Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True tales from an actor's life
In the Hollywood world, you rarely hear about failure stories. Everyone is very careful to project an image of success, even if they're wallowing in a deep depression. In that sense, reading this book is invaluable. It takes courage to break through the mold of what everyone around you is doing.

"Just a Geek" is a memoir that chronicles actor Wil Wheaton's...
Published on 20 Jan 2011 by Sofia Romualdo

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok if your a stark trek fan
He comes across as a likeable guy. I love the film stand by me. However the majority of the book is about him struggling to find work as an actor after stand by me and star trek (most of his adult life). It gets a bit repetitive after a while. Theres only so much "It was the biggest mistake of my life leaving star trek" that you can take without it getting monotonous and...
Published 21 months ago by W. B. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True tales from an actor's life, 20 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Just a Geek: Unflinchingly honest tales of the search for life, love, and fulfillment beyond the Starship Enterprise (Paperback)
In the Hollywood world, you rarely hear about failure stories. Everyone is very careful to project an image of success, even if they're wallowing in a deep depression. In that sense, reading this book is invaluable. It takes courage to break through the mold of what everyone around you is doing.

"Just a Geek" is a memoir that chronicles actor Wil Wheaton's uneasy relationship to Star Trek (easily the project he's most famous for, together with the movie Stand By Me), his decisions as a teenager that influenced the course of his life, and how it really feels like to be an actor in Hollywood (apparently it sucks). But it's really much more than that. It's about making a big decision in your life and being haunted by the ghost of Proving to Everyone It Was the Right Decision. How badly would it suck to feel that the most professionally successful days of your life were when you were a teenager, too immature and stubborn to appreciate it? How do you deal with that once you finally become a (pretty cool) adult and find that no one wants to give you a job?

The only gripe I have about this book is that, in my opinion, he wrote it too soon. It was published in 2004, and when the book ends, it feels like the story is just starting. Since that year, he has achieved a lot of success. It would have felt more complete had he waited a bit beyond his late twenties to write this. Still, recommended for Star Trek / Wil Wheaton fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lovely read, 14 Jan 2010
This review is from: Just a Geek: Unflinchingly honest tales of the search for life, love, and fulfillment beyond the Starship Enterprise (Paperback)
pretty much finished it in one sitting and believe that even if you arent a big star trek fan this would be interesting for you. this strips away the smoke and mirrors of hollywood and maneuveres around the realities of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frank, honest, open and totally fascinating, 1 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. M. Randall (Wakefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You have to feel sorry for Wil Wheaton at times. Here is a guy that seems to have been blighted by early success and fame only to be shot down to the ranks of just another actor in a field of thousands. This book covers a period in his life when he is reflecting on past glories and tells us of the inner emotional turmoil that he feels whilst trying to support his family and improve his Hollywood career. You really feel his pain at times when he recalls the many set-backs and rejections that he has faced.
The thing that impresses me most about this book is Wil's style of writing. It is frank and open, it peels back the veneer of an actors ego and exposes what he feels on the inside and you cannot help but feel for him as a result.
This is an excellent book, and I'd recommend it to geeks and non-geeks alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Set phasers to: stunning!, 3 Jan 2005
By A Customer
Whether you're a Star Trek TNG fan, a Stand By Me fan or simply a fan of the author himself, you owe it to yourself to buy this book. Wil's writing is deeply honest and self-deprecating. He's not afraid to show the reality of what it's like to be a struggling actor. Of having to make decisions that would mean the difference between the bills getting paid or losing his Star Trek credibility.
Ultimately, Just A Geek is a success story. It's about a man finding his place in world and allowing you to come along for the journey. I found myself laughing and crying in equal measure.
Thank you Wil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, genuine & well crafted read., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wil Wheaton is just a great human being. If you liked him before you read this, you'll love him when you've finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars surprising!, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a really good read! I liked stand by me, screamed shut up Wesley & love the cameos on Big Bang, but what a hoot of a book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read., 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just a Geek: Unflinchingly honest tales of the search for life, love, and fulfillment beyond the Starship Enterprise (Paperback)
I bought this book as a gift for a friend, but have to confess that I could not resist dipping in. The stories within are laugh out loud funny, touching and in some places just plain sob-worthy!. Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just a Geek: Unflinchingly honest tales of the search for life, love, and fulfillment beyond the Starship Enterprise (Paperback)
I come to this book as a former Star Trek fan of old; and more recently from having discovering Wil Wheatons obvious love for Dungeons and Dragons on You Tube. He makes any subject come alive with his deep enthusiasm and geekish humour. This is a book any gaming nerd or geek will simply adore.... I know I do :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I Really enjoyed this book - funny, enlightening and honest. Well worth a read for trekkies and non trekkies alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Aug 2012
As a next gen fan totally loved this book
I admired the brutal honesty of a man in a more mature time of life looking back and acknowledging his poor decisions in life as a youth
Really well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews