Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent - accessible machine learning
This is excellent - forget the marketing rubbish about making better web 2.0 apps: It is all about machine learning - the science of how Amazon and others can make recommendations based on the ordering patterns of others.

The difference between it and other texts on this machine learning, is how accessible it is, and how apt the data sets it chooses are...
Published on 4 Dec 2007 by B. OSullivan

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brief introduction to machine learning from a practical and non-mathematical perspective
This book is essentially a brief introduction to the topic of machine learning from a practical and non-mathematical perspective using code examples written in Python.

The intended audience for this book are developers with no background in machine learning but wanting to use machine learning techniques in their projects. Newcomers to the topic of machine...
Published on 11 May 2009 by J.H.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent - accessible machine learning, 4 Dec 2007
By 
B. OSullivan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Programming Collective Intelligence: Building Smart Web 2.0 Applications (Paperback)
This is excellent - forget the marketing rubbish about making better web 2.0 apps: It is all about machine learning - the science of how Amazon and others can make recommendations based on the ordering patterns of others.

The difference between it and other texts on this machine learning, is how accessible it is, and how apt the data sets it chooses are. Machine learning is an active area of research, and I was surprised that this book even covers kernel methods.

It generates a real appetite to learn more about the theory of machine learning: Which you will need, as most machine learning text books are mathematically tough going and dry.

I only wish I could skip the day job for a week and study this book from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 22 Oct 2008
By 
M. Murdoch "erratic reader" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Programming Collective Intelligence: Building Smart Web 2.0 Applications (Paperback)
I was a beginner in both python and general programming when I got this book together with a book on how to use Python in general.

I actually found this book more useful than the general Python book as the use of examples is a much better way of learning (in my opinion). The examples introduced get more and more complex through the book which then forces you to learn about those programs in order to understand what they've done.

The fact that it exposes you to live web based data from the beginning is very useful indeed. My only wish would be that the formatting would be a bit clear. Python seems to thrive on using indentation rather than brackets and it can be difficult to see exactly which level of indentation is being used.

You need a ruler to use it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and inspiring, 13 Mar 2011
By 
R. Whitehead "author of 'Leading a Software D... (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Collective Intelligence: Building Smart Web 2.0 Applications (Paperback)
This book covers algorithms that elsewhere are treated as artificial intelligence, but here are dealt with very rapidly and in a programmer's mindset. It's great to see ideas that have been considered "academic", such as neural networks, treated as no more frightening than other algorithms such as sorting. The description of how to use live web site APIs is also a great feature of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly outstanding book, 29 Mar 2008
This review is from: Programming Collective Intelligence: Building Smart Web 2.0 Applications (Paperback)
This book is definitely worth having on your bookshelf. It breaks down one of the most complex and demanding subjects into delightful, succinct and digestible pieces.

Having dredged my way through similar books in the past, I wasn't expecting too much, but Programming Collective Intelligence is remarkable. I found this book gripping; completing each example was very rewarding, and has now got me hooked on learning more.

I ended up working my way through the entire book, and really feel that it was time well spent. I now feel that I actually understand the concepts and algorithms surrounding machine learning/AI/data mining, and as a bonus have become familiar with a huge number of web 2.0 APIs.

The source code is almost impeccable. Most programming books falter on sloppy and/or incomplete code, but Programming Collective Intelligence is well explained and has the complete Python code written in the book, as well as being available for download. I was able to do every example without any major problems, despite having never used the Python language before.

Well written & diagrammed, with good examples and wonderful explanations: this a fantastic book, and to be highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good introduction, 11 Sep 2008
This review is from: Programming Collective Intelligence: Building Smart Web 2.0 Applications (Paperback)
This book really does an awesome job at guiding you through the process of using collective intelligence in your own applications. For me, a bit more explanation on the math would be nice, but if i just pay attention it still seems to stick, so it's not crucial.
just, well, get it! it's good

Pete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brief introduction to machine learning from a practical and non-mathematical perspective, 11 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Collective Intelligence: Building Smart Web 2.0 Applications (Paperback)
This book is essentially a brief introduction to the topic of machine learning from a practical and non-mathematical perspective using code examples written in Python.

The intended audience for this book are developers with no background in machine learning but wanting to use machine learning techniques in their projects. Newcomers to the topic of machine learning may find the book useful but those with a background in maths or machine learning will likely find the book to have a somewhat limited appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to machine learning, 17 Dec 2013
By 
Joshua Newnham "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Collective Intelligence: Building Smart Web 2.0 Applications (Paperback)
Was one of the first books I read related to Machine Learning - was a lucky guess - it has helped bring me up to speed and made the other books a lot easier to comprehend. Very practical and comprehensive, giving you (the reader) a good grounding in the subject (as a practitioner)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Lots of mistakes!, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Collective Intelligence: Building Smart Web 2.0 Applications (Paperback)
The book is very short, concise, cryptic sometimes and it contains lots of mistakes (in the code and typos in the text content).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Foundation, 10 Feb 2012
By 
Dr. Edward Austin "booboo" (Somewhere dark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Collective Intelligence: Building Smart Web 2.0 Applications (Paperback)
For AI idiots like myself this was a great and non condescending introduction.

Although Python based I found the algorithms clear enough to translate into Erlang without much issue and if you have any functional exposure this should not be difficult.

I'm math phobic but this book really generated my interest with its clarity and applicative nature to everyday problems.

I took this over the competing CI book as that was heavily Java oriented - why do some people mangle Java to any possible task?

The elegance of Python to AI problems really shone through here!

Great Book and not too long either - but certainly not short on knowledge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Machine Learning explained, 24 July 2011
By 
Md Sykora - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Programming Collective Intelligence: Building Smart Web 2.0 Applications (Paperback)
A few people complained about there beeing too little maths in the book, and I would agree. Instead the author explains or at least tries to explain by example and uses python code which can be easily and interactively programed since it is an in-time scripting interpreted language and this for me worked. In fact the author gives the nicest SVM explanation I have come across, and I found that the book reads like a story, so its an entertaining and enjoyable read.

Has a lot of info and the author clearly knows a lot, a wide scope and even prediction markets are covered. So not that bad at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Programming Collective Intelligence: Building Smart Web 2.0 Applications
21.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews