Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get to know your birds!, 2 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Garden Bird Confidential: Discover the hidden world of garden birds (Paperback)
Very good book if you like to know about the behaviour of your garden birds. Has all the usual information to help with identification plus information on what aspects of each bird's behaviour make it special. Keep it by your window!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little gems, 8 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Bird Confidential: Discover the hidden world of garden birds (Paperback)
This book is very informative in the usual way about each species but also offers excellent little gems for each one as well. My husband and I have been intrigued by some of these and we feel the book has augmented our knowledge with some delightfully quirky info. There are beautiful illustrations too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Bird Confidential: Discover the hidden world of garden birds (Paperback)
I bought two copies of this book to give as Christmas presents; both recipients were thrilled with their gift. The photos and drawings are delightful; it's the sort of book that you will keep to hand in order to refer to it while watching the birds in your garden. Perfect for bird lovers everywhere.A very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adding depth to bird watching --- a must if you want to know the little secrets of birds., 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Bird Confidential: Discover the hidden world of garden birds (Paperback)
This book has added depth to my birdwatching. I am new to this hobby (18 months) so it may not be appropriate for more established birders. Whilst not a comprehensive guide book for all the birds in Britain, there are excellent descriptions with photographs of the garden birds and more besides. 60 species are covered including cuckoo, tawny owls, pied wagtail, field fare, flycatchers, tree creepers etc ( a few of the many I haven't seen in my garden,)
In addition to a species description which includes the identification, shape and character, voice, habitual, feeding, breeding, migration and abundance; each species has a 'confidential report' which has a host of revelations about the species. For example Couzens mentions that blue tits have plumage in the cap/crest in the uv spectrum, upon which females select males.(So while to us humans, there is no difference between male and females blue tits, to birds with uv vision, blue tits are sexually dimorphic- helps me understand how birds recognise individuals!). I've learnt that while jackdaws are monogamous (and the reason why) and that the genetic make up of chicks in rookeries is any bodies guess. I could go on and on ....
Before the book, birds were visually aesthetic and interesting to watch.
Now, I look at them in a different light understanding what they do and why, and their little secrets. This book has enriched my birdwatching. Thank you Dominic Couzens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well laid out and lots of interesting facts, 19 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Garden Bird Confidential: Discover the hidden world of garden birds (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. It is well laid out and well thought out and contains lots of facts. I have been watching birds for nearly 60 years and there were some facts in this excellent book that I didn't know. Thank you Mr Couzens, keep the books coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Bird Confidential: Discover the hidden world of garden birds (Paperback)
This is a table-top treat for garden bird lovers! It has excellent pictures, with the birds shown in the context of their environment, and juicy tit-bits of information not normally found in spotters' guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures and lovely narrative, 8 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Garden Bird Confidential: Discover the hidden world of garden birds (Paperback)
Bought as a present for my husband and he loves it. Great pictures and lovely narrative. A perfect gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Bird Confidential: Discover the hidden world of garden birds (Paperback)
Really pleased thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Nov. 2014
By 
This review is from: Garden Bird Confidential: Discover the hidden world of garden birds (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Garden Bird Confidential: Discover the hidden world of garden birds
Garden Bird Confidential: Discover the hidden world of garden birds by Dominic Couzens (Paperback - 7 Mar. 2011)
Used & New from: £4.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews