Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Skimmed through in a day.
If you want to know about Entity Framework then this is for you. Easy book to read with good explanatory examples.
Published 17 months ago by Mr. J. W. Fry

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Assumes the reader has little .NET experience
This is regarded as The book on EF, and it probably is. While the book covers EF in detail and certainly needs to be read to fully appreciate EF and speed-up development time, especially on greenfield projects, Julia does spend a lot of time explaining .NET concepts as if the reader is a beginner. That's great if you are, but it swells the page count considerably...
Published on 1 July 2012 by L. A. Puplett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Assumes the reader has little .NET experience, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Entity Framework (Paperback)
This is regarded as The book on EF, and it probably is. While the book covers EF in detail and certainly needs to be read to fully appreciate EF and speed-up development time, especially on greenfield projects, Julia does spend a lot of time explaining .NET concepts as if the reader is a beginner. That's great if you are, but it swells the page count considerably.

That said, its easy to flick over many pages and skim read, while still gleaning all the important EF detail you need. It's also an 'equal opportunities' book for VB.NET and C# devs alike, with all examples in each, but I'd rather the VB.NET was cut since its not that popular and the very short examples are easy to convert in you mind.

I've two more criticisms which apply not to Julia's work specifically but to programming books in general:

My first is about the frequent use of paragraphs inside a box as notes. In a book like this, its all noteworthy, so I can't see why some text must be in a box and not just another paragraph or two. Their prolific use dilutes the impact of any genuine stuff that might catch you out.

Secondly, code should be shaded as per the Visual Studio editor, albeit in greyscale. Reading black and white Notepad style code is much harder than when keywords, symbols and strings are different shades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic reference book, not great for people new to EF, 6 Mar 2014
By 
J. P. Ellison "jpellison" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Entity Framework (Paperback)
If you're looking for a book that will ease you in to Entity Framework, and guide you through a few tutorials to teach you the basics, this probably isn't for you.

However, as a reference book it is excellent. If you're already involved with Entity Framework and looking to gain an understanding of various aspects, then this book will likely have a decent explanation waiting for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skimmed through in a day., 25 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. J. W. Fry "Jason" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Entity Framework (Paperback)
If you want to know about Entity Framework then this is for you. Easy book to read with good explanatory examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 28 April 2013
By 
W. G. Crawley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Entity Framework (Paperback)
I originally purchased the Manning Entity Framework 4 in action, which was a great first book. This book goes beyond that and takes you to the next level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to EF, 6 Oct 2010
By 
P. Jones "Phil" (England, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Programming Entity Framework (Paperback)
I actually bought the first edition of this book and loved it (but not EF at the time). When I saw a new updated edition for EF4 I jumped at the opportunity to learn the new and improved features.

The book starts with excellent introductions to all the different ways to query and so on and doesn't assume a huge knowledge, although I think it helped that I understood LINQ and SQL already.

I bought this book electronically and have been reading it on my Kindle, I bought the paper edition originally and decided my back needed a break!

I am only about 60% of the way through the book but am very impressed with the detail and descriptions provided.

The downloads available for the book are easy to find via the books website as well as providing details about events by Julie. I am disappointed that I missed out on registration for DDD Modern .NET day at Reading, UK where Julie is talking as the event sold out so quickly.

I found that the number of diagrams to be fine, there are just enough to help explain and when using it on a Kindle they appear fine and readable.

As for the reviewer who is angry at purchasing the wrong edition, well that's not Amazons fault or Julies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive book on the Entity Framework, 28 Oct 2010
This review is from: Programming Entity Framework (Paperback)
A very fine technical book indeed, I wish all programming books where as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Work Related Product, 23 Dec 2011
This review is from: Programming Entity Framework (Paperback)
The person that the book was intended for has indicated that it is relevant for his needs as a computer programmer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Programming Entity Framework
Programming Entity Framework by Julia Lerman (Paperback - 29 Aug 2010)
£23.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews