Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just got Windows 7 and want to know more
Just got a Windows 7 machine then these is ideal to show you the capabilities and tips and tricks to get you used to this new operating system in super quick time.
Aimed at someone just starting this is a great overview on what's on offer and some helpful hints and shortcuts along the way.
If you have been using Windows 7 for some time don't expect to be riveted...
Published on 20 July 2010 by WUV4Ever

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much simply a list of features?
I like the missing manual series, and this book certainly helps to reveal all the features of Windows 7: it was a useful intro for me converting from Windows XP for sure. However, it often ends up simply being lists of what it does and so leaves you trying to figure out the 'so what' or practical implications; as if the person wrote the manual too much from the Windows 7...
Published on 2 May 2010 by WebSanity


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much simply a list of features?, 2 May 2010
This review is from: Windows 7: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
I like the missing manual series, and this book certainly helps to reveal all the features of Windows 7: it was a useful intro for me converting from Windows XP for sure. However, it often ends up simply being lists of what it does and so leaves you trying to figure out the 'so what' or practical implications; as if the person wrote the manual too much from the Windows 7 spec and not enough from hard earned experience of the product itself. There are further hints of this when some things mentioned in the book don't seem to quite work in practice. Just one example: the links toolbar which, if you add anything to it, always complains that you are trying to run a shortcut and this might be dangerous: therefore rendering it practically useless - this issue simply isn't mentioned in the book.

Finally, if you do read it from cover to cover, I challenge you not to find the author's attitude of 'you click on this button and this appears... yippeee yippeee this is SOO great' grating at times - I often found myself commenting aloud 'big deal - just like in previous versions of Windows'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just got Windows 7 and want to know more, 20 July 2010
This review is from: Windows 7: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Just got a Windows 7 machine then these is ideal to show you the capabilities and tips and tricks to get you used to this new operating system in super quick time.
Aimed at someone just starting this is a great overview on what's on offer and some helpful hints and shortcuts along the way.
If you have been using Windows 7 for some time don't expect to be riveted by the book as a lot of this will be covering things you will have learnt along the way using Windows 7 but for the new user especially if you have gone from XP to 7 then its a good buy to get you up to speed much quicker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Dont........, 29 Nov 2011
By 
Don "nottmdon" (Nottingham, Notts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
.....Microsoft ship such information as this with every computer running windows 7? It could be on a disc or in their help files, then again their help files on win7 are absolutely useless as have their help files been with every edition of windows I have ever used. This book is a no nonsense approach to understanding and getting the best from windows 7 I could go on at great length but anyone who is computer competent or aspires to be wont need me to tell them that this purchase is worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spare time reading, 27 July 2011
This review is from: Windows 7: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
This book is extremely useful and written in a very friendly manner. It is by no means a 'story book' and contains plenty of tips on how to utilise a lot of the features in Windows 7. One can find all sorts of little tricks to use and see if they of use to the individual.

No doubt it is neccessary to re-study the various sections to get the best out of the information. This book will keep real fans interested for many hours, reading in their spare time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Windows 7 The missing manual, 19 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. Thomas Armour "arm987" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Windows 7: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Just what is needed.

A smashing reference for those new to win 7.

Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apt title., 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
What a sensible title for this book. Having no experience of Widows 7 when I bought a recon. pc with this OS I needed guidance. On-line help or disc manuals are no help at all if you cannot get your machine to function!
Well written, witty and very helpful; thank you David Pogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Terence Bowen (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
The missing manual series is, to my mind, the best series of books to help non techy people like me navigate their path through today's technology. Clearly laid out and written with humour they really are the manual that should have come with the product in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great manual, 24 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. R. G. Page (Canterbury) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
As with other manuals in this series it is a first class book. Well written and explicit. Easy to dip into as a manual should be. I cannot recommend it more highly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Future computer compatibility, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: Windows 7: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
As the computers keep on developing into faster and more complex systems, it is important to learn along, and this book shows how to get XP software to work with the Windows 7 operating system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful to understand what's going on., 26 July 2013
By 
J. Jones (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
It is essentially a reference manual - a bit hord to read from end to end. However, it does the job of teaching you how to make better use of the facilities in Windows 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windows 7: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals)
Windows 7: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) by David Pogue (Paperback - 3 April 2010)
£24.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews