Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£26.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2007
As someone making the transition straight from Windows 98 to Vista, this book has been an enormous help. Prepared by David Pogue and a team of expert writers, the book is written in a highly readable style and is full of information and tips. Without this missing manual, and the reading I did of it in preparation for V-day, my first hands-on encounters with Vista (starting yesterday) would have been much more daunting. I look forward to further explorations, this manual in hand. In all, highly recommended.
0Comment47 of 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
Windows Vista: The Missing Manual
An excellent volume once again from the people who made life easy for us when Windows Millennium was state-of-the-art!
It is no mean achievement to produce a manual that becomes invaluable for the user be he or she an absolute beginner or a seasoned Windows user. Clear text, copious illustrations, fresh format - all that makes for a first class product.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2008
Having previously bought "Windows XP Home Edition" by the same author/publisher I have found this to be equally useful.
Shame Mr Bill Gates doesn't spend some of his profits providing the same information with his products !
I highly recommend this book.
0Comment30 of 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2009
I found this book an excellent well written guide. It was easy to read and fully explained the technical side in clear understandable non technical words without too much jargon. Although I have used computers for many years and initially managed the change to Vista I feal that I will be able to get much more out of it now with the help of this manual. I would not have missed it.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2010
I have been borrowing this manual from our local library for several months and found I couldn't do without it.So the logical step was to buy it.As the forward states,this is the manual that should have been in the box with the PC.It reads like a book, is both funny and informative and gives confidence to the user.I learnt many simple ways to operate the keyboard and programmes and when things did go wrong-voila! just reach for the manual and 90% of the time it offered a fix without the need to panic!It also opens the way to all the amazing things you can do with a PC,that I,for one didn't know existed.All in all a great buy and a good price from Amazon.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2009
A great manual, very helpful and well laid out.
Very suited to the transition from XP to Vista
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2009
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0596528272/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_title

Very good manual. Covers everything and includes some more technical info if you're not a beginner, or you're interested to add to your knowledge. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
An excellent book, just wish I'd bought it years ago. A friend recommended the Missing Manuals series to me and I've found it most informative and easy to understand.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Veryhelpful guide to Windows Vista which explains a lot of things I have spent hours trying to find out. Super.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
This book is a god send, easy to follow ,makes sense,I highly recommend Windows Vista The Missing Years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.