Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars175
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£45.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2010
Larousse Gastronomique is a fantastic book beautifully written and beautifully produced. It has all the information that you would ever need to know about food and cooking. Come across a vegetable you have never heard of, then it is in there. Do you want to know where a spice comes from and what to do with it, its there. If you ever need ideas on what to cook with that fish, then Larousse Gastrononmique will tell you. It has pictures and descriptions of how to prepare and how to cook, with variations, everything you can cook from the mundane to the bizarre. It has recipes in it but it is not a recipe book. It is an incredible information source, a reference book. It is arranged simply alphabetically which makes it very easy to find the information you want. The pictures are of exceptional quality. The paper is of a very high quality and feels good to the touch. Lovers of quality book production will know what I mean. The whole book exudes brilliance and everlasting quality. A book to keep.
0Comment|66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
I'd always wanted this encyclopaedia. I'm not a chef but love cooking and I am always fascinated by techniques that I know nothing about. This tome is huge and is fantastic for just leaving around so you can just pick it up and read random facts about anything of culinary significance - whether its some miniscule fact about what the Romans called cheese or butchery facts about cuts of meat you've never heard of! This book perfectly complements the aspirational dreamworld that wannabe chefs and kitchen geeks inhabit and, interspersed with episodes of "pan-porn" as my family have christened my drooling over casserole dishes and gleaming Maslin pans in shop windows, this book is a fabulous addition to anyone's kitchen bookshelf. If nothing else it is heavy enough and deep enough to provide you with a small step up to reach obscure ingredients that you rarely use from the topshelf of your cupboard! More importantly, this is a treasure of knowledge and inspiration that could turn a dilettante cook like me into something much more substantial and competent in the kitchen! The only misleading thing about the book was it's endorsement by Gordon Ramsay who said it was "The first recipe book I took seriously...a great resource throughout my career"...I didn't find a single swear word so that was a relief. A beautiful book and now one of my treasured possessions!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2009
At first glance when I opened the "very large" book I was slightly disappointed that it was written in dictionary format - but after 2 mins I couldn't put the book down!
It has almost every recipe and basic methodologies for all those recipes and techniques that you hear about but don't quite understand. It has a wealth of info and you just need the time to sit down and pour through it.
The paper sheets are a bit on the thin side - so once you find the recipe that you are looking for it does mean that you have to write it up - as the book also is not something that you can easily prop up on your worktops whilst you work!
Overall a brilliant reference book for those that are really hooked into trying to cook like the experts.
0Comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
I have an ebook copy of the 1969 edition of the Larousse Gastronomique, which is more than a bit outdated, so I figured it was time to invest in the real thing.
I actually been eyed this new edition for a few weeks when I saw it in the shelves at a Waterstone's. £60 is a bit steep when you have no money. So I'm really glad I found it here on Amazon for a much more affordable price and brand new!

it's THE encyclopedia for food and cooking. Everything's here.
A MUST for serious cooks and pros.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
If you're thinking about buying this book, note there are two versions published in English: this one - the British version- and an American one. This is relevant, taking into account the measures in the recipes.

Whichever version you buy, it is a comprehensive cooking reference, describing techniques as well as having a vast range of recipes.

This is a serious reference book, ideal for someone who is interested in food, or as a gift for someone who has that interest.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 February 2014
I've hankered after this book for years and was fortunate to receive a copy as a surprise present. Well, I've barely moved since I opened it! It's one of those books that at first glance seems like an encyclopaedia. Which it is, but I'm going to need another lifetime to read it. It's absolutely packed and one of those volumes which captures your interest and imagination regardless of where you open it.

This revised edition is an absolute joy. Anyone remotely interested in food, eating or cooking will discover something within the 1200+ packed pages. It covers the history of food, famous chefs, cooking terms and techniques and there are over 3800 recipes. More than 800 illustrations and 400 plus photos, many in colour, make a good balance with the text.

In addition to all the classics, the new edition covers recently popular techniques like use of liquid nitrogen and making foams. I'm thrilled to own this book and it's going to be a favourite for years to come. It's a book I've not wanted to put down since I opened it and each time I pass I'm tempted to just have another quick delve. It's fabulous.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2010
wonderful encyclopedia of culinary knowledge that has a place in every cooks kitchen. This is a must have book that teaches you all about the origins of different foods and ingredients with a few great recipes thrown in for you to try. Not a recipe book more of a reference for anything to do with cooking. Would highly recommend.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
Better exterior, worse contents

I have upgraded from The Concise Larousse Gastronomique (2003) to find out that this beautifully designed book has actually worse contents than its little cousin!
What's better?
1) The book is so beautifully designed that it's a great pleasure to look at it and to have it on the bookshelf.
2) A general index and a very good recipe index are added.
3) Many contemporary chefs have got their own entry.
What's worse?
1) Entries are written in all caps (e.g. CAHORS, CAILLEBOTTE) instead in normal case (as they are in The Concise Larousse Gastronomique). Therefore you'll not be able to indubitably know how to write French (and English) names and words correctly (correct is Cahors, not cahors*, and caillebotte, not Caillebotte*). Entries in all caps may still be encyclopedic standard in Poland and Russia, but they are surely not in the West.
2) French translations of entries in English were omitted.
3) French names of recipes were omitted, too.
4) Major part of misspelled words and other mistakes is still there, and some new big mistakes were added.
And what's the most disappointing feature?
The photographs! Don't expect to find photographs of any dish, neither French nor English!!! All you'll get are photographs of some vegetables, apples, fish etc. (which you can find in much greater number in other books, if you are intersted in fish, apples or vegetables!), and much too many artistic photographs of cooks and kitchen details, which are mainly of no use.
1010 comments|164 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2010
If you have any interest in food, then this book is THE bible of both cooking techniques and recipes.

I find myself absent mindedly looking through it when waiting for the kettle to boil, and I always find something to keep me entertained and interested. If you want to know your gelatine from your mirepoix this is place to find out about them. I have yet to look something up and find there isn't an entry in the book.

This book is triumph, fascinatingly detailed, extremely well written and should grace the shelves of any food loving home. I am delighted I bought it, and am delighted to recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 September 2009
I really enjoy any sort of Christmas cookbook and despite being small and compact, this book is definitely packed full of all the recipes you'll need for the festive season.

The book itself is split into five chapters which are: Christmas Fare, Centrepiece Cakes, Small Cakes and Cookies, Edible Gifts and Leftover Turkey Ideas. There is also a fairly comprehensive introduction and good index at the back.

Each recipe has a full page colour photo, clear instructions as well as details of how many people the dish serves and how much preparation and cooking time you will need. There are some excellent recipes whether you are looking to cook the whole traditional meal or simply making treats for visitors. I thought that the leftover turkey section was an inspired inclusion as many books completely overlook the fact that you're usually left with tons of turkey and nothing to do with it except make sandwiches. If you are a vegetarian or have one in the family, there are only really two main meal options and two salads to choose from. Otherwise, there are recipes for turkey, salmon, beef and lamb. The cakes sections were also packed out and full of goodies that everyone is sure to enjoy.

Overall, whether you are cooking the Christmas meal for the first time or are a pro, this book will definitely give you lots of inspiration and ideas. It's packed full, easy to use and definitely a book I would recommend.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)