Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well thumbed must have for Mac converts
I'm a recent Mac convert and I needed this book. My new iMac didn't come with a manual, and whilst many things are intuitive, as a former PC user, I did need some help. What is great about this book is that it tells you what things are for as well as how to do them. It translates PC terminology into Mac-speak. It does take a few weeks to get completely familiar with...
Published on 9 May 2010 by J. V. Clahar

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for the true novice
I had hoped that this book would help a true first time novice to Imac, but if you don't already know imac terminology, even the index is difficult. You spend so much time looking at different items from the index before you find the topic you want
Published on 27 Mar 2011 by imac Baffled


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well thumbed must have for Mac converts, 9 May 2010
By 
J. V. Clahar "TussahSilk" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Switching to the Mac: The Missing Manual, Snow Leopard Edition (Paperback)
I'm a recent Mac convert and I needed this book. My new iMac didn't come with a manual, and whilst many things are intuitive, as a former PC user, I did need some help. What is great about this book is that it tells you what things are for as well as how to do them. It translates PC terminology into Mac-speak. It does take a few weeks to get completely familiar with how a Mac works, and I've had this book on my desk as a handy reference. The section on moving my iTunes is particularly well thumbed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing Manual has *missing* info, 21 Dec 2010
This review is from: Switching to the Mac: The Missing Manual, Snow Leopard Edition (Paperback)
D Pogue writes a truly excellent guide to the Mac.
BUT - a very large *but* - he does not begin where the beginner's actual needs are! Anyone coming from Windows to Mac - with the correct Missing Manual - will find he assumes you know so much more about Apple Mac than you possibly could. I spent ages fruitlessly looking for 'font book' for instance - so simple to any mac-user - but not to a newbie!
2] the other missing bit - which really is crucial - is a far better Index
There is plenty of helpful info here - you cannot grasp it when you are a new user - and unless you can cope with the total overload of trying to read the entire manual in search of what you need, you cannot find this info quickly and easily.
Looking at other reviews, it is clear that the 1-star ones are from people who have had this problem. so let's hope the publisher will employ a really thorough Indexer; and encourage David Pogue to do a first chapter which is a real 'beginner's guide'.

However - when you have explored your Mac, used it for a while and got used to some of the new ways of doing things, THEN come back to the Manual, and bless the day you bought it. Everything you want to know how to do *better* is there, waiting for you to have the questions ready to ask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start to the Mac, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: Switching to the Mac: The Missing Manual, Snow Leopard Edition (Paperback)
Being completely new to Apple Macs I was keen to get a guide to using them (finding comparable features to Windows - e.g. 'I know how to do this in Windows, how do I do this on a Mac?') so I could hit the ground running. It is well written and a bit jokey in places but it keeps the tone light. I have it on my desk as a 'ready reference' rather than it being a book you actually read through. I suppose you could Google most questions you may look up in this book but myself personally I like to look things up in a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for the true novice, 27 Mar 2011
I had hoped that this book would help a true first time novice to Imac, but if you don't already know imac terminology, even the index is difficult. You spend so much time looking at different items from the index before you find the topic you want
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Resource, 17 Mar 2010
By 
M. Price (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Switching to the Mac: The Missing Manual, Snow Leopard Edition (Paperback)
Worth a read if you're considering switching although there are numerous ways to learn how to switch - be nice if the book didn't make you look like a fool the first time you come to TRY and find the power button on a new iMac!!!

If you have an iPhone already i would suggest taking a look at the app store it'll cost you a couple of quid for the same item and you can make notes and annotation in it at the same time.

There does howver seem to be a couple of bits that don't work as described and haven't figured out why even after having a mac for 6 weeks. None the less a good book for newbies to Macs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Switching to the Mac: The Missing Manual, Snow Leopard Edition (Paperback)
This manual has a lot of reference points and is very useful for a newcomer to the Mac systems. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Conversion Tool, 4 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Switching to the Mac: The Missing Manual, Snow Leopard Edition (Paperback)
This text was somewhat less than inspiring .. I'm sure that the technical details within the text were fine, BUT when the text refers to colour (e.g. "..see the red button on your screen") but all of the images drafted / captured are NOT IN COLOUR, then much is lost !! Not to be recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well done!, 21 Dec 2010
This review is from: Switching to the Mac: The Missing Manual, Snow Leopard Edition (Paperback)
I have been using macs even before they were macs, that is, my first computer was an Apple IIc. This means that I used all the systems from PRO.DOS to Snow Leopard. Instructions from Apple have been dwingling from one system to the other, to the point that there are no instructions at all, while, on the other hand, the systems have become more and more sophisticated, with more and more possibilities, shortcuts and hiden treasures. Even an old user like little me does'nt know more than a thrid or a fourth of the possibilities. That's why this book is so useful. Besides explaining everything, even the things I did'nt know that were there, it does it clearly and with sense of humor- a great plus in a technical manual. Easy to read, even to a user who writes such bad english, it takes you to a much better use of the machine, fast and clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful, 30 Mar 2011
By 
Patrick Campbell (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Switching to the Mac: The Missing Manual, Snow Leopard Edition (Paperback)
This was my first Mac since an AppleMac about 30 years ago. Found this book very helpful in my transition From Windows. Also about 1/2 price compared with Comet etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Switching to the Mac: The Missing Manual, Snow Leopard Edition
17.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews