Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coarse Fishing Basics: Its More Than a Guide
This book was interesting and informative. It has given me a simplistic grip on the basics as well as an overview on the tougher aspects of Course fishing. Steve Partner's writing allows you to develop your skills without patronising an experienced angler, like myself. I have a decent range of fishing books (Course fishing a speciality) and I rate this book highly. It...
Published on 30 Aug 2006 by Maude Eric

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the right book for beginners
This book is nicely presented and has some useful tips. However, I wouldn't recommend it if your a beginner like me. If your looking for a step-by-step guide to get you started it is just too sketchy and doesn't contain enough detailed information.

No discussion, for example, of where to position the hook in the water.

Or there are a couple of...
Published on 1 Jun 2010 by Harry F. Ryder


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coarse Fishing Basics: Its More Than a Guide, 30 Aug 2006
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Basics: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
This book was interesting and informative. It has given me a simplistic grip on the basics as well as an overview on the tougher aspects of Course fishing. Steve Partner's writing allows you to develop your skills without patronising an experienced angler, like myself. I have a decent range of fishing books (Course fishing a speciality) and I rate this book highly. It has now become an essential part of my fishing kit. If there are any more books in this series count me in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much More Than Basic, 3 Nov 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Basics: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
To a degree the book's title does not do it justice. It is much more than your basic book on angling and actually covers most of the methods that are normally used to get fish on to your hook. There are articles on fishing with the float, an ideal method for the younger angler, although many older anglers prefer this method as they like the thrill of watching the float go under the water when they get a bite.

It covers what many anglers consider the lazy method ledgering, although nowadays this is very far from the truth, as this method has become very technical, involving lots of different rig set ups and bite indicators. The book also covers spinning, a method usually used for predatory fish such as perch and pike and there is always the chance that the odd trout will also take a spinning lure.

There is also information on removing the hook without harming the fish. Information is also given about looking for areas of water that hold fish and this is one of the most important skills of all for an angler. You can be the best angler in the world but if there are no fish where you have chosen to fish, or the peg you are in if you have drawn a place in a match, then you are not going to catch anything.

Angling is one of the best and most peaceful of pastimes and the next best thing is reading about it. Enjoy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what i needed, 10 July 2007
By 
Mr. R. Weller "richardspacepod" (cambridge uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Basics: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
my partner bought me a rod and reel for my 43rd birthday. i'd been saying i wanted to fish for a while. this book told me everything i needed to get started - clear, concise, but enthusiastic too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what the title states, 3 Jun 2008
By 
C. C. Giannakenas "NucDoc" (Patras, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Basics: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
This book is exactly what the title states! No pompous title and nothing misleading about it.

If it is coarse fishing that you want to know more about than this book is not recommended.... it is a MUST HAVE and at a very fair price too! I am almost exclusively a sea angler and bought the book on a whim. OK I admit I was somewhat influenced by the reviews too... but I am glad I made the purchase!

Excellent and self explanatory photographs and sketches, easy to read and understandable text that fully justify the "jargon-free explanations" promised on the rear cover make this book worth reading again and again. The functional layout is another asset of a great publication and the "jargon buster" insets are extremely useful in making this "Beginner's Guide" a necessity for everyone new to coarse fishing. Mind you though, this book goes beyond a beginner's needs and can teach many veteran anglers a lot that they (thought) they already knew about :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instructive and so much more., 10 Feb 2008
By 
K. Bowell (Reading, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Basics: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
This is the best non-fiction book I have and I have a lot; marvellously informative illustrations, concise information and written in plain English.

If you are Steve Partner, please write an intermediate guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Basics: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
I am new to fishing and take this with me when I am out fishing but also read through it at every opportunity. The information for a new fisherman/fisherwoman is ideal and a brilliant start. I will definitely be looking to see if there are more by Steve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book - really informative, easy to read, great pictures, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my 11 year old son who is developing a love for fishing with his Dad. I'd looked at lots of books to help him begin to learn more about the subject and this book/manual is simply the best on the market that I could find for a beginner. It is laid out beautifully with clear photographs and good diagrams. It tells you all about the equipment - the different types of rods, reels, tackle etc - clearly explaining what they're all for, when best to use them and how. It gives you step by step clear instructions on how to cast, set up a ledger, tie knots, mix groundbait etc. It contains a comprehensive section on baits and then goes on to a section about 'know your fish' where it describes what each one looks like, where to find them, how to fish for them and which baits to try which my son found particularly useful. It also has a section specifically focused on what is to be found and how to fish in different places like lakes, ponds, canals, rivers, gravel pits etc There is further information on fishing topics as you advance from being a beginner and the book ends with 50 top fishing tips. I would thoroughly recommend this book to a beginner or intermediate fisherman who wants the facts clearly explained and likes some visual instructions too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the novice angler, 29 Oct 2010
Does exactly what it says on the tin! A great guide to all aspects of basic fishing for the novice angler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the right book for beginners, 1 Jun 2010
By 
This book is nicely presented and has some useful tips. However, I wouldn't recommend it if your a beginner like me. If your looking for a step-by-step guide to get you started it is just too sketchy and doesn't contain enough detailed information.

No discussion, for example, of where to position the hook in the water.

Or there are a couple of pages on lure fishing for Perch which assume far too much prior expertise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coarse fishing basics, 1 Jun 2009
By 
Having purchased the book to gain knowledge of todays style of fishing, i found this book gave me a great insight into the new style of tackle and how to use it. Overall i found it a very useful and informative guide to catching the elusive 'Big One'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coarse Fishing Basics: A Beginner's Guide
Coarse Fishing Basics: A Beginner's Guide by Steve Partner (Paperback - 15 Aug 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews