Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes and pictures
This is a really useful book for the kitchen. I've made a few of the soups and they've been great and there are plenty fantastic recipes to choose from for all seasons and occasions. A lot of the recipes have little extra things to add or other options for particular tastes so it's a great book for those of us who need direction when cooking and for those who like to...
Published on 7 Jan 2010 by L. Bruce

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only 104 'full recipes' included and missing some of the real classics...
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:22 Mins
The Hamlyn cookbook '200 Super Soups' is a handy-sized cookbook that is clearly aimed at being more practical than being a particularly decorative addition to your collection. Indeed, measuring just 5.5" x 6.5", this small soft-backed book is more at home slotted between condiments than it is sitting on a shelf 'on show' as it were. The book is...
Published on 28 Jan 2012 by Chris Hall


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes and pictures, 7 Jan 2010
By 
L. Bruce (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 200 Super Soups: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
This is a really useful book for the kitchen. I've made a few of the soups and they've been great and there are plenty fantastic recipes to choose from for all seasons and occasions. A lot of the recipes have little extra things to add or other options for particular tastes so it's a great book for those of us who need direction when cooking and for those who like to experiment. The recipes are easy to follow and each one has a really attractive photo to accompany it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gem!, 17 Feb 2010
This review is from: 200 Super Soups: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
It is full of information, imagination and great inspiring images- a soup can be part of a formal dinner too if you serve it in the right way.Not what you usually expect from a little and cheap cook book.I think it's a pleasant surprise!I have never had a soup book and i m sure that i will search for another only after finishing every single recipe of this book!Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soup-er-licious, 26 Jan 2012
By 
Mrs. T. Newton "Sassy Brit" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 200 Super Soups: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
About
=====
Hamlyn is a trusted well-known name when it comes to cook books and although this series is rather small, being only pocket sized, they are jam-packed with tasty soup recipes that I found easy to follow and great tasting. In fact, I cannot stop making them!

The Recipes
===========
From speedy soups, healthy soups and soups from around the world, this book covers a tasty meal for all your tastebuds. And with Winter around, this is just the right time of year for the Winter Warmer selection. Although, with our British weather, that could almost be any time of the year! However, joking aside, there are even chilled soups and an old-fashioned "London Particular", a favourite of mine.

Layout of Book
===========
The recipes are straightforward and easy to understand. The ingredients (metric and imperial) and servings are in a column on the left hand side of the page, with the method next to it. The facing this, on the opposite side of the page is a bright full colour picture of the finished soup. And they are absolutely tempting pictures!

All in all, this is a great addition to my cook book shelf, and I am very keen to collect more of these pocket-sized tasty treats!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 18 Mar 2013
By 
J. Lucas (The Best bit, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Super Soups: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
I bought this on a recommendation from a local soup bar that I frequent as they make some fantastic soups and they have all been inspired from this book. I'm going to be blunt and honest with you - the main reason for buying it was for the Cajun Red Bean soup (BEST SOUP EVER. EVER.) and since I've been flicking through it, I've discovered it is even better than I thought it would be!
For £3 it's a massive bargain and you really can't go wrong - I've already gone through it and post it marked all of the soups in numerical order of how I want to cook them! Bring on delicious lunchtimes! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, 13 Sep 2012
By 
Sheenagh Pugh "Sheenagh Pugh" (Shetland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 200 Super Soups: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This does very much what it says on the tin. The pictures are lovely, the instructions clear and there are some very tempting recipes. Even the print size, for once, is easy to read, and the paper is good, sturdy quality, important in a kitchen book that gets a lot of use. My only cavil is the organisation, into sections like "speedy soups", "winter warmers", "something special", "around the world" and others. In the first place, several soups could fit into two or even three of these. I think a more sensible way to organise would have been in terms of ingredients - vegetarian, meat-based, fish-based etc. But this is a minor point against a very good resource. It doesn't expect you to have a stockpot on the go and is good at suggesting alternative ingredients, so the recipes are very versatile. Very cheap, for the quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inexpensive gem!, 30 Mar 2012
By 
Cheshire Cat (Warrington, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 200 Super Soups: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For such a modestly priced and relatively compact book, this excellent pocket book guide has given us inspiration to be more adventurous with the humble soup. You can take it at every level from a simple beginne's guide to basic soups to a creation worthy of the finest dinner party.

As a confirmed soup enthusiast, can heartily recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This might be small in size but the recipes are delicious, 25 Jan 2012
By 
D. Jones (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Super Soups: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Length:: 4:21 Mins

Hamlyn is one of those names that I trust when I see a cookbook. The very first recipe book I purchased in my teens was the Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook and I am still using it today!

I love this little soup cookbook. It is fairly small in physical size but it contains 200 recipes - a decent amount for any cookbook.

The book is split into six sections which include:
- speedy soups
- chilled soups
- winter warmers
- something special
- healthy soups
- around the world

I like that there is one recipe to a page and that every soup recipe is accompanied by a very clear, full colour photograph which presents the soup so that it just calls to you to make it.

Each recipe is straightforward and easy to follow. There is a clear list of ingredients which are measured in both metric and imperial. It tells you how many portions you can expect from the recipe and how long both the preparation and cooking time will take. The instructions are clearly written and easy to follow.

There are so many delightful recipes in this book that it is hard to pick out particular favourites, but near the top has to be both the tomato and balsamic vinegar soup and the sweetcorn and celery soup.

As well as the recipes there is also an informative introduction which explains soup terms such as consommé, broth, chowder etc. It also provides easy to follow stock recipes for beef, chicken, fish and vegetable stocks.

The paper has a shiny coating which makes it easy to wipe if you get any splashes on it. Unfortunately if you accidentally spill oil or grease onto the page and don't remove it quickly enough it will leave an oily mark, but I think that is the case for most cookbooks.

The only small criticism I have is that because the book is so small in size the font size is tiny, probably about 8 points. If you have good eyesight this is fine but I need glasses for reading so I am forever having to put my glasses on to read the next stage of the recipe and then take them off again to continue preparation or cooking.

In conclusion if you enjoy making soups and you only buy one soup book then this one is definitely worth considering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook 200 Super Soups, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Super Soups: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Great little recipe book for soups at a good price, have tried a few in my Soup Maker with great success although the book was not written for Soup Makers they can easily be adapted with great results, looking forward to trying many more from this book. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soup Diets for everyday, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Super Soups: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Great book and good value. Excellent food choices. Good illustrations. Well worth having, for those quick snacks or in-between fillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive Collection, 25 Aug 2012
By 
A. Roberton "Alan Roberton" (Hinckley, Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 200 Super Soups: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A comprehensive little recipe book with not just old favourites, but a good smattering of new and more unusual ideas to warm you on those cold days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

200 Super Soups: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook
200 Super Soups: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook by Sara Lewis (Paperback - 5 Sep 2009)
£4.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews