Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Heyes has made me happy!!
It's official - Mark Heyes is a genius!! I'm quite clueless sometimes with how to put clothes and looks together and I was bought this as a present - it's amazing. Each designer (Chanel, Dolce & Gabbana and Prada etc..) is broken down and Mark tells you what items to buy on the High Street to look as if you've spent more than you have. There's also a lot of tips on what...
Published on 17 April 2010 by TB

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book is so absurd, that any woman should be crazy to follow those advices.
I do not understand how "monochrome" which means "in one color' in greek, becomes "two colors" when english-spoken fashion editors uset it, like Mark Heyes when he says "monochrome heels". It is a mistake. Think about monogamy (one marriage), monophonic radio ( one voice, one channel for the voice), etc.
But, let us come to the book...
Published 2 months ago by Aspasia Mandilara from Greece


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Heyes has made me happy!!, 17 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Get the Look: Designer Style on a High Street Budget (Hardcover)
It's official - Mark Heyes is a genius!! I'm quite clueless sometimes with how to put clothes and looks together and I was bought this as a present - it's amazing. Each designer (Chanel, Dolce & Gabbana and Prada etc..) is broken down and Mark tells you what items to buy on the High Street to look as if you've spent more than you have. There's also a lot of tips on what to wear depending on your shape, tips on how to dress so you look slimmer (much needed for me!) and also ideas for occasions - I'm completely ripping off one of his suggestions for a wedding outfit. Book is laid out really well, loads of celeb pictures and advice on how to copy their look. Plus it looks good on my coffee table!! Great present to give - trust me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some great wearable looks, 3 Oct 2010
This review is from: Get the Look: Designer Style on a High Street Budget (Hardcover)
I first came across Mark Heyes on GMTV with Lorraine Kelly and was really impressed with the affordable and stylish looks he was able to put together each week. In fact I used to make a point of watching when I could just to see if Mark had a piece that day, so I was really happy to see that he had written a book.

Unlike other stylist's books, 'Get the Look' teaches the reader how to achieve the classic designer looks that never go out of fashion, on a budget. This makes it easy and accessible for everyone to look chic, sophisticated and feel great too. I can't wait to try out some of the looks now, especially the contemporary classic Chanel, the cute chic Prada and the pirate eccentric Vivienne Westwood looks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get the Look: Designer Style on a High Street Budget., 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get the Look: Designer Style on a High Street Budget (Hardcover)
A new way of mixing items you already have in your closet (you may have to add/buy some few items). Very inspiring. Never thougth of mixing my Chanel jacket with my blue jeans - it looks great ! Written by a great stylist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different perspective from other style books, 7 Aug 2012
By 
Ruth Crofts (Cotswolds, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get the Look: Designer Style on a High Street Budget (Hardcover)
I thought this book was really inspiring and took a different perspective to all the other style books. It concentrates on different fashion houses such as Pravda, channel, Armani and demonstrates how to get the look yourself without the couture price tags. The looks we're based on a range of body sizes, from curvy to petite and it showed how with little tweaks and a bit of styling you can get an outfit that has presence and makes a statement. More about style than following fashion ans would suit all ages from teens to middle age and on to retirement. An excellent book I would not hesitate to recommend. Wish I had bought it sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great tips, 25 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get the Look: Designer Style on a High Street Budget (Hardcover)
Purchased this as I love Marks slot on Lorraine on ITV1.It has great tips for creating designer looks on a budget with clear pics and layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book if you are inspired by designers such ..., 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get the Look: Designer Style on a High Street Budget (Hardcover)
Love this book if you are inspired by designers such as Chanel,Dolce and gabanna, Versace, and Ralph Lauren. Would love Mark Heyes to come out with a style book for wardrobe essentials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book is so absurd, that any woman should be crazy to follow those advices., 25 Aug 2014
This review is from: Get the Look: Designer Style on a High Street Budget (Hardcover)
I do not understand how "monochrome" which means "in one color' in greek, becomes "two colors" when english-spoken fashion editors uset it, like Mark Heyes when he says "monochrome heels". It is a mistake. Think about monogamy (one marriage), monophonic radio ( one voice, one channel for the voice), etc.
But, let us come to the book. What do I think about the outfits ? It would be difficult to make them more trashy. The outfit with the one shoulder mini lycra dress, the silver cropped jacket and the black opaque pantyhose, only a Las Vegas prostitute would try to copy. French elegance a la Chanel with super skinny jeans? Chanel herself wore masculin trousers, so, she must be spinning in her grave now that her name is used in such an insulting manner. Plus, most of the women in the book are heavy, way too heavy. An honest fashion consultant would advise those women either to lose weight, or to forget all about exposing their legs, their upper arms, their waist. If you don't have something pretty to show, then show nothing at all, cover yourself. As far as mini dresses are concerned, the famous phrase from Genevieve Dariaux should be applied : "departement stores should require a birth certificate from the clients who want to buy shorts, and if they are older than 21 years old, they should not be allowed to purchase the item". The same goes for mini dresses too, not to mention the hideous sight of mini dresses worn with high heels, that only in real fashion shows, with the few in the world women who are real models can be acceptable. The point with mini is to look young, fresh, an outfit for an adolescent, a teenager, not for a streaper. The yellow mini dress with strapless upper part and high hells is simply rediculous, that girl could not find a better way to proove to anybody that her breasts are small and her thighs fat and withour any exercise since elementary school. Generally, the whole book is more like what the designer style is not about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get the Look: Designer Style on a High Street Budget (Hardcover)
Good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Get the Look: Designer Style on a High Street Budget
Get the Look: Designer Style on a High Street Budget by Mark Heyes (Hardcover - 5 April 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews