Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb cook-book
Great set of tools for anybody who needs to get some creative juices flowing. But be careful - in case of doubt, test the tool before use, for example "anti-problem" did not seem to work very well for me. But the reason might not be in the tool, but in the fool who is using it :-). Buy it, read it, have fun with it, and as with any cook-book, go find your favorite recipes...
Published on 26 Sep 2010 by ing.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay but not great . Some good ideas . Nothing really new
Quite clear but unrealistic games . Ideas are good but putting into practice difficult. No great innovative ideas came up
Published 20 months ago by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb cook-book, 26 Sep 2010
By 
ing. (Praha 4, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gamestorming: A Playbook for Innovators, Rulebreakers, and Changemakers (Paperback)
Great set of tools for anybody who needs to get some creative juices flowing. But be careful - in case of doubt, test the tool before use, for example "anti-problem" did not seem to work very well for me. But the reason might not be in the tool, but in the fool who is using it :-). Buy it, read it, have fun with it, and as with any cook-book, go find your favorite recipes by cooking, not by reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tool for innovation facilitator, 5 Aug 2010
This review is from: Gamestorming: A Playbook for Innovators, Rulebreakers, and Changemakers (Paperback)
The book is essential toolbox for everyone want to facilitate a structured process of group collaboration towards innovation, problem solving and general brain storming.
i did recognise most of the tools.. sorry... "games" but there are a few new gems, even for an experienced facilitator like me.
this is a must book for any one who is new to group facilitation, learning and development or management development professional.
I warmly recommend to have it in your "tool box".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference Book, 4 April 2011
This review is from: Gamestorming: A Playbook for Innovators, Rulebreakers, and Changemakers (Paperback)
A perfect combination of theory and practise - the first third of the book explains the authors' beliefs and thoughts on the concept of serious collaborative gaming and the rest of the book really is a "playbook" putting these theories into practise. I strongly recommend anyone at literally any level of business and experience to buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars have fun while creating great things, 26 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamestorming: A Playbook for Innovators, Rulebreakers, and Changemakers (Paperback)
If you want to came up with something you usually have two options. Either you go with some kind of process (this way is usually good one if you want to have your back covered) or you go with unconventional methods (if you have enough money to cover your expenses in case of failure). The second approach is what Gamestorming is all about. First of all, you get the explanation of what playing game is all about. This is very important part, because it will give you arguments when it comes to convince other people to play a little bit instead of just "inventing" things through regular process of "thinking". It might be hard work to convince your co-workers to use this way of solving issues. Many people find "playing games" a perfect example of wasting the time. That's why it is very good idea to show how playing games makes your brain work different way. After explaining the concept of gamestorming authors go through various examples of games that might help you solve your problems. The collection of games is really impressive. There are almost 100 different games presented within the book. Games are divided into sections that help you solve particular issues. Opening games help you produce ideas quickly, exploring games help you go through the ideas you came up with, closing games help you to get into the end of the innovation process. Reading the book really is fun, however, mind one thing. Not everybody likes to play. If your colleagues do not like to play RPGs, they don't know what RTS is, and board games are just a mean of wasting time, gamestorming is probably not good for you. I agree that pushing people into "another worlds", with different rules might be good way of finding what hasn't been found yet, however - not everybody is ready for that. Not everybody likes to play. People simply feel very uncomfortable in this kind of situations. I think that book should be read by people who either have their own company or have team of really open minded co-workers - people who like to explore alternative ways of finding solutions. I find this book very inspiring, but, you know, I have graduated from philosophy (among the others) and studying philosophy is by itself similar to playing with ideas and exploring new worlds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Structure and Choices for Organizing Creative Tasks, 11 Jun 2011
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Gamestorming: A Playbook for Innovators, Rulebreakers, and Changemakers (Paperback)
"A desire accomplished is sweet to the soul," -- Proverbs 13:9 (NKJV)

When I meet entrepreneurs, I find that most of them lack an understanding of creative processes and tools that they might use to create superior solutions. Almost all of them are too reluctant to involve other people, denying themselves access to deep reservoirs of knowledge, experience, and inspiration.

I think that Gamestorming will be an invaluable resource to those who want to accomplish more . . . but are unsure how to organize their efforts. While the book claims to be aimed at both advanced game practitioners and newbies, I think the book fits the newbie group much better than those with deep game experience and skill.

While the book deals with a lot of different conceptual issues, it's surprisingly weak on drawing on very large communities for insights . . . of the sort that various Web 2.0 technologies seek to engage. That's okay. An innovator can find information about such methods elsewhere.

I intend to tell my entrepreneurial students about this book. I'm sure it will help them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 23 Mar 2011
By 
Dominic (Digbeth,, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gamestorming: A Playbook for Innovators, Rulebreakers, and Changemakers (Paperback)
I was bought this book for my birthday. I run a small development team and this is a fantastic book that really gets you thinking about how to get the most of people. Making brainstorming fun!

I look forward to trying more and more of the scenarios in the book.

Def worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource for problem solving, 10 Sep 2010
This review is from: Gamestorming: A Playbook for Innovators, Rulebreakers, and Changemakers (Paperback)
I would throughly recommend this book for all change agents and problem solvers. It is a compendium of activities, well laid out and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful resource for workshop leaders, 6 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamestorming: A Playbook for Innovators, Rulebreakers, and Changemakers (Paperback)
This is a good, solid book containing many advanced brainstorming techniques. The methods are clearly explained with examples and context. Many of the techniques are covered in other books for trainers but there are some good new ones. If the authors had called this 'Brainstorming' or 'Games for Trainers' I am sure that it would not have done so well. Their innovation was to come up with a new name - Gamestorming. There is a lesson there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book: INSPIRING; KindleConversion: BROKEN, 21 Sep 2010
This review is from: Gamestorming: A Playbook for Innovators, Rulebreakers, and Changemakers (Paperback)
Bought the paperback, after trying the Kindle sample and suspecting it was defective.

My 4 star rating is for the paperback, which is full of interesting ideas and really inspires application and further exploration.
----------------------------

Comparison with the paperback confirmed the defects in the Kindle sample.
The content relies heavily on graphics, and every image was replaced
by a seemingly random choice from somewhere else in the book !!!
Clearly this was far more confusing than the graphics just being lost.

As a long-time fan of O'Reilly technical books I'm extremely disappointed by such a shoddy product conversion.
Such gross defects suggest that the Kindle sample wasn't reviewed at all.

This has severely dented my confidence in Kindle editions of anything except simple, linear, text-only books (eg novels).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crossing Boundaries, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: Gamestorming: A Playbook for Innovators, Rulebreakers, and Changemakers (Paperback)
The Game Storming literature is something wich every CEO, CFO should pay attention carefully. This matter alowed me to look at new subjects with permanent differente glasses and eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gamestorming: A Playbook for Innovators, Rulebreakers, and Changemakers
£13.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews