Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not very useful for newbies, 25 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Pocket Guide (Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Good book, lots of concise info, but designed for those who already have a fair idea of what they're doing and just need a quick lookup of some syntax/parameter. The last section on UML* is handy too.

*Unified Modelling Language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little gem, 20 Oct 2011
By 
bioShark (Germany, Romania) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Pocket Guide (Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
I am not a full time Java developer, but I still do a fairly large amount of Java coding. I bought this book just to have a quick reference on my desk and to quickly look over the stuff I don't remember and because it was very cheep for it's value, and I've added as an extra to a larger order.
Since I've bought it, I haven't regreted it for a moment. Right from the start I've learned something new and this has encourage me to read it through from start to end, not just keep it as a reference.
I highly recomend this little book, let's call it your little helper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise and to the point., 18 Jun 2011
By 
E. Parry (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Pocket Guide (Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This book won't tell you how to write complete programs, but it will tell you how to best use each component that goes into creating complete programs, from how much memory an int needs, to the most efficient way of reading and writing data to/from a file. When you're writing Java, this is the book you want next to your keyboard. It just gets to the point, straight forward and simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stuff, 26 Feb 2010
By 
S Patel "IMPMAC" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Java Pocket Guide (Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This book has really helped me with learning Java. Has everything you need to know just in case you forget!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great reference guide, 3 Feb 2011
This review is from: Java Pocket Guide (Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This book is great providing you already know what you are doing with respect to programming in general.
If you have a C background then this is probably all you will need to pick up how to use java.

The reason i bought it was to bring into my open book exam and it helped me a lot as i didn't have to trail through online tutorials just to get what i wanted.

all in all another great book by O'Reilly

If your serious about learning the language then you should have a book like this one to hand to help you out when your brain is full!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick and Handy, 4 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Pocket Guide (Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Being new to Java I needed something I can browse when I had five minutes and this guide is handy and quick to use and designed at it states to keep in your pocket. The text is clear and straight forward explaining the syntax and commands. A very useful book to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Small, packed full of the right stuff, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Pocket Guide (Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
I carry this reference book with me all the time, acts as a great refresher and all round reference guide to many of the fundamentals of Java. The UML section at the back is also very useful.

The layout of the book is clear, precise and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good pocket reference, 25 July 2011
By 
N. Llewellyn-Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Java Pocket Guide (Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
similar to other books in series, does what it says on the tin. As a hobby programmer, I find it handy for those bits and pieces a pro would know off by heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Java Pocket Guide (Pocket Guides)
Java Pocket Guide (Pocket Guides) by Patricia Liguori (Paperback - 15 Mar 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews