Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£16.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on 26 September 2010
Great set of tools for anybody who needs to get some creative juices flowing. But be careful - in case of doubt, test the tool before use, for example "anti-problem" did not seem to work very well for me. But the reason might not be in the tool, but in the fool who is using it :-). Buy it, read it, have fun with it, and as with any cook-book, go find your favorite recipes by cooking, not by reading.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on 5 August 2010
The book is essential toolbox for everyone want to facilitate a structured process of group collaboration towards innovation, problem solving and general brain storming.
i did recognise most of the tools.. sorry... "games" but there are a few new gems, even for an experienced facilitator like me.
this is a must book for any one who is new to group facilitation, learning and development or management development professional.
I warmly recommend to have it in your "tool box".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 4 April 2011
A perfect combination of theory and practise - the first third of the book explains the authors' beliefs and thoughts on the concept of serious collaborative gaming and the rest of the book really is a "playbook" putting these theories into practise. I strongly recommend anyone at literally any level of business and experience to buy this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
"A desire accomplished is sweet to the soul," -- Proverbs 13:9 (NKJV)

When I meet entrepreneurs, I find that most of them lack an understanding of creative processes and tools that they might use to create superior solutions. Almost all of them are too reluctant to involve other people, denying themselves access to deep reservoirs of knowledge, experience, and inspiration.

I think that Gamestorming will be an invaluable resource to those who want to accomplish more . . . but are unsure how to organize their efforts. While the book claims to be aimed at both advanced game practitioners and newbies, I think the book fits the newbie group much better than those with deep game experience and skill.

While the book deals with a lot of different conceptual issues, it's surprisingly weak on drawing on very large communities for insights . . . of the sort that various Web 2.0 technologies seek to engage. That's okay. An innovator can find information about such methods elsewhere.

I intend to tell my entrepreneurial students about this book. I'm sure it will help them.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 23 March 2011
I was bought this book for my birthday. I run a small development team and this is a fantastic book that really gets you thinking about how to get the most of people. Making brainstorming fun!

I look forward to trying more and more of the scenarios in the book.

Def worth a read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 10 September 2010
I would throughly recommend this book for all change agents and problem solvers. It is a compendium of activities, well laid out and easy to follow.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 26 July 2011
If you want to came up with something you usually have two options. Either you go with some kind of process (this way is usually good one if you want to have your back covered) or you go with unconventional methods (if you have enough money to cover your expenses in case of failure). The second approach is what Gamestorming is all about. First of all, you get the explanation of what playing game is all about. This is very important part, because it will give you arguments when it comes to convince other people to play a little bit instead of just "inventing" things through regular process of "thinking". It might be hard work to convince your co-workers to use this way of solving issues. Many people find "playing games" a perfect example of wasting the time. That's why it is very good idea to show how playing games makes your brain work different way. After explaining the concept of gamestorming authors go through various examples of games that might help you solve your problems. The collection of games is really impressive. There are almost 100 different games presented within the book. Games are divided into sections that help you solve particular issues. Opening games help you produce ideas quickly, exploring games help you go through the ideas you came up with, closing games help you to get into the end of the innovation process. Reading the book really is fun, however, mind one thing. Not everybody likes to play. If your colleagues do not like to play RPGs, they don't know what RTS is, and board games are just a mean of wasting time, gamestorming is probably not good for you. I agree that pushing people into "another worlds", with different rules might be good way of finding what hasn't been found yet, however - not everybody is ready for that. Not everybody likes to play. People simply feel very uncomfortable in this kind of situations. I think that book should be read by people who either have their own company or have team of really open minded co-workers - people who like to explore alternative ways of finding solutions. I find this book very inspiring, but, you know, I have graduated from philosophy (among the others) and studying philosophy is by itself similar to playing with ideas and exploring new worlds
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 6 July 2011
This is a good, solid book containing many advanced brainstorming techniques. The methods are clearly explained with examples and context. Many of the techniques are covered in other books for trainers but there are some good new ones. If the authors had called this 'Brainstorming' or 'Games for Trainers' I am sure that it would not have done so well. Their innovation was to come up with a new name - Gamestorming. There is a lesson there.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 30 May 2012
This is a very practical book. Each technique for engaging colleagues or clients in a brainstorming session is laid out in simple steps over a paragragh or two. Each technique has a fun name too, which makes it easier to spontaneously remember... which in a live work shop situation, is a great help. The prose is a tad stilted in places, in other words I felt it lacked flow in a few chapters but it's so focused on practical tips (each one being almost stand alone) that it doesn't matter. If your job or role involves bringing a team together, instigating change or creating growth through the introduction of new ideas / innovation, this is good book. You'll pick up some techniques you can apply, quickly and easily. And you don't need to be a management consultant to feel you can facilitate a workshop.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
on 21 September 2010
Bought the paperback, after trying the Kindle sample and suspecting it was defective.

My 4 star rating is for the paperback, which is full of interesting ideas and really inspires application and further exploration.

Comparison with the paperback confirmed the defects in the Kindle sample.
The content relies heavily on graphics, and every image was replaced
by a seemingly random choice from somewhere else in the book !!!
Clearly this was far more confusing than the graphics just being lost.

As a long-time fan of O'Reilly technical books I'm extremely disappointed by such a shoddy product conversion.
Such gross defects suggest that the Kindle sample wasn't reviewed at all.

This has severely dented my confidence in Kindle editions of anything except simple, linear, text-only books (eg novels).
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.