Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Cocktail Book well worth buying
I bought the Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: 200 Cocktails blind in the hope that it would turn out to be a good one, and it did :)

As it suggests each page has a colour picture of the cocktail as well as an equipment and ingrediant list. The method is set out using a clear step by step guide which is very easy to follow. The majority of the cocktails are designed...
Published on 28 Dec. 2009 by Mrs. D. Taylor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
One of the strengths of this book is its concise and clear introduction. On the recipe front, there are certain classic cocktails which appear to be missing here, e.g. my beloved Manhattan.
Published 19 months ago by Graham


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Cocktail Book well worth buying, 28 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: 200 Cocktails: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
I bought the Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook: 200 Cocktails blind in the hope that it would turn out to be a good one, and it did :)

As it suggests each page has a colour picture of the cocktail as well as an equipment and ingrediant list. The method is set out using a clear step by step guide which is very easy to follow. The majority of the cocktails are designed for 2 people which i found to be a welcome relief from all those which are designed for 4, its a lot easier to double a recipie than try and half it.

The book claims to have 200 cocktails but id say that its more like 300/350 because most pages have a short note at the end telling you how to make a similar cocktail usaing slightly different ingredients. The cocktails are split into categories so for example, light and fruity, winter warmers and shots which again i found very useful.

Another brilliant point about the book is that at the beginning there is a short section on cocktail making, descriptions of the different types of glasses, ways of creating attractive fruit decorations such as lemon peel spirals and the best way to salt/sugar the rim of a cocktail glass.

All in all a great cocktail book that i would definately recommend, my only criticism if i had to say one is that the book is A5 size so smaller than i guess i would have liked. Hope this helps! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 3 Sept. 2010
This review is from: 200 Cocktails: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Love this book! It's a really brilliant mix cocktails with plenty of contemporary recipes which is hard to find, and important I think as tastes have changed since 1979, but there are still some oldies in there for when the parents come round.
The thing I like most is that every recipe has a picture - I find it very off putting making a drink with lots of expensive ingredients if I can't see what it's supposed to look like.
The book itself is a perfect size and the quality of the paper and print is nice too. Ideal gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cocktail book, 25 Jun. 2010
By 
K. Matthews - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 200 Cocktails: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Lots of colour pictures make this a good buy. Just about every cocktail has a corresponding picture so you can see what they should look like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cocktails, 21 Feb. 2010
By 
C. Mcfadyen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Cocktails: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
I bought this book for my son-in-law (a Tom Cruise wannabe!). He is very pleased with it and now makes cocktails for everyone! The recipes are easy and clear. He now thinks he IS Tom Cruise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't do exactly what it says on the cover- it does more!, 14 Jan. 2011
This review is from: 200 Cocktails: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
I bought this as present for my brother, and we agree it is a brilliant book. Every cocktail has at least one additional variation, and the tips on techinques and equipment are invaluable. There are plenty of pictures, of excellent quality and attractive presentation, plus the book has interesting facts and history scattered throughout.
Thoroughly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 19 Feb. 2011
This review is from: 200 Cocktails: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
This book gives very easy and simple guidelines on how to make over about 400 classic cocktails! Each page gives a list of the equipment and ingredients you will need to make the specific cocktail, it then gives a step-by-step recipe for how to make the cocktail and also tips on how to decorate this cocktail, on the opposite page is a large colored photo of this cocktail. On each page, it also give a short recipe of a similar cocktail to the main one on that page. It features classic cocktails like the dry martini, Mojito, Margarita and Sex on the Beach. Also, champagne based cocktails such as the bellini and e=mc². It even has warm creamy cocktails such as Mexican Mocha and Irish Coffee. And many popular shots such as Tequila Slammer and B-52.
Another addition to this book is the introduction, this gives you information on; the history of cocktails; equipment you should have; liquors you should store; basic bar tending techniques; decoration tips etc.
This is a brilliant book for beginners such as myself and could be a handy book for professionals as it is small and compact and has basic, easy-to-read instructions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hamlyn cocktails book, 6 Nov. 2011
This review is from: 200 Cocktails: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Excellent!! This little book is packed with recipes for all types of cocktails,even offering an alternative way of making each and every cocktail detailed in the book. Excellent value for money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 20 Oct. 2010
This review is from: 200 Cocktails: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
This book is great - i wanted a cocktail book for my sister in law and found none better than this. I like to see what the cocktail is supposed to look like and this has loads of full colour pictures. It also contains lots of classic cocktails and a few unusual ones, but with plenty of choice. The main thing is that a lot of them are simple to make and don't involve a huge shopping list of ingredients. And at that price it's great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cocktail recipes book, 13 July 2011
By 
A. Morley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 200 Cocktails: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
Great little recipe book for cocktails
very nicely illustrated
Includes advice and tips on making and serving cocktails
fast despatch, good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 200 Cocktails, 16 Jan. 2011
By 
JoJo (Lancashire .England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 200 Cocktails: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook (Paperback)
I bought this Cotail book for a friend for Christmas.With each page having a coloured Photo of the drink and recipe on the other.It was a great hit with my friend who has just got into cocktail making. A handy size so not bulky. Easy to read. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

200 Cocktails: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook
200 Cocktails: Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook by Hamlyn Cookbooks (Paperback - 6 Oct. 2008)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews