Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for a REAL FUN chemistry book
The author, Mr. Thompson, obviously loves the subject, and yes, darn it, chemistry should be "fun", a little dangerous and educational.
I share the author's lament over the passing of a "proper" chemistry set. The one I had as a kid contained all the "no-no's" (or should I say KNO, KNO3!)
In that day you could go to the chemist and buy all manner of chemicals...
Published on 1 Aug 2008 by G. Bailey

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was looking for something a little different
I've often thought it would be fun to write a book titled "How to make the chemicals the government doesn't want you to have". Something along the lines of improvising a means of heating salt to its melting point and then shoving a couple of electrodes from a car battery in it.
When I saw comments in the review about smelting your own copper and forensic tests I...
Published on 16 Aug 2010 by David Getling


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for a REAL FUN chemistry book, 1 Aug 2008
By 
G. Bailey (the other LA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments: All Lab, No Lecture (DIY Science) (Paperback)
The author, Mr. Thompson, obviously loves the subject, and yes, darn it, chemistry should be "fun", a little dangerous and educational.
I share the author's lament over the passing of a "proper" chemistry set. The one I had as a kid contained all the "no-no's" (or should I say KNO, KNO3!)
In that day you could go to the chemist and buy all manner of chemicals "off the shelf".
At school we made rockets (after school hours, I had a terrific Chemistry Master.....
Now my Son wants to learn, we home ed.... this book gives me the chance to "teach" or better "inspire" him:- That I did already, demonstrating the oxidizing qualities of KMnO4, innitially he smuggly goes yeah and.... then quite soon it's wow, how the heck did that happen?
With the chemistry sets of today you take two or more chemicals, mix them together and go "um er what's supposed to happen", as the chemicals just sit there, or if you are lucky change color!
An experiment has to DO something tangible. Thank you for a great book!

On an offside as it seems that we are being treated more and more like halfwits, perhaps we could have a "for dummies" line of chemistry sets, and then have a range that are designed for the responsible, and wanna b edjucaited majority!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and serious treatment of the subject, 2 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments: All Lab, No Lecture (DIY Science) (Paperback)
How I mourn the demise of the old style chemistry sets - today's offerings are a sad and pathetic shadow of what they used to be. This book takes a fun, but very serious scientific approach to the science of chemistry as a hobby, and doesn't just teach you how to make pretty (but useless) coloured solutions. Of course, in these days where you require top level security clearance just to buy some meths for your spirit burner, it's not easy to find the chemicals required to carry out the experiements in this book - but companies DO exist in the UK who will legally supply individuals so don't be disheartened. I have no hesitation in recommending this book - and perhaps we should all lobby our MPs to BRING BACK THE CHEMISTRY SET!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really useful practical chemistry book, 28 Sep 2009
This review is from: Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments: All Lab, No Lecture (DIY Science) (Paperback)
As a teacher of traditional Chemistry in a traditional sixth form, I am always on the lookout for resources that are approachable but rigorous and which are 'real life' chemistry. That's exactly what this book is. Of course, it's got lots of traditional chemistry in it, but it challenges the reader on how to approach chemistry through practical work using very basic equipment. As well as suggested practical procedures, there is just enough theoretical support to make solid learning happen. The range of experiments is impressive and easily adapted, if adaptation is necessary, to a traditional laboratory setting. It's also fun. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars illusrtrated guide to home chemistry experiments, 28 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. B. Leonard (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments: All Lab, No Lecture (DIY Science) (Paperback)
although this book is for a litte simplistic (for me) it is well laid out and easy to understand I think it is aimed at 13 to 16 year olds. It is a good book for that sort of age group
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic introduction to chemistry!, 18 July 2011
This review is from: Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments: All Lab, No Lecture (DIY Science) (Paperback)
One of the best books I've purchased this year!

For those looking to get started in home chemistry, this is by far the best resource around. The book first guides the reader through the equipment and chemicals needed for a home lab (as well as their safe handling and storage), following which are a series of lessons teaching fundamental lab techniques -- doing a lot of exciting experiments along the way.

The most difficult thing was finding companies that ship chemicals to private addresses in the UK, but with a bit of searching, they can be found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Chemistry book!, 13 April 2011
This review is from: Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments: All Lab, No Lecture (DIY Science) (Paperback)
This book is great! With the right resources you can learn a ton about chemistry! I had previously ordered a chemistry set and had numerous other chemicals and was able to fill a whole day with experiments from this book. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments: All Lab, No Lecture (DIY Science), 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments: All Lab, No Lecture (DIY Science) (Paperback)
This is a great chemistry book with lots of details very clear explanations and great experiments. I love the way it is organized and written. It is very useful for chemistry teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was looking for something a little different, 16 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments: All Lab, No Lecture (DIY Science) (Paperback)
I've often thought it would be fun to write a book titled "How to make the chemicals the government doesn't want you to have". Something along the lines of improvising a means of heating salt to its melting point and then shoving a couple of electrodes from a car battery in it.
When I saw comments in the review about smelting your own copper and forensic tests I thought this book would be a bit more unusual.
To be fair I probably had excessive expectations. If you want to get started doing some chemistry at home then this is a good and fairly thorough book. It's just that it felt very much like doing the same kind of chemistry as you would do at school - I was expecting something a little more off the wall. I remember a very bright 13 year-old building a grinder he needed for his experiments from an old washing machine motor, and improvising to get a gas supply for his Bunsen burner. Now, that's home chemistry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the cover price, 22 Feb 2012
This review is from: Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments: All Lab, No Lecture (DIY Science) (Paperback)
Informative and enthusiastically written, though it would be nice to have a European edition with Sulphur and Aluminium correctly spelled (yes I'm a pedant!).
Most helpful in providing lists of basic equipment and chemicals needed to start off a home laboratory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book for the serious high school chemist., 22 Jan 2011
By 
N. W. Doll (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments: All Lab, No Lecture (DIY Science) (Paperback)
In my view, this is not a book for the young chemist looking for simple fun and inspirational experiments.
My main gripe, stems from the title, which is very misleading, this includes the words "All lab,No lecture". This to my mind suggests a largely practical approach to basic chemistry with minimum theory.
Much of this book reads more like a school textbook of laboratory science rather than a fun book of practical experiments. Somehow I question how many youngster are going to be tempted away for their computer games with experiments titled "Determine the molar mass from vapour density" , "Quantitative analysis of vitamin C by Acid_ Base titration" or "Stoichiometry of a Double displacement reaction" . All these experiment's are well designed but they do have a significant theoretical content detailing such long forgotten laws as Gay-Lussac, Boyles Law, Charle's law . I strongly suspect many students will wish keep this type of experiment for school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments: All Lab, No Lecture (DIY Science)
£16.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews