Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a C++ programmer
Excellent book for a C/C++ programmer that's not too interested in learning Objective C and Cocoa. It starts by making an Objective C wrapper which is just enough to interface with iOS and pass along all the messages to the C++ backend for processing. Why should you do this? Portability. Approaching your game this way will enable you to port it much quicker and easier...
Published on 18 Jan 2011 by G. Gray

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the average
The book does a valiant attempt at providing an introduction to openGL ES programming on iPhone. Covers both ES 1.0 and ES 2.0.

This is the only book, this far, which at least attempts at giving some information on skeletal animation.
It seems there are no good books on this subject. This one is the very best so far, or at least the one which sucks the...
Published on 27 Jun 2010 by Michele


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the average, 27 Jun 2010
By 
Michele (Italy, Milan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: iPhone 3D Programming: Developing Graphical Applications with OpenGL ES (Paperback)
The book does a valiant attempt at providing an introduction to openGL ES programming on iPhone. Covers both ES 1.0 and ES 2.0.

This is the only book, this far, which at least attempts at giving some information on skeletal animation.
It seems there are no good books on this subject. This one is the very best so far, or at least the one which sucks the least.

It could have been developed a little, more, it is tiny. Whether or not it contains enough maths is a matter of personal taste, I would have liked certain concepts developed a little more.
This book tries very hard to give an "educational value" treatment of the matter, while being careful not to point at anything which could be translated in a useful context.
The author gives no idea on how to translate a rigid body model, muych less a skinned model with animation, import it and display it: everything is built either with parametric curves or straight from code.

This book teaches you 3d OpenGL techniques, but does not actually want that you learn how to produce anything which could be remotely useful on your own.
It is a lot better than clearly inferior title such as the official guide to Open GL ES2.0, which is completely useless, in comparison. This book will point you in sorts of the right direction and abandon you half way through.
About 50 - 100 pages more and this book could have been a lot better, almost perfect. Unfortunately this is not the case.

How do you import collada or wavefront? What is POD format? How do you go from your 3d animation program to iPhone? These questions go unanswered.
This book does not give a clue, rather, it inserts simplistic models vertex by vertex, directly in C code.
Motion capture animation was imported to c code source, clearly with a script, but the author just presents the final result and intentionally does not give any hint about how this was achieved:
Good only as starting point, but you are on your own.
Other books on the subject do not even start to point you in any direction.
This one lacks depth, i.e.: tries to simplify maths to a point the subject is not clear for someone who actually understands matrix algebra and its use in geometry, irritatingly so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a C++ programmer, 18 Jan 2011
By 
G. Gray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPhone 3D Programming: Developing Graphical Applications with OpenGL ES (Paperback)
Excellent book for a C/C++ programmer that's not too interested in learning Objective C and Cocoa. It starts by making an Objective C wrapper which is just enough to interface with iOS and pass along all the messages to the C++ backend for processing. Why should you do this? Portability. Approaching your game this way will enable you to port it much quicker and easier to Android, or even develop in tandem.

I've got a background in games development with OpenGL and DirectX so all the concepts were easy enough to understand, but I wouldn't recommend this to a beginner. I'd also suggest getting the Official Guide to OpenGL ES 2.0 to go with it as a complete reference to all OpenGL ES functions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and funny, 4 Oct 2010
By 
Zmippie (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: iPhone 3D Programming: Developing Graphical Applications with OpenGL ES (Paperback)
This book happened to be perfect for my current project, a game-like application built entirely in C++ and OpenGL, to be delivered on Apple's iOS platform. Already in chapter 1, Philip Rideout explains exactly which steps should be taken to build a barebones (even stripped down) OpenGL ES application on an iPhone device. He, luckily, restricts talking about Objective C to the bare minimum (glueing your app to iOS) and uses C++ throughout the book.

For me, the 17 GBP I spent were worth it easily on chapter 1 alone, but there's much more stuff covered in this book. Philip throws a lot of stuff into the mix which isn't neccessarily iPhone-specific, but points you to some really nice techniques in both OGL ES 1.1 and 2. The pace is fast and Philip doesn't always go into all the details, which is what I like (he treats his readers as smart people).

As an added bonus, the author is also one of the very few technical writers who manages to put some real humour into a technical book. Many make an attempt, but fail, but the jokes in "iPhone 3D Programming" made me look up if the author was british (he isn't, he's from Colorado).

To the other reviewer who's complaining about what is missing from the book: none of the things you mention are iPhone-specific. Even a very comprehensive book like Jason Gregory's "Game Engine Architecture" will not provide you with all the answers you're looking for. Face it: this industry requires you to go out and research the enormous amount of different subjects yourself, there is no "one book" that covers them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but needs more focus, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book provides tutorials for creating a few simple OpenGL ES apps for ios. Strangely the bulk of the sample code is in C++ rather than objective C, so it can't be considered as doing things the Apple way.
The book has too little description of the open gl primitives used in the code and too much discussion of other matters such as using C++ for vector maths, and other less relevent parts of the sample code.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, Concise, does what it says on the cover, 17 April 2012
This review is from: iPhone 3D Programming: Developing Graphical Applications with OpenGL ES (Paperback)
After going through about 5 programming books so far this year, i have to say this is up there with my Favorites of all time. The examples and tutorials are clear concise and well written making it a charm to go through chapters. It contains really good tricks for utilizing OpenGLES for all the platforms that have it on not just iOS. Id say its a good read to see how the tricks are done even if you have had a lot of exposure to OpenGLES. Also a great starting point if yoru an iOS developer and want to dig a little deeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Author is clearly a better programmer than me, 16 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Familiarity with multi dimension Matrix and vector maths are required to understand the first third of the book along with a solid understanding of advance C++ syntax such as templates. Since the book relies heavily on authors own templates/generics library of classes data type etc. For me personally this just adds an extra layer of complexity to an already difficult area. I prefer all the basic concepts to be explained using the actual primtives (float int etc) the gl routines requires. Buying the kindle version was a big mistake too. Advanced syntax becomes hard reading with kindles layout manager rearranging code samples especially if your from an objective c background. Theres something odd in the matrix maths too, you can get odd results using his library. Or maybe I'm just not understanding the code c++ wouldnt be my first choice for an object c based device. Not for the faint hearted. But lets face it I've bitten off more than I can chew here. the samples show he knows his stuff. my biggest problem is the syntax and poor kindle layout neither of which are the authors fault
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nice treatment, shame about the maths code, 4 Sep 2011
By 
A. Hunsley (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: iPhone 3D Programming: Developing Graphical Applications with OpenGL ES (Paperback)
This book shows how to develop in OpenGL ES1.1 and ES2.0 using C++ (popular in games and 3D programming) in conjunction with Objective C. Generally it's quite a nicely put together book.

However, it's quite disappointing to see that some very basic maths in the sample code is wrong and/or confused. For example, the Frustum matrix has a very simple typo with an incorrect entry which creates feasible looking but incorrect projections. But even more crucially, some basic maths operations have been implemented incorrectly: for example, both Matrix x Vector and Matrix x Matrix operations produce the wrong result. As far as I can tell, the author has over-compensated for the fact OpenGL takes matrices in column-major format.

So as a general book on how strategies for setting up OpenGL projects for ES1.1 and ES2.0 and related techniques, it's nice. But I'd advise any reader to not trust the sample code for real projects -- or you'll spend quite a few hours working out why things don't work as they should, only to track down bugs in the Matrix class etc. I think there's a lesson to be learned here for the author regarding the usefulness of unit tests!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book but lacks solid foundation, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: iPhone 3D Programming: Developing Graphical Applications with OpenGL ES (Paperback)
This book gives an indepth solid knowledge of OpenGL ES. What this book lacks is a solid treatment of Objective-C hierarchy. You simply can't get away with not a solid treatment of how methods are inherited. Ok you override for instance layerClass but please do explain what is going on in the code when you initialize more concretely and explain one by one the methods and the messages passed to them going up in the hierarchy. Draw some nice boxes of Class inheritance and how you end up in displaying what you want to. Simply reproducing what you did in a program is not enough for a programmer who wants to build his own application without depending on the code provided. I have yet to come up with this book (theory and practice).
Despite of this lack this book is still a nice introduction but needs accompanying books. Knowledge of Objective-C is crucial in order to understand what is going on no matter if you use it to just glue your application. Ok the book answers the question how in this aspect but not in a satisfactory degree the question why. If it did I would have put a 5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good attempt, useful if you already know OpenGL/C++, 8 Sep 2012
I read through this book when having to develop a 3D solution as part of a new project. It was arguably the best book on the matter -- at least back then, but is not great for 3D beginners. I believe it would work well if you were a seasoned developer in OpenGL and C++ to start with.

The book is clearly written by a C++ developer who tries to do as much as possible in C++ and avoid Objective C. As such I would not recommend it for anyone with an Objective C background looking into using OpenGL ES -- except if you also have significant experience with C++. There are a lot of unholy things on this planet, Objective C++ is up there with other monstrosities like Perl's XS.

The book does suffer from the learning curve for OpenGL ES 2.0 for a developer without OpenGL experience being ridiculously steep. It also suffers from being written some while ago, as OpenGL ES 1.1 should not be used at this point.

I would personally recommend learning OpenGL on the desktop first (for which there are many books and resources) and then go back to iOS and use the Open GL ES 2.0 Programming Guide to help you with finding out which parts can and cannot be used on mobiles. I know now that this would have saved me time in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is incorrectly titled., 29 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPhone 3D Programming: Developing Graphical Applications with OpenGL ES (Paperback)
The book should be called iPhone 3D programming for C++ programmers. For a C++ programmer wanting to know how to minimize the use of Objective C this would be a great book. However as I am an iOS ObjectiveC programmer seeking to increase my understanding of Open GL ES, to be asked to learn a completely new language is totally undesirable. I'll be sending it back to Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

iPhone 3D Programming: Developing Graphical Applications with OpenGL ES
25.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews