Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what a pocket reference should be
I think the title of this review says it all. This book is compact and brilliant it contains all the function, variables, operator information etc. that you can want, and in a very handy compact size.
Published on 5 Dec 2010 by Apostle Monkey

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners!
Perhaps I am mean giving this only 3 stars, after all the other reviewers are very positive.
I suppose it isn't what I needed.
Here's my scenario - I am using the excellent book -Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner - to teach myself Python. I have some programming experience in other languages but will be teaching Python at this level to a class of 15...
Published on 11 Jun 2012 by Nico


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what a pocket reference should be, 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: Python Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I think the title of this review says it all. This book is compact and brilliant it contains all the function, variables, operator information etc. that you can want, and in a very handy compact size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference pocket book - but not for Kindle, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mark Lutz is well known as a Python Guru and he writes clearly. The book is well organised and a good reference manual in the familiar O'Reilly style. I bought the Kindle version that does not really work because an eBook is designed for sequential reading which is not what a pocket reference manual is designed as. For an eBook it should be designed as an HTML help file (or the CHM variety).and although there is an interactive index this isn't good enough. My review is for the content and I'll probably buy the paperback version but I doubt that I will use the Kindle version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners!, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Perhaps I am mean giving this only 3 stars, after all the other reviewers are very positive.
I suppose it isn't what I needed.
Here's my scenario - I am using the excellent book -Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner - to teach myself Python. I have some programming experience in other languages but will be teaching Python at this level to a class of 15 year-olds next term. Now the book is great but it is tutorial in style, so it not quick and easy to look up things ... say all the methods associated with lists, or whatever ....
I can and do, of course, use the Python web site which is fine when I am on line.

What I wanted was a little book where I could quickly look up some basic Python stuff, with a couple of examples. Anyone got any ideas?

Now the pocket reference book is obviously for more advanced Python programmers who already know a lot but want a quick reference - hence the, no doubt, well deserved 4 or 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book review: Python Pocket Reference, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
The first thing to note about the Python Pocket Reference is that if I was completely new to the Python programming language and wanted to pick up a handy 'reference guide' to getting started with essential concepts, this would not be an ideal book for my needs whatsoever. Apart from the single-page introduction, the book provides no logical flow that would allow someone new to Python to jump right in and start experimenting with basic functions and progress to advanced skills by the end of the book. There is other books that suit beginner Python programmers and I would suggest that a more detailed read in a tutorial format would suffice.

However, if you're an experienced Python programmer with existing awareness and knowledge of the topics covered (statements, syntax, types etcetera) then Lutz's reference is an excellent book to keep handy whenever you're working with Python. As this is not a tutorial or guide book, expect no images or graphics to break up large paragraphs of text, but instead well-presented tables containing essential expressions linked to the current chapter and bullet-pointed lists with colour-coding and a distinctive pre-formatted typeface for code.

Viewed as support material for someone well versed in the conventions of Python, Lutz packs an enormous amount of convenient and useful information into the book's pocket-sized 210 pages and is able to concisely link related ideas together through dark red highlighting of chapter names within the text, serving as a sensible method of allowing programmers to read information related to a certain topic or function. The latest edition of the book (5th edition) has been updated for the latest versions of Python and this is a reassurance to programmers that they are using information that conforms to correct specification.

In summary, this is a more difficult book to review as the interpretation and general stance taken in reviewing it depends on your perception and understanding of the Python programming language and your general experience in self-sufficient coding. The title seems to skew towards being a "Pocket Reference" instead of a reference guide or pocket guide; for the purposes of this review the 'Content' (topics described) rating is focused on interpretation as an experienced programmer and the 'Intuitiveness' (instinctive understanding) rating is focused on interpretation as a beginner Python user.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a great pocket reference, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I'm used to picking up O'Reilly pocket references and finding them to be excellent. They generally cut away the fat around learning a language and give you just the core facts.

This book is not like that.

I found this book to be useless at giving me the core pieces of information I needed to write Python code. Perhaps you need to be at an advanced level with Python before this book becomes useful, but as someone who has a little Python experience, plus 20+ years of development experience in general, I ended up turning to my search engine to fill in the gaps that I had hoped this book would fill.

I found it very difficult to find the things in the index, and when I eventually found the information it was in a format that was difficult to comprehend. It felt much more like a dry and technical language spec than a reference book.

The O'Reilly "Python in a Nutshell" book is much more useful as both a reference and as a learning text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable tool for every Pythonista, 10 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Python Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I owned the 2nd edition of PPR, which had some weak points, one of them being the lack of index. This 4th edition of PPR has a detailed index (10 pages), covers python 3.x and 2.6 (and also applies to 2.7), the matters have been reorganized and improved, and thus the contents page now is much more useful. The prose is excellent: neither very terse, nor verbose.

90% of the time I work in python solely with PPR, and the remaining 10% of time I consult David Beazley's excellent 4th edition of Python Essential Reference (Developer's Library) for getting the "dirty details" in python and in the numerous available libraries there described. Thus, PPR is more than a mere pocket guide: its 200 pages indeed correspond to a valuable python single reference for seasoned programmers coming from all backgrounds.

All in all, PPR is truly a swiss knife for every Pythonista.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Little Book, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
A very useful little book for reference and open book exams; may not be what you're looking for if you have a fair bit of experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Python Reference Book, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As expected from O'Reilly this is a very helpful and definitive guide for Python Programmers - it is not a learning tool!

However I did download this as a Kindle version but in practical terms this is not as good as having the usual small reference book handy.

That saying, it works if one is travelling and need to look up something on the off chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very neat and compact book, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
It is a bit small, but as it says in the title, this is meant to be a reference book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I must say it is a very good reference pocket book (It wont teach you coding!) and very helpful. I would only like it to have an ol'good spiral binding! ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Python Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly))
Python Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) by Mark Lutz (Paperback - 18 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: £7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews