Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More detail than the Pragmatic book
I read "Pragmatic Version Control: Using Subversion" before reading "Version Control with Subversion". For most people, I would say that is the correct order in which to approach these two books. The Pragmatic book is much more readable, but "Version Control with Subversion" goes into greater depth, answering some of the questions that the Pragmatic book doesn't. It still...
Published on 21 Mar 2009 by J. S. Hardman

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book
I have this and the Pragmatic one. I think the Pragmatic one is the better book, it's much more readable but then I think this one becomes more of a reference book.

So, if you can't make your mind up, go for the Pragmatic one. For the best of both worlds, get both!
Published on 17 July 2007 by rowantree


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More detail than the Pragmatic book, 21 Mar 2009
By 
J. S. Hardman "Consultant software developer ... (Near London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Version Control with Subversion (Paperback)
I read "Pragmatic Version Control: Using Subversion" before reading "Version Control with Subversion". For most people, I would say that is the correct order in which to approach these two books. The Pragmatic book is much more readable, but "Version Control with Subversion" goes into greater depth, answering some of the questions that the Pragmatic book doesn't. It still contains tutorial material, but also feels like a more authoritative reference.

Most developers think reading about version control is a waste of their time (surely they should be reading about C# or Python or the latest webby thing instead?). I disagree with that - there is little point developing fantastic code if you then lose your greatest work because version control isn't being used correctly. However, I am also realistic about how much time most developers can be persuaded to spend reading about subjects such as version control. Therefore, I would suggest that most developers on a team using Subversion should read the Pragmatic book, as that will give them enough detail to do what they need to, but without being too long or being heavy to read. However, I think it is worth a couple of developers at each site spending the extra time required to also read "Version Control with Subversion" in order to sort out the organisation and practices to follow at that site, including development of any scripts that might be required to support those practices. "Version Control with Subversion" gives extra detail about the differences between version 1.4 and 1.5 of Subversion, more detail on the pros and cons of using properties, use of externals etc. Most developers don't need to know these things, but a few do.

So, a good book, a bit heavier to read than the Pragmatic book, but still worth the effort for those developers who need to get involved in version control a bit more deeply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 17 July 2007
By 
rowantree (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have this and the Pragmatic one. I think the Pragmatic one is the better book, it's much more readable but then I think this one becomes more of a reference book.

So, if you can't make your mind up, go for the Pragmatic one. For the best of both worlds, get both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for users and admins, 6 Nov 2005
This is an excellent book on Subversion. It covers all the core operations for end users and has plenty of content for administrators. Like Subversion the tool, the book is elegant and simple. I don't think I need to add any more except that if you're thinking about using Subversion then don't hesitate to try it: its a great tool, a very worthy replacement for CVS (and some of terrible source control systems you have to pay good money for). This book will help you get up to speed very quickly - its especially useful for those migrating from CVS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 13 Feb 2009
This review is from: Version Control with Subversion (Paperback)
It's quite a good book.
First chapters are really for VC beginners, and the second part is quite useful for installing, configuring and maintaing a SVN server.
Maybe could have been useful a brief talk about most important SVN clients available.
If you need to run or use SVN I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and helpful, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. S. Trivedi (Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Version Control with Subversion (Paperback)
This book is really good for starters, but does not include details about Subversion externals!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Version Control with Subversion
Version Control with Subversion by Brian W. Fitzpatrick (Paperback - 3 Oct 2008)
£25.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews