Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Chicken, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. R. Alexander (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Chicken Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: 200 Chicken Recipes (Paperback)
I eat a lot of chicken and a book of recipes like this is out of this of this world
enjoying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 200 chicken dishes, 29 May 2011
This review is from: 200 Chicken Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: 200 Chicken Recipes (Paperback)
Lovely book, simple to follow recipes with colourful pictures so you can see how the dish is supposed to turn out. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great small book packed with loads of recipes, 28 Oct 2014
By 
Mrs. Susan Hill (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Chicken Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: 200 Chicken Recipes (Paperback)
I think the Hamlyn '200' series of recipe books are great. Each book is packed with loads of fantastic recipes, with clear, easy to follow instructions and a colourful photograph.
Most of the recipes have an extra recipe on the same page that is a slight variation, so there are almost 400 recipes in each of these small handy books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicken chicken chicken!, 24 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Chicken Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: 200 Chicken Recipes (Paperback)
Disclaimer: It's not my fault if this review is featured on the pages of different books of the Colour Cookbook series. I wrote it for the Chicken one.

My family and I love eating chicken, it's just so versatile, you can cook it in a thousand different ways and it's always tasty! Just looking at the cover I knew I had to have this book, and I am really happy I bought it! It's a good quality paperback, with a nice "coarse" textured cover. It has a handy format for the kitchen and the layout is very clear and easy to follow.

Let's make things clear, the book doesn't contain two hundred recipes, but more or less one hundred, each with variations and side-dish suggestions. The variations however are always very different from the original recipe, usually the only thing they have in common is the cooking method, so the result is completely different flavour-wise and well deserves its recipe-status, it's not just something they added on second thought just to fill up the page.
Each recipe (+variation or side-dish) covers one page and is gorgeously pictured on the opposite page. They look sooo nice, you'd like to try everything at once!
The book is conveniently divided into chapters for Light Lunches, Easy Suppers, Food for Friends, Favourite Roasts, Two Meals From One sandwiched between the comprehensive introduction and the clear index.
The recipes draw inspiration from a variety of styles: Mediterranean, Italian, Mexican, Indian, Japanese and also traditional British fare, but there are many fusion dishes, not belonging to any specific culture, being just tasty!

They are all quite easy to make and pretty fast, good for weeknights, when you certainly don't have much time, a part from the roasts, which take longer, but don't need attendance all the time. But, despite being so easy, many are also worth considering if you are entertaining some friends.
You will not need hundreds of ingredients, nor will they be hard to locate, most of the time you will already have them around, and the results are well worth the (small) effort to cook on weeknights. It's so gratifying to eat something nice after a long day :)

Some examples we especially appreciated:

Sherried Chicken Strogonoff (30 min. from start to finish, including cutting up the breasts and onions)
Chicken Maryland & Banana Fritters (in about one hour you'll have crunchy and tasty fried chicken, a corn-bell pepper side-dish and the nice and spicy banana pancakes)
Chicken Tikka Masala
Polenta Crusted Chicken Strips
Sticky Mustard Chicken and Potatoes
Catalan Chicken and Normandy Chicken
Griddled Chicken Fajitas
Griddled Chicken and Fennel Pockets
Teriyaki Chicken with Three Seeds (it's really good, slightly tangy and with the crunch and flavour of sesame, pumpkin and sunflower seeds)
Roast Chicken with Lemon Baste
Italian Pesto Chicken Burgers

Feeling hungry already? You should see the pictures. You should feel the wonderful smell rising from the pan... Really a great little book! As the others in the series ;)I think I'm off getting some chicken!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cook book, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Chicken Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: 200 Chicken Recipes (Paperback)
Bought as part of a Christmas present so did not use myself but have been told that there was some good easy receipes that they enjoyed making. Came in one box with other order so packed well and on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Chicken Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: 200 Chicken Recipes (Paperback)
I have bought this as a present for christmas, but having glanced through it, I have liked the clean presentation, and the beautiful pictures. The whole series of Hamlyn cookbooks is excellent. Ideal for any food lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A SMALL BOOK FULL OF BIG IDEAS, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Anne Diamond (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Chicken Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: 200 Chicken Recipes (Paperback)
A useful book with plenty of ideas. A definite one for the Cookery Shelf when you are short of ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideas, 16 Feb 2013
By 
M. Lovett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Chicken Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: 200 Chicken Recipes (Paperback)
I love chicken and have had a great time trawling through this book. I would recommend it to anyone who like me, needs a bit os inspiration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars useful little book, 1 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Chicken Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: 200 Chicken Recipes (Paperback)
Great little recipe book for chicken dishes, love the recipes along with the coloured photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some nice ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

200 Chicken Dishes: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: 200 Chicken Recipes
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews