Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, guiding you through the process of app creation without C/Cocoa
Having spent the past year learning HTML, CSS, JavaScript/jQuery, PHP and MySQL, when I came up with an idea for a smartphone app I was a bit daunted by the idea of learning not one, but at least three different programming languages in order to make my app work on the major smartphone platforms.

However, this book teaches you how to create apps using web...
Published on 3 May 2010 by Jonathon Scott

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly out of date. Otherwise would be great.
This book is very Badly out of date. Otherwise would be great. The chapters are laid out well, informative, but the parts I needed were COMPLETELY wrong and obsolete.
Published 20 months ago by William Donelson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, guiding you through the process of app creation without C/Cocoa, 3 May 2010
By 
Jonathon Scott (East Kilbride, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building iPhone Apps with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript: Making App Store Apps Without Objective-C or Cocoa (Paperback)
Having spent the past year learning HTML, CSS, JavaScript/jQuery, PHP and MySQL, when I came up with an idea for a smartphone app I was a bit daunted by the idea of learning not one, but at least three different programming languages in order to make my app work on the major smartphone platforms.

However, this book teaches you how to create apps using web scripting languages and then compile them into Object C using PhoneGap so that you can package your apps for sale in iTunes. PhoneGap offers this same functionality for several other platforms, too. The book is brief and if you have any experience coding dynamic websites, you will get through the examples in no time. The real areas this book stands out are 1) showing you how to add distinctive iPhone styling and gloss to your apps and 2) guiding you through the less-than-intuitive process of compiling them with PhoneGap.

All in all, it's a very clearly written book and all you need to create native C apps without knowing a single line of C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book to get you to build your 1st Native App, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building iPhone Apps with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript: Making App Store Apps Without Objective-C or Cocoa (Paperback)
the book is brilliant for getting you started to build your 1st native app in no time... read the book within a day and by next day, had my first native app working :-) had already explored phonegap online but lost interest due to lack of any straight forward & easy documentation on pre-requisite & step-by-step "how-to". this book gave just the right kick start in a very short span without wrecking my brain. 1 star less as i was really hoping that they had used jquerymobile instead of jqtouch, though it does not makes much of a difference. have already got another book especially for jquerymobile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly out of date. Otherwise would be great., 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building iPhone Apps with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript: Making App Store Apps Without Objective-C or Cocoa (Paperback)
This book is very Badly out of date. Otherwise would be great. The chapters are laid out well, informative, but the parts I needed were COMPLETELY wrong and obsolete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little ahead of its time ..., 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building iPhone Apps with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript: Making App Store Apps Without Objective-C or Cocoa (Paperback)
... but, nonetheless, an early insight into how one can produce reasonably comprehensive iOS Apps without Objective-C.

It's early days, still, for this approach to App development - so the solution is not as elegant as a pure Objective-C approach.

However, for those interested in what is likely a future direction for iOS App development, and willing to run a few experiments of their own in the interim, it's a very useful text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful guide, 9 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building iPhone Apps with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript: Making App Store Apps Without Objective-C or Cocoa (Paperback)
A very useful guide on how to combine HTML 5.0 with CSS and Javascript to build native-looking iPhone web applications, as an alternative to Objective C - Cocoa. Clarifies the pros and cons of the approach and illustrates how to make use of iPhone web browser's capabilities (e.g. accessing geo-location data). Good prior knowledge of HTML 5.0 and Javascript makes this book a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A healthy 4 stars. Really good step by step simple guide, just what i needed.

Content is not over facing, i see many books such as these and sometimes they can be a little over the top shall we say with words and content that don't really mean much to beginners.

A worthy ready if you're attempting simple early stage Web Apps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelle, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building iPhone Apps with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript: Making App Store Apps Without Objective-C or Cocoa (Paperback)
This book is brilliant for anyone starting to write apps with HTML, CSS and javascript. Written in a clear and concise manner with easy to follow examples. I managed to create my apps in next to no time. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent, 11 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Building iPhone Apps with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript: Making App Store Apps Without Objective-C or Cocoa (Paperback)
I have read this book from chapter 1 to 6 so far (7 in total), and have tested most of the code without any problems yet. This book is the first I have read on producing an iphone app, and it has probably saved me many many hours of messing about discovering kirks and work arounds. If you think you need a native app you may well change your mind after reading this book... highly recommended, worth every penny imo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 2 April 2010
By 
Andrew Booth (Warwick, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building iPhone Apps with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript: Making App Store Apps Without Objective-C or Cocoa (Paperback)
As HTML5 applications become ever more present for web and mobile, this book provides great inspiration. The detailed CSS and markup samples ensure you achieve that all important iPhone friendly look. And coverage of Phonegap gives confidence that using HTML has the flexibility to produce App Store deployable results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 31 July 2010
By 
Gregory Franklin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building iPhone Apps with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript: Making App Store Apps Without Objective-C or Cocoa (Paperback)
quick easy guide to making websites work well on iphones. Especially good for making the websites look like native iphone apps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews