some new card games to play with my family and have found it to be somewhat mixed. The games which have been selected are interesting and by grouping the games according to the recommended number of players it makes it easy to select a game to learn.

At this point however the book runs into trouble, it is very difficult to understand the game descriptions and how they work. This is because they are all taken from much older (40 + years in some cases) books and so the language and styles of explanations are very hard to follow. They seem to assume that the reader has a strong technical understanding of the mechanics of card gaming and so it will indicate that this is a `trick' based game and assume you understand what that means you have to do. In addition I suspect a lot of the descriptions have been edited to save space which makes it even harder to follow.

In the end I found myself using the book to find games which were worth playing and using the internet to learn how to play them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Children's present, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Card Games (Paperback)
This was bought as a Christmas present for a friend's grandchild and it has proved very popular: a nice change from the electronic games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Card Games (Paperback)
This book is brilliant. It is clear, concise and comprehensive and easy to follow. The writer(s) never patronise you. As a 'reference' book it cannot get old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars complete card games, 1 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Complete Book of Card Games (Paperback)
a good book packed with a lot of information for the card enthusiast very good price, makes a nice present anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars card Games, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Card Games (Paperback)
A great book and we will be able to learn quite a few card games,it was posted on time well wrapped and we woulw
recommend this Company to our friends.A1A1A1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present., 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Card Games (Paperback)
This appeared to be received with enthusiasm by the recipient, last seen playing some of the games with his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Card Games (Paperback)
I'm really pleased with this book. It has all the traditional games and some more. It has renewed y interest in card playing and enabled me once again to play games I had forgotten the rules of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars gave me the information i required, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I will find the instructions for new patience games very usefulwill be quite usefull when playing cards with my family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Book of Card Games
The Complete Book of Card Games by Hervey George (Paperback - 3 Nov 2010)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews