Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twice as nice...
If the phrase 'Meal for Two' conjures up nothing more exciting than the ping of a microwave then this might be the Hamlyn 200 Cookbook for you. If, on the other hand, the phrase describes your general lack of portion control then it might still work for you. This edition features recipes and ideas designed to keep everyday dining interesting and delicious without taking...
Published on 10 Jun 2012 by techpuppy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tea (and lunch and dinner!) for two...
I very much like the idea of a cookbook that has recipes for two people so that I don't have to constantly scale down 'family' recipes, though some of the recipes in '200 meals for two' are a little bit cheaty - would you really need a recipe or quantities for salmon bagels, croque monsieur, or cheese and tomato omlette? However, there are some more complex dishes where...
Published on 19 July 2012 by RM/TM


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twice as nice..., 10 Jun 2012
This review is from: 200 Meals for Two: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If the phrase 'Meal for Two' conjures up nothing more exciting than the ping of a microwave then this might be the Hamlyn 200 Cookbook for you. If, on the other hand, the phrase describes your general lack of portion control then it might still work for you. This edition features recipes and ideas designed to keep everyday dining interesting and delicious without taking all day to prepare - preparation and cooking times are usually no more than 30 minutes, assuming you've already done the shopping.

Unlike many of the Hamlyn 200 series the recipes aren't separated into food groups, like Beef & Pork, Fish and Vegetarian but instead are presented for different mealtimes like Brunch, Quick Suppers and Special Occasions. The only problem is that once you've enjoyed dishes like 'Ricotta & Pear Drizzle', 'Crispy Chicken with Salsa Verde' and 'Cherry Clafoutis' it's quite hard to go back and relish anything you just scraped out of a plastic tray - but maybe that's no bad thing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tea (and lunch and dinner!) for two..., 19 July 2012
By 
RM/TM (UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 200 Meals for Two: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I very much like the idea of a cookbook that has recipes for two people so that I don't have to constantly scale down 'family' recipes, though some of the recipes in '200 meals for two' are a little bit cheaty - would you really need a recipe or quantities for salmon bagels, croque monsieur, or cheese and tomato omlette? However, there are some more complex dishes where this cookbook does come into its own - for example, pork with apricot and sage stuffing on bean mash, and tarragon chicken with potatoes. I particularly liked the look of the smoked haddock fishcakes with potato wedges, and the open chicken and spanish ravioli. There are a fair number of veggy recipies as well, such as hot halloumi with fattoush salad. And a short chapter of puds, most of which are fruit-based. Among the more original, pineapple panettone. In summary this is a nice compact book with lots of quick and easy dishes, but somehow just doesn't have the wow factor of the TV chef publications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two person every day romantic eating, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 200 Meals for Two: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Most cookery books are aimed at cooking for 4-6, as the introduction explains. This one is aimed at meals for two. If you're not living with one significant other and no additional individuals, then this might not seem much of a selling point. If -- like me -- you live with the love of your life and no-one else, then having a cook book which has quantities and cooking times tailored for you is a God send. This is perhaps an especially good point in these connected-days where you can quickly Google Delia's recipe for Spaghetti Bolognese or Pepper Sauce without having to get a book off the shelf. All the recipes are there on-line... but they are almost all of them calculated for 4-6 persons.

This book isn't just about quantities and cooking times. There is an omnipresent whiff of romantic living in these pages, ranging from the blueberry french toasts which kick off the brunch section to the summer fruit slush which finishes the book off, going via crispy chicken with salsa verde and moroccan lamb with couscous on the way. Moroccan lamb with couscous -- astonishingly -- takes a total of 15 minutes preparation and cooking time. In fact, aside from the lamb burger and roasted tomato at 1 1/2 hours and the tarragon chicken with potatoes at 70 minutes, almost all of the recipes in this book fall into the 15-35 minute range. In other words, they recognise the shortened available time-spans that seem to go with being a couple without adherents.

All the recipes in this book are simple. Just occasionally they are oversimplified to the point that they become difficult. When instructed to 'make the hollandaise sauce', for example, I had to read it twice before I understood that it then followed with the instructions -- it rather gave me the initial impression that I'd missed something earlier. On the other hand, all of the recipes are unusual and in a certain sense delightful, despite the relatively few processes and short preparation times.

If you want to spice up your life together by upgrading the menus, this isn't a bad book at all.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pocket sized with amazing results., 26 July 2012
By 
K. D. Squire (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 200 Meals for Two: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
i love the hamlyn series of cook books, small compact and eloquently written with mouthwatering pictures and easy to follow recipes. The results even for a novice cook turn out amazing and taste phenominal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A wide range of yummy recipes, 22 April 2013
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 200 Meals for Two: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have a number of recipe books, some of which contain some similar recipes that are found in this book; however due to the portion sizes I tend to use them only when cooking for guests. This recipe book is perfectly targeted as it's just me and my partner at home.

Each recipe has a preparation time and a cooking time (when appropriate) that is pretty much spot on. Some of the recipes seemed a little too fancy at first glance to prepare after a long day at work; however the preparation time for most is 10 mins, although the cooking times vary from immediate serving to an hour. The ingredients aren't ridiculously outlandish and each recipe is concise and very easy to follow.

Now the food itself. I can't say that I've tried all the recipes yet; however the main meals I have tried were tasty and good portion sizes. The ricotta & parma ham pasta, citrus chicken with rice salad and salmon curry with tomato salad have become particular favourites. In addition, the desserts are awesome. The fabulous pineapple panettone took 7 minutes to prepare and cook (and it took about 4 mins to eat) and the vanilla cheesecakes have been made several times now.

The book itself is a compact size (not one of these oversized things that can't slot somewhere in the kitchen) plus there's also a beautiful photograph to accompany each recipe; I just wish my culinary efforts looked as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars 200 meals for two, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not that impressed with this book as not enough proper dinner recipes just not enough traditional recipes that I was hoping for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Cook Book, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Meals for Two: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Some interesting recipes and straight forward lots of things that you would have in your fridge or cupboard and ture they dont take that long to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compact book with a good variety of easy to follow recipes, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Big Bertha (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 200 Meals for Two: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm a big fan of this range of cookbooks they don't take up too much precious space in my kitchen and are full of easy to follow recipes accompanied by glossy photographs of the dish.

This book is great if you haven't got a family to cook for as most cookbooks focus on meals for a minimum of four people. The recipes are clearly laid out and easy to follow....loved the Tarragon Chicken with Potatoes!

I'd be the first to admit I'm not a great cook and tend to stick to the same old things for dinner when I get in from a day at the office. Set into five different sections headed Brunch, Light bites, Quick suppers, Special occasions and Desserts there's plenty of ideas if I fancy a change or am looking for inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the two of you, 18 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: 200 Meals for Two: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have a fair few of the Hamlyn series of cookbooks and am pleased with them all. The 200 recipes for two is an excellent quality book, a nice size for the kitchen bookshelf, and full of easy to follow recipes perfect for two. I love recipe books with deliciously inspiring pictures, a feature that is very well delivered in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook 200 Meals for Two, 24 July 2012
By 
This review is from: 200 Meals for Two: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Another great little Hamlyn recipe book, this time for two. I can't tell you the amount of recipe books i have the serve 4 or more so to find one with some great recipes for two is really useful. I love these little Hamlyn books because they have a picture of each of the recipes so you know what it's meant to look like (in an ideal world). The recipes all come with a little extra, either a way to change the recipe or some way of making it a bit quicker which is useful. The recipes aren't that amazing, there are lots of things i already have recipes for. I'm really looking forward nto trying out the baked chocolate cheesecake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

200 Meals for Two: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook
200 Meals for Two: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook by Louise Blair (Paperback - 1 Mar 2010)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews