Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Improve my blog - make it more "fancy"
Many blogs are based on the WordPress - today's de facto standard for blogging platform. There are, usually, two ways of starting fun with WordPress - you are either so called Web nerd or totally green when it comes to all these Internet abbreviations like FTP, PHP, SFTP, SQL, and so on. If you are familiar with mentioned terms, you will benefit from half of the book. If...
Published on 26 July 2011 by mko

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not much to it and out of date.
Not a lot to it and out of date.
The example website doesn't exist, there are referrals to web tools that are no longer available.
The example theme is no longer supplied as standard by Wordpress, but can be downloaded. However the css code in the book doesn't match the code in the the theme, I guess it must have been updated!

Wish I hadn't bought...
Published on 16 Jan. 2013 by Carol Coles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Improve my blog - make it more "fancy", 26 July 2011
This review is from: Head First WordPress (Paperback)
Many blogs are based on the WordPress - today's de facto standard for blogging platform. There are, usually, two ways of starting fun with WordPress - you are either so called Web nerd or totally green when it comes to all these Internet abbreviations like FTP, PHP, SFTP, SQL, and so on. If you are familiar with mentioned terms, you will benefit from half of the book. If you are not familiar with Internet terminology but want to have your own blog - this book is perfect for you. Jeff does a good job when it comes to providing users with basic knowledge related to installation, configuration and management of the WordPress blog. He not only tells you how to configure it, but also provides you with information how to upload files, which FTP clients can you use - these notes are especially valuable for newcomers. But that's not all, if you are more experienced user you will probably find useful the chapters devoted to Look and Feel, Content Management and Securing the stuff. How did I benefit from the book - well, I am going to introduce some videos in near future and reading Video and Plug-ins definitely helped.

Side note, thanks to Jeff, I have found Sequel Pro - he mentions it while discussing SQL database access.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not much to it and out of date., 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head First WordPress (Paperback)
Not a lot to it and out of date.
The example website doesn't exist, there are referrals to web tools that are no longer available.
The example theme is no longer supplied as standard by Wordpress, but can be downloaded. However the css code in the book doesn't match the code in the the theme, I guess it must have been updated!

Wish I hadn't bought this and just watched youtube examples.

Just checked out amazon.com and it would seem that I'm not the only person having problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book Style, 14 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head First WordPress (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me with my Web Dev Honours year
The book very cutely makes it like reading a comic book (loads of pictures, quirky snippets)
Found the book very enjoyable and easy to read with great explanations, so much so that it did not even feel like reading a text manual on techie stuff!
Highly recommended to anyone with any interest in WordPress set-up and implementation.
You will definitely benefit big time from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful stuff, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head First WordPress (Paperback)
I bought this book as a gift to a friend who has never used Wordpress. It gives a step by step approach and encourages you to have a go. Definitely a beginners practice not theory book which was what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent book, 2 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. A. PICKUP (Highcliffe, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head First WordPress (Paperback)
Lots of information here to get you started. Quite well organised, a decent index as well. Reasonably priced and worth the money, though much information can be found off the web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Head First WordPress
Head First WordPress by Jeff Siarto (Paperback - 2 Aug. 2010)
£22.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews