Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Business
Since I first purchased The "Annoyances" book on windows 98 I have never looked back, as I upgraded to Windows XP I purchased the book to go with it the books by "Karp" are really the 'Bibles' for Windows users. Well written, easily understood and full of tips, tricks and useful information you really dont need any other book for your operating system they are that good...
Published on 7 Sept. 2011 by Don

versus
10 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Value for Money
All of the information on tweaks, hacks & annoyances in this book are freely available on-line most of it on the author's own website and in the discussion forums if you look. Although it is well written and well laid out (some wannabe geek at work lent me a copy she got in NYC telling me it was "amazing" ......yawn) It is a completely pointless waste of money, time and...
Published on 9 May 2010 by JONAH8208


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Business, 7 Sept. 2011
By 
Don "nottmdon" (Nottingham, Notts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7 Annoyances: Tips, Secrets, and Solutions (Paperback)
Since I first purchased The "Annoyances" book on windows 98 I have never looked back, as I upgraded to Windows XP I purchased the book to go with it the books by "Karp" are really the 'Bibles' for Windows users. Well written, easily understood and full of tips, tricks and useful information you really dont need any other book for your operating system they are that good! The "Annoyances" website is also a Godsend for those of us who from time to time find ourselves pulling our hair out by the roots wondering what in the hell did Microsoft have against us when designing their system! First glances at "Annoyance for Windows 7" shows me that this book is in a similar format to previous books and every bit as informative, a must buy for those who like to be in control of Windows rather than have windows in control of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book probably aimed at intermediate level admins, 14 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Windows 7 Annoyances: Tips, Secrets, and Solutions (Paperback)
A useful collection and handy reference for many of the annoying things about Win7
The information given is presented in the acurate but dry style of all the O'Reilly books,
and despite the picture on the front, this book is definatley not a turkey!
I reckon it's aimed at Intermediate level users - but you won't get out of your depth with this book,
there is plenty of stuff to keep new users fascinated for hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Windows 7 Annoyances, 21 Aug. 2010
By 
John E. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7 Annoyances: Tips, Secrets, and Solutions (Paperback)
Having bought the earlier Win 98 and XP versions of this book, I had little hesitation in buying the W7 version - and it is pretty good.

A previous reviewer said you could find everything by looking on the internet - but that misses the main point about having it all to hand when you need it, and that the book is written to solve day-to-day issues that you come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Windows 7 Annoyances: Tips, Secrets, and Solutions, 9 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. Paul Evans (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7 Annoyances: Tips, Secrets, and Solutions (Paperback)
Just like all the other 'Annoyances' books by O'Reilly outstanding, full of helpful tips, tweaks and tricks. I highly recommend this book, as no matter what your knowledge level you WILL find something useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars everyone's favourite book, 14 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7 Annoyances: Tips, Secrets, and Solutions (Paperback)
Hi,
this book is now well "dog eared" from use by all the family as the "bible for getting Win 7 running properly.
To me that is the best recommendation that could be given
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7 Annoyances: Tips, Secrets, and Solutions (Paperback)
useful book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Value for Money, 9 May 2010
By 
JONAH8208 "jonah8208" (St Martins, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Windows 7 Annoyances: Tips, Secrets, and Solutions (Paperback)
All of the information on tweaks, hacks & annoyances in this book are freely available on-line most of it on the author's own website and in the discussion forums if you look. Although it is well written and well laid out (some wannabe geek at work lent me a copy she got in NYC telling me it was "amazing" ......yawn) It is a completely pointless waste of money, time and of course paper the contents of which were on-line (but not as well written) at least 24 months ago when Win7 was in beta.

Which begs the question if you are technically aware enough to be interested in the subject matter then you are competent enough to know you do not need this book.

Finally

This book is $26.39 in the US & should therefore cost £18 at the very most in the UK so why is it £23.46 at the moment (reduced from over £30.00 oh goody!) - because it's another example of the US marketing lemons thinking Europeans are as thick as they are and don't realise GBP, EUR and USD are not the same value so will pay any old price that says we are "saving". Furthermore $26.39 is $20.00 overpriced in the first place what's it printed on hand made vellum?

No Thanks

OTOH I can copy, paste and tidy up text from numerous web pages and usenet groups so If I do a book on how to change fonts on Suse 11 then can I sell it for £30.00 please?

Jonah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windows 7 Annoyances: Tips, Secrets, and Solutions
Windows 7 Annoyances: Tips, Secrets, and Solutions by David A. Karp (Paperback - 14 May 2010)
£22.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews