Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a great book to help create a garden for kids!
A fantastic book with clear pictures that looks at simple projects which will transform even the smallest of gardens into a haven for children whithout making it look like something out of the Teletubbies(or cost a fortune)!
Projects include a fold away playhouse, mini-trampoline, zany garden furniture, a superb spider's web cargo net, sailboat sandpit, garden games...
Published on 24 Jun 2003 by L. COLE

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Good book for basic ideas
I purchased this book as I am looking at 'merging' child-friendly, edible and an adult garden.

The idea's in this book are just basic ideas, which are good ideas but it does not offer 'merging' ideas as I am seeking.
Published 16 months ago by Pippinkid


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a great book to help create a garden for kids!, 24 Jun 2003
By 
L. COLE (WEST SUSSEX United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Great Gardens for Kids (Hardcover)
A fantastic book with clear pictures that looks at simple projects which will transform even the smallest of gardens into a haven for children whithout making it look like something out of the Teletubbies(or cost a fortune)!
Projects include a fold away playhouse, mini-trampoline, zany garden furniture, a superb spider's web cargo net, sailboat sandpit, garden games as well as creative and imaginative ways to introduce children (both boys and girls) to gardening and nature without it looking boring!
The book gives simple instructions and material lists to create each project(although an estimate of time and cost whould have been an added bonus-but with so many fantistic ideas I almost feel embarrased to grumble).
Unlike other gardening books which may dedicate a few pages to childrens play in the garden, this book provides chapter after chapter and idea after idea on ways to make your garden more kid friendly. Within one week of having this book I have recommended it to several friends and already started on three of the projects which even my husband loves! Its a win-win situation all round- my husband is happy to do some gardening, the kids get somewhere nice to play and I feel that the garden is a safer and prettier place to be with the children!
What more can I say other than if you have kids (or run a child-care facility)and want them to enjoy the outdoors (even if its only a window box) then buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, Full of great ideas, 24 July 2006
By 
L. Redman (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book has proved to be a great source of inspiration. I especially liked the grass stools and have 2 either side of my toddlers play house in the garden. The children love to sit on these as they are just the right height and offer something different e.g. colour and texture.

I have also created one for a friends daughters 2nd birthday.

There are lots of ideas for a range of ages and seasons, some simple and some a bit more adventurous - something to keep you busy right through the year.

Introducing children to the garden is a great way of developing the senses and this book is a great help in encouraging lots of outdoor play & activity.

Nicely presented, great photo's and clear, easy instructions to follow. A must for anyone who enjoys the garden.I can't wait to start on my next project !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas with great pictures, 16 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Gardens for Kids (Hardcover)
This books is filled with many great ideas for your garden with will stimulate your child. The projects are small to medium and don't cover stuff like how to build a large play system for your child. The picture a great and it give you ideas of what you can do with your garden whatever the size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great inspiration, 6 April 2010
By 
Helen Jane Smith "Gem" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Gardens for Kids (Hardcover)
This book has provided me with lots of ideas on how to transform my garden into a playground for my 18 month old boy. While not every idea will work because I live in a very exposed area, it is possible to adapt ideas and make them work. Hopefully all the hard work will in the garden will be worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good book for basic ideas, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Gardens for Kids (Hardcover)
I purchased this book as I am looking at 'merging' child-friendly, edible and an adult garden.

The idea's in this book are just basic ideas, which are good ideas but it does not offer 'merging' ideas as I am seeking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book full of great ideas, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really interesting book full of wonderful ideas that you can adapt to your own area.Beautiful pictures and makes you want to get outside
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Gardens for Kids
Great Gardens for Kids by Clare Matthews (Hardcover - 15 Mar 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews