Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great variety
This is a really good recipe book, there is a great variety of recipes including various soups and starters as well as main meals and also gives a list of equipment and ingredients which are used most commonly in thai cooking. I've also found the recipes for thai green/red curry paste very handy as they are used as a base for many other dishes.

(ps it tells...
Published on 9 Jan. 2011 by Chapman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DIFFICULT TO USE
NOT VERY USEFULL IN KINDLE EDITION. DIFFICULT TO LIST THROUGH TO CHOOSE/COMPARE MOST SUITABLE RECIPE. POSSIBLE TO GET TO INDIVIDUAL SECTION [E.G. SEA FOOD] BUT THEN HAVE TO GO THROUGH PAGE BY PAGE TO FIND DESIRED RECIPE. SO HAVEN'T YET TRIED ANY OUT. .
Published 6 months ago by Peter Ludek


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
By 
Mrs. A. Wilson "Allison" (Reading UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Thai Favourites: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
This book has some lovely recipes in and just like the real thing, recommend it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good all round book - nice mix of challenging and simple, 21 Aug. 2014
By 
L. Mccaulder (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great range of recipes, good information and easy to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow recipes, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am new to Thai cooking and decided to try this book as we have had a couple of fabulous Thai meals in restaurants lately. I bought the Kindle version of the book and my Kindle is an original so there's no colour photos and I found it cumbersome to go back and forth from the recipe to the instructions. However the recipes I've tried so far have been simple and delicious. I find that the prep is the longest part of the process for me at present as I'm new to some of the ingredients but the actual cooking of the dish has been a "doddle" as they say. In fact, I love this book so much I've ordered the hard-backed version so I'll get those colour photos afterall. One tip - if, like me, you find some of the ingredients hard to come by, you can always get them from Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Thai Favourites: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Great just what I wanted fast delivery thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thai recepe book, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Thai Favourites: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Very good receipe book. Worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Westernised and basic, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Thai Favourites: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
I have already been cooking Thai inspired food for a few months because of the taste and also that is it generally quite healthy.

As this book included 200 recipes and was written by someone called "Oi" I was expecting some good authentic and varied Thai recipes to give me some inspiration.

Unfortunately not. A good proportion of the recipes are just variations of either Thai green or red curry and then swapping out either rice, noodles, various meats and vegetables, but are all effectively the same ingredient base. I appreciate as this book is sold in the UK, it has to accommodate ingredients that are readily available in the UK, but for example, I don't believe there is a single recipe that uses any part of the chicken other then breast meat.

In traditional Thai cooking, all of the animal is used as to not waste any food, and while this may not cater for most, it would have been nice to see at least a few recipes where other cuts of meat are used or offal.

The book is well written, good colour photos and easy to follow recipes and I think would make a great book for someone starting out with Thai cuisine, but if you are looking for those authentic Thai recipes to really specialise your cooking of Thai food, this isn't the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Thai Favourites: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Great book and brilliant reciepes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Thai Favourites: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Great pictures to aid the recipe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bit basic, was fast delivery., 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Thai Favourites: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Bit basic,was fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely recipes, packed with flavour, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Thai Favourites: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
I'll start with what I loved, the food that my missus made from this tasted delicious! The pictures are really top notch also which is a sign of good quality.

What I didn't like...no recipe for good ol' pad thai! Also, some of the ingredients are incredibly difficult to source unless you live near an oriental/asian food store which may stock some of the more rare items.

Other than that, it's definitely been a worthwhile purchase and I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

200 Thai Favourites: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook
200 Thai Favourites: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook by Oi Cheepchaiissara (Paperback - 5 Sept. 2009)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews