Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Useful
I purchased this book after watching plenty of Doug Crockford videos on Advanced Javascript Programming. I also purchased Javascript: The Good Parts (at the same time).
Of the two books I found this the more useful, they contains a lot of similar information but this book seems to be more appropriate for the hands on programmer. Easy to read and relevant.
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by MrFish

versus
5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing.
I knew the author before I bought the book.
I read his blog and I know he is a competent guy when it comes to javascript.

What a shame ?
The book is really poor and the guy has blown up a big chance to write a proper book about design patterns.

Rather than explaining why some design patterns should not bea pplied in javascript (due to its...
Published on 27 Nov 2011 by oo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Useful, 1 Feb 2012
This review is from: JavaScript Patterns (Paperback)
I purchased this book after watching plenty of Doug Crockford videos on Advanced Javascript Programming. I also purchased Javascript: The Good Parts (at the same time).
Of the two books I found this the more useful, they contains a lot of similar information but this book seems to be more appropriate for the hands on programmer. Easy to read and relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start using JavaScript!, 25 May 2011
By 
M Savage "Mike Sav" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JavaScript Patterns (Paperback)
For once there's a JavaScript book that demonstrates good coding practice using the world's most misunderstood language. Okay, this book isn't for those who are beginning JavaScript but once you know the basics this book will demonstrate how to write efficient, eloquent and effective code. The best thing about this book is that Stefanov devotes a chapter the use of Design Patterns with JavaScript, something which most developers dismiss with this language because JavaScript is "classless". Stefanov also gives good advice on performance related issues, what features of JavaScript you should never use (eval for instance) as well as code structure. I found this book to be one of the best I've read on JavaScript, just make sure you understand the fundamentals of the language and have some practical experience before pulling back the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great modern JS overview, 29 April 2011
By 
This review is from: JavaScript Patterns (Paperback)
With so much online content offering JavaScript tutorials you may ask why you'd want a book like this? The simple reason is that this book offers a fantastic, succinct and complete overview of *MODERN* JavaScript design patterns, methodologies and best practices. The book itself is only 230 odd pages long, but in this covers pretty much everything you need to know about writing modern JS for both in and out of the browser. Best practices are discussed and clearly demonstrated, along with 'antipatterns' or common mistakes you should avoid.
The book doesn't cover the basics (this isn't a book for the complete beginner, but aimed at someone with previous JS experience), but its eight chapters excel at demonstrating all aspects of modern day javascript. The chapter on patterns discusses the namespaces pattern, module pattern (increasingly common in todays web apps), sandbox pattern, the chaining pattern and much more. It does this in the clearest and most concise method I have seen.

I read this book in a day and will no doubt keep going back to it as a reference. a fantastic resource that i'd highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Writing solid JavaScript, properly explained, 27 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: JavaScript Patterns (Paperback)
Master and beginner JavaScript developers alike have a reason to thank Stoyan Stefanov- he did a fantastic job surveying the JavaScript landscape and mapping out key strategies for us to use in writing JavaScript applications large and small. He explains JavaScript and how to use it properly very well in this book.

"JavaScript Patterns" is a thoughtful, thorough, and written manual on developing JavaScript applications in a patterns-based way. It excels in three main areas:

First, it explains with clear examples the difference between classical (e.g. class-like as in C++, Java, C#) language idioms of which many of us are indoctrinated and the more modern, functional, loose-type style of JavaScript. It is a good sell, as he argues convincingly for a more free and open understanding of what an Object can be in a Object-Orientated architecture. Most worth noting is how it so clearly explains the variety, prominence, and role of Functions in the language.

Second, it clearly shows through example many of the JavaScript "gotchas" like counter-intuitive hoisting rules and issues with unexpected typecasting. Each point comes with an example sophisticated enough to get the point across but without unneeded detail.

Finally, it dives into richer examples of the classical design patterns (Singleton, Factory, Decorator...) and how to apply them in JavaScript well using many of the OO patterns discussed earlier in the text.

High value in each Chapter

The "signal to noise" ratio in this text is very high. Very often authors, most notably Crockford, will go down a rabbit hole of pedantic unimportant threads. Stefanov keeps us on a focused course dedicating the most time to the subjects that really are core and matter in the language: Functions, Global Scope and Modules, building Objects.

The two exceptions to this are as follows:

His survey of Classical inheritance patterns is too involved. He spends many pages discussing the minutiae of slight differences in applying classical inheritance patterns to JavaScript, only to later argue that none of them should be used. That could have been explained to us without the long fruitless journey.

Some of the example Applications he uses to explain the patterns could have been refactored and simplified. Most notably his extended "Proxy" example missed the mark in trying to get the core pattern across because it was lost in too much unneeded application detail.

CoffeeScript and JavaScript

"JavaScript Patterns" is an absolute excellent text and can serve those writing server-side applications with JavaScript along with those using CoffeeScript to abbreviate the language. Even though CoffeeScript isn't mentioned, it explains the patterns that CoffeeScript uses when it compiles to JavaScript. To better understand what CoffeeScript is doing, read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for a new/intermediate javascript pattern, 3 Oct 2012
By 
Paul Ryan "Likes books" (Swindon, Wilts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JavaScript Patterns (Paperback)
if you have read the definitive guide and Crockford, this book should be next on your list. I have been coding in javascript now for about 18 months or so and this book has been really useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book about advanced JavaScript, 15 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JavaScript Patterns (Paperback)
This book is not for newbies. It successfully translates the most popular programming patterns to JavaScript. Very wide knowledge, I call it the "new age JavaScript" ("new age" in a good sense ;). If you're fairly new to the subject, I'd point you first to my favourite JavaScript book of the same author - "Object-Oriented JavaScript".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars does a great job, in only 205 pages, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JavaScript Patterns (Paperback)
The trouble with most programmers have when learning javascript, is that they often have the mindset that JavaScript is not a real programming language and it is only a scripting language.. This problem is exasberated by that fact, that today most programmers interactions with javascript, is often restricted through some kind of Javascript framework, which in my opnion often disguise the elegance and intricacies of the language itself.

I feel this book, does a great job, in only 205 pages, of introducing you to, the complexities that these frameworks are shielding you from.

I bought this book, along with "Javascript the definitive guide" & "Javascript: The Good parts" and honestly think that this is a trilogy that all programmers should read. I managed to read all 3 books cover to cover, and that is saying something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Patterns are an essential part of the coding trade - this book formalises this for you., 28 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. C. Crane "mojito" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JavaScript Patterns (Paperback)
I really found this book very helpful as someone who has used js for years and sometimes come up against some strange ways that developers do things. Sometimes they seem like good devs but get this part of the trade wrong. This book helps you confirm what is good and what is often trying to be too clever and the devs writing unreadable code. This busts them big time. I am yet to fully complete the book but already rate it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you struggle with js buy this book, 1 July 2014
By 
C. Dudek (München) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JavaScript Patterns (Paperback)
Most helpful javascript book I've ever read! It helped me to understand callbacks and how to program common javascript pattern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for any serious JS developer, 18 July 2012
This review is from: JavaScript Patterns (Paperback)
This book goes into the dynamic nature of the language and teaches methodologies and routines to write code that may be reused and extended, and is understandable to other programmers in your team. If you develop medium to large scale websites, enjoy writing your own libraries and love to keep your code tidy and efficient, than this book must be next to your keyboard.

This is a book about best practices when writing JavaScript code, so you should be already confortable with JavaScript programming.

The text is clear and fluent to be red through, but also easy to browse as a reference book.

I just think the 'design patterns' chapter is somewhat 'light'. If you never heard about design patterns, you should learn it from elsewhere. I think this book is more about 'best practices' and JavaScript OOP, than actually DP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

JavaScript Patterns
JavaScript Patterns by Stoyan Stefanov (Paperback - 1 Oct 2010)
£15.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews