Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just passed PMP with this as main source
Well structured with a good mix of reading, example exam questions and other tasks. Good practical language and examples, all in all an excellent foundation builder towards the PMP exam. Use the PMBOK guide in addition and your own experience and do more difficult exams online in order to pass PMP.
A couple of errors in exam answers in the book takes it down from 5...
Published on 2 Jan 2012 by Stein Ostby

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit cheesy american in it's layout and text... reminds me of those books for dummies on subjects you can buy...
If you have the money and the time, then fine, it's ancillary to the PMBOK book that you need to focus on... this book would do someone with littel project experience.
Published 17 months ago by CD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just passed PMP with this as main source, 2 Jan 2012
This review is from: Head First PMP: A Brain-Friendly Guide to Passing the Project Management Professional Exam (Paperback)
Well structured with a good mix of reading, example exam questions and other tasks. Good practical language and examples, all in all an excellent foundation builder towards the PMP exam. Use the PMBOK guide in addition and your own experience and do more difficult exams online in order to pass PMP.
A couple of errors in exam answers in the book takes it down from 5 to 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for passing the PMP exam, 7 Sep 2011
This review is from: Head First PMP: A Brain-Friendly Guide to Passing the Project Management Professional Exam (Paperback)
This was a fantastic book to accompany the PMBOK guide. I have just passed the PMP exam first time - and prior to syllabus change in Aug and this book was extremely useful. The hints, reminders, questions and of course the sample questions in the back (which are also available for free on the web !) were very apt for the actual exam. The actual exam questions were more like those in this book. The best way I'd found was to understand each of the 42 process, what were they trying to achieve and their objectives from the PMBOK guide, learn the inputs, tools & techniques and outputs, then supplement with this book.
Yes, there are a couple of errors in the book, but they are easy to find. Also, this version was printed in grey scale. If they had printed some parts of it in colour then it will be easier for the brain to remember some of the images !

A great book for passing the exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helped me to pass exam without get bored, 21 Feb 2013
By 
U. B. Topal "Basak" (Boston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head First PMP: A Brain-Friendly Guide to Passing the Project Management Professional Exam (Paperback)
I loved that book because it is fun and teaches concepts very easily with great examples. I studied with book 2 hours for 10 days and it was enough! Thank u!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 20 July 2012
This review is from: Head First PMP: A Brain-Friendly Guide to Passing the Project Management Professional Exam (Paperback)
I passed my PMP exam today. I could not go on reading Endless lists from Rita Mulcahy book and then switched to Headfirst. This book does not promote rote memorizing, but more practicing in real scenarios.
It is not a concise book. There are some chapters that probably need more information, such as Procurement management.
The only con is they have not updated the book for recent exam changes.
To be fair, I did practice Rita's exam questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Passed my PMP thanks to Head First!, 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head First PMP: A Brain-Friendly Guide to Passing the Project Management Professional Exam (Paperback)
I loved this book and read it 3 times in 4 months. This book is the opposite of Rita Mulcahy's (and significantly cheaper!) - Unlike Rita's, Head First makes you feel like anyone could pass the PMP if they read this book. I don't memorize or test well (particularly in multiple choice exams), so I really credit my success on the PMP exam to Head First because it uses lots of strategies to help you learn things without rote memorization. That being said, it is a BIG book and not ideal for review. Once I had read the book a few times, I needed other tools for review. I scored 84% on the PMP sample exam at the back of the Head First book and felt the questions were good preparation for the real exam. Having used both Head First and Rita Mulcahy's book, I would definitely recommend Head First above all else!

See my full PMP Lessons Learned here:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great way to learn the subject, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head First PMP: A Brain-Friendly Guide to Passing the Project Management Professional Exam (Paperback)
Yes, it's a great way to learn the subject. I'll advise any starter to read the book twice. Good worth for the money spent. Just few typos in the second part, so look for the following edition (I've got the 2009 one)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit cheesy american in it's layout and text... reminds me of those books for dummies on subjects you can buy..., 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head First PMP: A Brain-Friendly Guide to Passing the Project Management Professional Exam (Paperback)
If you have the money and the time, then fine, it's ancillary to the PMBOK book that you need to focus on... this book would do someone with littel project experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Head First PMP: A Brain-Friendly Guide to Passing the Project Management Professional Exam
43.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews