Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book, 4 Mar 2008
By 
Neil O'Brien (Áth Cliath, Eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cisco IOS Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
This really is a great book for anyone working with Cisco Equipment. Even the most experienced Cisco Engineer will find something in this book that they didn't know but could do with knowing. It's full of practical info that can always come in useful.

I'm currently studying for my CCNP and although this book is not directed at exam candidates, I find it a use full tool to just pick up, open on any page and learn something you didn't know but will some day need to. It gives real world examples of exam related (and non-exam related) topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cisco ISO Cookbook, 6 Feb 2009
By 
E. Pennie "Ed Pennie" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cisco IOS Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Excellent reference book. Always dipping into it for guides and HOW TO's.
Woudl recommend to anyone starting out with Cisco kit or who uses it infrequently.
Found some of the scripting (pearl etc) daunting as this is not something i know, so was unable to do some of the automated tasks to look after my infrastructure.
But provided alot of info to help standardise an eratic setup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best IOS guide bar none, 4 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cisco IOS Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I just thought I would let anybody know that this book is an invaluable tool when it comes to configuring Cisco devices.
OK it may not cover everything but, it sure covers a hell of a lot.
It is a must for all Cisco engineers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot be faulted, 9 April 2008
By 
PC-B (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cisco IOS Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
The breadth and depth of the information in this book is staggering. The authors clearly have massive knowledge and experience, and the style is very readable even where the subject matter is arcane. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exxcellent, 11 Dec 2007
By 
E. F. Odetunde "omode kawefunmi" (Uk . Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cisco IOS Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
This book is really well written ,the authors know their stuff and clearly have a lot of experience, each recipe (configuration example ) is backed with background information and best practices and also problems that could occur.

It also includes Perl scripts to accomplish some daily management tasks like archiving configuration , gathering Ip addresses amongst others

An essential addition to every Network engineers library .

Eniola Odetunde
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Cisco Cookbook, 26 Oct 2007
This review is from: Cisco IOS Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for a reasonably experienced Cisco Engineer!
I work for a company that provides managed network services and I find this book invaluable.
I am constantly seeing a wide variety of complex configurations, requirements and media types, well above the CCNP course material.
The book contains lots of real-world solutions that you will find useful both in the field and at design level.
The solutions are clear and well explained.

Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IOS, 2 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cisco IOS Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Awesome book, has all the possible commands you can think of for the Cisco IOS, and it is not just a command book, it also teaches you the basics of all the commands, example, in the BGP section, it includes information on how and why BGP neighborships will form, and the commands that will be required to complete this task, and also explaining what each command does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cisco IOS Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly))
Cisco IOS Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) by Ian Brown (Paperback - 1 Jan 2007)
£38.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews