Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electronic Fun Without Soldering, 8 Jan 2008
This review is from: Making Things Talk: Practical Methods for Connecting Physical Objects (Paperback)
This is a lovely book. It is packed full of projects for building embedded controllers which use almost every practical form of interface technology: lights, motors, switches, blue-tooth, rfid, USB, etc. Just about anything you might like to try. Then the book's three great strengths emerge: you don't need to solder, electronics modules are low-cost, and the software is free. All of the projects are assembled using breadboard and wires, removing one difficulty in this age of surface mount chippery. The Arduino controller is advertised in Europe for 22 euro's, and the software is available as Open Source. Together these put projects into the price range of smart, dextrous 10 year olds with doting parents. The projects are very well illustrated with circuit diagrams and close-up pictures showing the details of assembly. For anyone who wants to go beyond the constraints of lego mindstorms, or just build computer control then have it disappear inside every day objects this is the book of experiments and techniques to get. I think every Computer Science or Engineering undergrad. should take a course using this book. Excellent value. Amazon should sell the controller and key modules to make the whole experience seamless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book! If you have an Arduino then buy it, 29 Aug 2008
This review is from: Making Things Talk: Practical Methods for Connecting Physical Objects (Paperback)
I've recently got into the Arduino microcontroller, it's a really useful little gadget and I'd mastered the basics of it: turning on LEDs, simple serial communication with an LCD display and other basic electronics but I thought I'd bitten off more than I could chew when I bought a bluetooth module to hook the arduino up wirelessly with my computer.

Not so! This book is brilliant and one of the projects early on in the book covered exactly what I needed to know. The projects are detailed and all the code is provided (although it would be better if it was on a CD as well). It has really pushed me to the next level!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 8 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Things Talk: Practical Methods for Connecting Physical Objects (Paperback)
This really is an excellent, well written book

If you want to connect different objects through different interfaces to do useful, fun and interesting things, this is the book for you.

Be warned that it is not a book for absolute rookies. You'll need to be comfortable (at a basic level) with programming and a bit of electronics. You'll also need to be happy working things out after being given some pointers (for example, there are PHP examples, but it is not a PHP manual). My background is science and engineering, and I've been inspired with some stuff for the lab and for home automation.

The typesetting, layout and figures in the book are really well done, credit to the author and o'reilly. But the kiss x at the end of each type section is a bit strange!

Enjoy it, it's a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking book, 25 Jun 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Things Talk: Practical Methods for Connecting Physical Objects (Paperback)
Although this isn't a manual for the arduino (or related microprocessors) this book will really help if you are doing anything with them. The theory is well presented, well explained Computer Science ... a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 8 Jun 2011
By 
G. B. Jeffery (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Things Talk: Practical Methods for Connecting Physical Objects (Paperback)
Well written broad introduction to transducer and actuator interfacing with Ardurino. Learn lots in an entertaining way.

Good introduction to software and particularly valuable as an introduction to diverse devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really excellent book with cool projects, 1 Oct 2010
By 
J. Cooling - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Things Talk: Practical Methods for Connecting Physical Objects (Paperback)
Making things talk is one of my best buys. It is a really useful book for experimenting with the Arduino and making cool projects. Very well written and easy to follow. I definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice introduction to the world of Micro Controller programming (Arduino), 25 Aug 2010
By 
Joshua Newnham "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Things Talk: Practical Methods for Connecting Physical Objects (Paperback)
Easy enjoyable reading with easy to follow projects. It's exciting to see the potentials of projects using the Arduino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 7 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. D. himself "danny himself" (england the best contry in the world) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Making Things Talk: Practical Methods for Connecting Physical Objects (Paperback)
01100111 01110010 01100101 01100001 01110100 00100000 01100010 01101111 01101111 01101011 00100000 01100110 01101111 01110010 00100000 01101100 01100101 01100001 01110010 01101110 01101001 01101110 01100111 00100000 01100010 01100001 01110011 01101001 01100011 00100000 01100011 01101111 01100100 01101001 01101110 01100111 00100000 01100001 01101110 01100100 00100000 01101101 01101001 01100011 01110010 01101111 01100011 01101111 01101110 01110100 01110010 01101111 01101100 01101100 01100101 01110010 01110011 00100000 01110111 01101111 01110010 01110100 01101000 00100000 01100001 00100000 01110010 01100101 01100001 01100100 00100000 01100001 01101110 01100100 00100000 01110110 01100101 01110010 01111001 00100000 01100101 01100001 01110011 01111001 00100000 01110100 01101111 00100000 01110101 01101110 01100100 01100101 01110010 01110011 01110100 01100001 01101110 01100100 00100000
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making Things Talk: Practical Methods for Connecting Physical Objects
Used & New from: 10.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews