Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeping it Simple
While not quite pocket sized this handy little book,(just 16x14cm), takes the simple approach to make straightforward vegetable dishes.
Suitable for vegetarians but less so vegans this really wins out as a great way to introduce healthier meat free meals into a formally meat orientated diet.
The introduction, while clear & short, gives some helpful tips...
Published on 23 Jan 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good recipes, don't like book size!
This is one of a series of cookbooks put out by Hamlyn, and whilst the recipes (at least the ones I have tried on my vegetarian mother) appear to be reasonable and on a par with other cookbooks of the ilk, the one thing I don't like is the size. Call me old fashioned, but for some reason I prefer books with recipes in them to be of a certain size so that they can be stood...
Published on 21 Sep 2012 by Simon Uglow


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 200 Dishes That Don't Run Away, 1 Dec 2011
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 200 Veggie Feasts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: Over 200 Delicious Recipes and Ideas (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The letterbox rattles. It's the postman (actually an overburdened postweasel!)
The sound of ripping cardboard is followed by a loud scream from the hallway.
Mrs Wolf got there first. "Wolfie have you finally gone stark raving mad!!"

The arrival in The Wolfcave of the 'Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook - 200 Veggie
Feasts' seems to have upset the wife and one can understand her point of view.
Canids are not, after all, best known for their love of good-for-you greenstuff.
However, in the spirit of open-mindedness and experimentation I thought that
giving the concept a try was worth a shot. I'm always open to new adventures!

Veggies get a bit of a hard time in a predominately carnivorous (or at least
omnivorous) society. Many restaurants still pay lip service to those diners who
choose, for whatever reason, not to eat meat or fish. You know the sort of
thing; the bland uni-colour ratatouille tagged on to the bottom of the menu
(and how many caramalized onion and goat's cheese tarts can any one human
be expected to eat in a lifetime?!) as a cursory afterthought. It's a raw deal.

Although this book could hardly be said to be innovative when it comes to
its subject, there are, nonetheless, more than a few attractive and tasty
recipes on offer. The instructions are easy to follow and would be well
within the capacity of a reasonably confident home cook to reproduce.

I particularly like the idea of the 'Fennel, Pernod and Orange Casserole'
and will be putting it to the test this weekend. Some of the deserts look
scrummy too : the 'Grilled Fruits With Palm Sugar' and the 'Banana & Fig
Filo Pastry' are certainly strong contenders for those with a sweet tooth.
The various soups and salads, however, are more that a tad lacklustre.

With so many other good vegetarian cookbooks currently available it's hard
to know why one might choose this tome over any other but in its favour
simplicity and clarity of instructions are on its side. The photos are good.

Mrs Wolf seems to have calmed down a bit now and is thumbing through it
(albeit with one eyebrow raised in something approaching scorn), so I have
hopes that we will be in line to at least give it a go. For now, however,
the smell of one of her delicious rabbit pies is wafting in from the kitchen.
Methinks tonight's supper is almost ready and tomorrow is, indeed, another day!

Bon Appetit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Diverse Array of Delicious Vegetarian Dishes, 29 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: 200 Veggie Feasts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: Over 200 Delicious Recipes and Ideas (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having eaten an exclusively vegetarian diet for 11 years, I had fallen into a repetitive eating cycle which provided balanced nutrition but lacked excitement. I cooked for speed and nutritional value rather than flavour. Enter this excellent little book and a whole new culinary dimension. The recipes are delicious and, for the most part, relatively uncomplicated.

The chapters are conveniently divided into: (1) breakfast & brunch; (2) starters & snacks; (3) main meals; (4) soups & stews; (5) salads & sides; (6) breads & baking; (7) desserts.

My favourites are the all-in one veggie breakfast, the sweet potato & fontina panini, the sage & goats' cheese frittata, the spinach & ricotta cannelloni, the mushroom soup with truffle butter, and the cherry & cinnamon zabaglione. The full-colour photographs that accompany the recipes are mouth-watering, but the proof of the pudding is - literally - in the tasting...and these dishes taste outstanding.

If you're a vegetarian who wants to spice up your diet, this book is exactly what you need. Equally, if you don't eat an exclusively vegetarian diet but want to broaden your culinary repertoire, the recipes in this excellent book are just the thing.

Coming in at a bargain price, this book is a useful staple of any kitchen.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good things come in small packages, 7 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. Gail Brewster (Doncaster UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Veggie Feasts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: Over 200 Delicious Recipes and Ideas (Paperback)
This is a lovely little hand-sized cook book. Each recipe has its own page followed by a full colour picture of the finished dish. Quite a few dishes can be made within 30 minutes which is ideal for busy people. Preparation and cooking times are noted at the beginning of each recipe. The book contains a wide variety of recipes from simple to more complex. All of the dishes are suitable for vegetarians but there is a limited number of vegan recipes, although a seasoned vegan cook should be able to get ideas and adapt recipes to meet their needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less Cheese, Please, Louise!, 28 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: 200 Veggie Feasts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: Over 200 Delicious Recipes and Ideas (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There is MUCH that I really like about this little book - taken one by one there is a fine collection of quick to prep, delicious fresh food-without-meat-or-fish.

BUT (and it's quite a big but) - she falls into what I call the Delia Smith Vegetarian Cookery Mindset. That is, a Vegetarian cookbook written by a good cook who is a meat-eater, and therefore thinks like a carnivore and is hung up on the-oh-my-gosh-where-are-they-going-to-get-their-protein-from. Thus almost every recipe is overwhelmed by the cheese and egg, cheese or egg 'meat and fish' replacement.

This is a book written for carnivores who are convinced their vegetarian friends and rellies are going to keel over and expire unless they get a STEAK replacement.

Now, I'm not a vegan, and have no objection to using cheese and eggs, cheese or eggs in a recipe. But not every dish. This is the 'unhealthy' vegetarian option - not just for reasons of finding you have replaced a diet high in saturated fats-from-meat with a diet high in saturated-fats-from-dairy-products, but because such a high cheese diet is not particularly helpful for anyone prone to, for example, asthma, sinusitis, eczema etc. It's one of the commonest foods likely to show symptoms of food intolerance because the enzyme to digest milk is lacking in a percentage of the population.

There are remarkably few recipes without a whiff of eggs or cheese about them. Though she does include a handful of soya recipes (tofu) - soya, like meat, is a complete protein - other 'complete' proteins are lacking - particularly, nothing utilising quinoa, nothing either which understands WHY you don't need cheese/egg to 'replace the protein' Nothing in other words about food group combining. That's why my Rose Elliot Rose Elliot's New Complete Vegetarian and, particularly my Colin Spencer Gourmet Cooking for Vegetarians books will remain pride of place. Admittedly, these lack the glossy, salivating inducing photos of this, and other more modern cookbooks, but they are more vegetable friendly!

I will use this book very very happily though, despite the inclusion of recipes using cheeses which a strict vegetarian will abjure (rennet from cow's stomachs, rather than vegetarian rennet) So, dear veggie feast chef, kindly making a meal for your vegtarian friend - beware! There are dishes here which are NOT vegetarian.

Such is the deliciousness, and the pleasing presentation, and the speed and ease of the recipes therein though, that I do LIKE this. Hence 4 stars.

Sweet potato and coconut milk soup anyone? How about hummus with butter beans (which somehow seem wonderfully Northern European, as opposed to Mediterranean.) What about Thai vegetable salad,...okay, its a bit cold, let's go for a hearty Winter vegetable stew with beer broth. Cheers! If you must have your cheese, the beetroot and goat's cheese risotto is tempting.

I also like the 2 recipes in one approach, which suggests subtle changes to the original recipes, giving you a 2nd variation on a theme

Whilst there are some problems with the fact that the book won't lie flat, open - a bit of a challenge to the cook who needs both hands free to get on with cooking and doesn't want to smear her cookbook with too many gastronomic delights as she moves from garlic chopping to check exactly HOW much chopped cooked beetroot - a perfect solution is at hand Bookchair Standard Stripes a wonderful kitchen gadget!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ive purchased 15 of these.. does that tell you how good it is?, 27 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Veggie Feasts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: Over 200 Delicious Recipes and Ideas (Paperback)
A friend brought one of these into work.. passed it round for a few of us veggies to look at.. Im a fussy veggie but I found many more recipies that made my mouth water than Ive ever seen in any veggie cook book before.

I ordered one for me and one for a colleage.. and soon all the veggies in the office wanted one too!!!

I have a feeling that the 15 I have ordered will be followed by further purchases of this fantastic little book as the word spreads.

PS Had the sweetcorn fritters the other day and they were wonderful!

Ignore the rest.. buy the best, and no, Im not on commision!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I think I need a cookery course!, 21 Nov 2011
By 
Ms. R. L. A. Amelan "Rachel" (Wilmslow, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 200 Veggie Feasts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: Over 200 Delicious Recipes and Ideas (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I think that I must face facts for the sake of the readers. I am not only an inept cook but I have no palate. Food to me is a simple affair. I want it to be ready as quickly as possible with the minimum of ingredients and no endless washing up. It should be healthy also with the minimum of fat and no alcohol! I still, however, hanker after neat little recipes which I can throw together with the minimum of fuss and skill.

As I searched through the book, I realised that I had come to the wrong place. This was a little volume for those who were rather partial to cooking. They really liked having a spot of adventure and were probably not concerned about the calories as they dripped the extra virgin oil over the food. The recipes gave vegetarian fare a slightly modern twist and they leaned more to international flavours than British with feta cheeses etc. rather than "good old mousetrap". The main courses struck me as imaginative but elaborate and I would have kept on wanting to skip ingredients to simplify things. There were some rather nice desserts in the form of a caramel apple crumble but I felt that they were generally quite rich and not quite what the doctor would have ordered. There were salads but I could not understand why anyone wanted to dress them - could they not be left as they were?

Anyway, apart from this, the book is beautifully presented and should appeal enormously to aspiring vegetarian foodies. The recipes are crystal clear and, once you have assembled the ingredients, they should be good fun. I would have liked to have seen the calorie content stated on each one but I bet I would be spoiling things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a light lunch or two (hundred), 22 Dec 2011
By 
mfl (london) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 200 Veggie Feasts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: Over 200 Delicious Recipes and Ideas (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Veggie feasts is a smartly presented little recipe book. It's probably more for the cookbook shelf of the meat eaters who entertain those irksome vegetarians once in a while, than any vegetarian needing inspiration. If you're in the latter, then you really need to go look elsewhere.

Quite how a cookbook calling itself Veggie "FEASTS" can include a boiled egg with soldiers amongst its number is questionable. Calling them mustard soldiers is just a lazy listing reason too and points to this being no more than a basic reference. In fact you will struggle to land any real feast here, given a lot of soups and light dishes that would equally make a pleasant side dish for anyone. That said, each recipe has its own page with very good photography.

However why are these pretty little bound books completely impractical to keep a page open on the work surface as you prepare? Given its size, it also won't fit easily into a stand should you even have one to hand.

Veggie Feasts will suit a very casual user and for its price is decent value. Just don't expect to get full up or particularly well nourished by its obvious and uninspiring content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cheese Overload!, 7 Jun 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "grenadines" (Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Veggie Feasts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: Over 200 Delicious Recipes and Ideas (Paperback)
I bougth this book as I'm trying to reduce my meat intake, and I needed a little inspiration. Although this cookbook is beautifully illustrated, I was slightly disappointed with the over reliance on cheese. To me, the writer has made that typical mistake by replacing meat with tons of cheese!

I have only tried a couple of recipes, and the American styled cornbread seems to go down well with the family. However, I don't use this cookbook as frequently as I thought I would when I ordered it - for reasons outlined above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy yummyI, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Veggie Feasts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: Over 200 Delicious Recipes and Ideas (Paperback)
I wanted to try a healthier way of life and this book is a fabulous introduction to vegetarianism. It has plenty images to inspire and a little guidelines section at the beginning. At the cheap price, just get it and cook from it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Veggie Feasts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: Over 200 Delicious Recipes and Ideas (Paperback)
I tried several recipes from the book and love it, look forward to trying out more of the recipes to enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

200 Veggie Feasts: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: Over 200 Delicious Recipes and Ideas
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews