Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best HTML reference I have found
OK, it's not a teaching book. It's not meant to be, it's an O'Reilly book. They have sensible titles like "Learning (subject)" on their teaching books. This is a guide, a reference, as it says on the cover.
And it is the best on the market. By far.
Sure, the Kumquat joke gets old fast. But I've bought all three versions of this, and carry the rip-out...
Published on 7 Nov 2000 by Dewi Morgan

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good reference let down by the index
This is an excellent introduction to HTML 4.01. However, the XHTML 1.0 elements are less well covered and XHTML 1.1 is mentioned only in a few paragraphs. Although, to be fair, the differences from XHTML 1.0 are slight and only of interest to a few.

However, my main complaint is that the index is almost of no use for locating actual tags and their usage in the...
Published on 1 April 2008 by D. Knox


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best HTML reference I have found, 7 Nov 2000
By 
Dewi Morgan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HTML: Definitive Guide (Paperback)
OK, it's not a teaching book. It's not meant to be, it's an O'Reilly book. They have sensible titles like "Learning (subject)" on their teaching books. This is a guide, a reference, as it says on the cover.
And it is the best on the market. By far.
Sure, the Kumquat joke gets old fast. But I've bought all three versions of this, and carry the rip-out reference card from the back of the book around with me.
I am often asked to tackle non-trivial aspects of HTML, where IE can do something, but NS cannot (or vice versa), and I would not feel confident doing so without this book.
The reference card is a wonderful idea! Do more of these, O'Reilly!
The in-depth indexes are also invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what the title says, 10 April 2000
This review is from: HTML: Definitive Guide (Paperback)
Form: large paperback; chapters divided into many headings and subheadings, with references to other (sub)headings in a deliberate attempt to imitate the HTML format; screen captures in B/W. Target audience: anyone wanting to know anything about HTML. Invaluable for beginners, a useful reference guide for the advanced HTML programmer. Content: all known HTML tags, including obsolete ones. Frames, imbedding multimedia files, CSS, the difference between the two major browsers Netscape and Internet Explorer, the basics of Javascript and cgi scripts, a brief chapter on dynamic HTML. The author, following the HTML 4.0 standard, is obliged to constantly inform the reader that the older "hard" tags used by the earliest browsers are to be replaced by CSS, meaning anything under a fast 486 will become useless for netsurfing; but that's just the messager bringing the bad news, and the book lists all tags whether allowed under the new standard or not, as the main purpose is to inform. Personal reaction: I was sent this book by mistake, but was so pleased with it that I bought it. It reads pleasantly, as the author breaks up the information in digestible pieces (and also frequently repeat blocks of information, again to imitate the HTML format) and has a sense of humour. It doesn't go very deeply into cgi scripts and other specialized stuff, but is more than enough for anyone wanting to set up a simple webpage, and a very good and thorough starting point for anyone who wants more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Book in a web page designer's tool box, 12 July 2001
This book couldn't have been more perfect for me. I was on the brink of understanding HTML in depth before buying this book. After reading I am now more fluent and more confident in what I use in my pages. I have a more wide spread knowledge of what I can use in my pages with a better understanding of the standards that uniform the web. I am now creating pages to standards - not to browsers.
This book has given me a very opening and logical insight into XHTML and XML.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You want to know HTML? Get this book...., 8 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: HTML: Definitive Guide (Paperback)
Musciano and Kennedy's book, is an excellent reference for any Web Author wanting to understand HTML. The Author's explain the HTML 4.0 standard and browser specific extensions that can be used in today's 2 most popular browsers (Netscape and Internet Explorer). If you're going to purchase any one book on HTML this is a definite winner. It includes an overview of Javascript and applet usage and contains detail of using frames and tables to enhance web design - also has a useful reference card in the back of the book which can me removed for ease of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book to start to learn HTML, 28 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: HTML: Definitive Guide (Paperback)
This book is well written. It should be used by other computer authors as a template. The English is clear and concise. The examples well documented. The cross referencing enables the reader to get an immediate overview. My sons and I have used many computer books to self-learn and we all agree this is "The Best Ever". Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A non-patronizing guide to modern html, 4 Sep 2001
By A Customer
"HTML and XHTML: the definitive guide" will give you a thorough grounding in creating web pages. XHTML, by the way, is just HTML5 - the more mature version of the whizzy dynamic HTML4.
This book does not patronize - not that it's not "for idiots". It doesn't have cartoons, or annoying icons saying "kule stuff" either.
What it does do is to take you through the process of creating websites - from your first steps through to the deep end of HTML. Each element is detailed with sufficient examples; nothing is glossed over. Particular strengths are
are the trickier areas - its treatment of forms, GET and POST, frames, CSS and tables are very clear.
The book is careful to delineate what it deals with and what it doesn't. Although it touches upon Java, Javascript, Applets and server technology, these tend to be pointers to the reader - saying what the various things do, evaluating the options and pointing you to an O'Reilly book to buy!
"Kule stuff" includes the chapter on XML (should be on your resume!), "tips, tricks and hacks", the tag reference summary and some rather excellent history on the internet and all the various parties that try and work together to make it work. It's a neat book - personally, I'm an XML-type who's having to reverse-engineer my know-how down to HTML and it hits the mark for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good reference for those with knowledge of HTML, 6 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: HTML: Definitive Guide (Paperback)
This book is very useful. Should you need a book that has all aspects of HTML covered then this is your book. None of the descriptions used are beyond anyone except the completely uninitiated. My only criticism is that other (shorter) books will help you learn the basics more quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class, 25 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: HTML: Definitive Guide (Paperback)
I've bought my fair share of books about HTML, and it has to be said that this is the best by far. A clear, well written book with plenty of well thought-out examples that are easy to apply. The inclusion of appendices concludes an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very impressive!, 20 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: HTML: Definitive Guide (Paperback)
This book has been constantly sat wide open on my desk; it's great! I'm a complete beginner at HTML but I found this book easy to read and very understandable. Its clear layout, diagrams and use of examples point you in the right direction. You'll be able to start writing webpages within the hour and make them look amazingly professional. This book was definitely a worth while investment! If you are a beginner then this is the book for you - it's a complete guide with everything you'll ever want to know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive doesn't even begin to describe this book, 11 Mar 2001
By 
Neil Adams (Reading, Berks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
After searching through various books and online resources I've not found a better target for my HTML queeries. Not a book for absolute beginners, or a book that holds your hand through setting up "Your first web site". It is perfect for any one who wants to know, "Now, how did that tag work again..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HTML & XHTML: The Definitive Guide
HTML & XHTML: The Definitive Guide by Bill Kennedy (Paperback - 27 Oct 2006)
24.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews