Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linux in a Nutshell
Being a novice to Linux I did find this interesting, there is a load of information in here.
Published on 10 Aug 2010 by Ms. Yvonne F. Doughty

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but avoid Kindle edition!!
This is a perfect book when you want to start working or work a lot with Linux systems. Comprehensive description of commands is usually followed by an example or two, depending on the complexity or usefulness. All the commands are grouped into chapters, with general ones in one and then more specific for programming, package managers, different shells etc. Newer editions...
Published 14 months ago by Mateusz Malenta


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but avoid Kindle edition!!, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a perfect book when you want to start working or work a lot with Linux systems. Comprehensive description of commands is usually followed by an example or two, depending on the complexity or usefulness. All the commands are grouped into chapters, with general ones in one and then more specific for programming, package managers, different shells etc. Newer editions contain some major changes, such as added chapter on revision control, to incorporate ongoing evolution of Linux.
I have one warning though. I own 3rd edition paperback and 6th Kindle. Try to avoid Kindle edition if you can!! It is almost impossible to find a given command with one click - searching returns too many results. Index is totally useless in this case. Some entries have links, when others don't - definitely requires some major improvements. So 5 stars for book in general, but only 2 for Kindle edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linux in a Nutshell, 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: Linux in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Being a novice to Linux I did find this interesting, there is a load of information in here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of info., 29 Mar 2014
By 
J. I. Seco Sanz "nacho seco" (madrid, spain.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Linux in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Ok, so I am a fan of O'Reilly books. I think they have the best editors out there, that make the books useful and to the ground.

This is a good book, but sometimes felt like reading the manual pages. Some chapters are better than others. It is to be used as a reference book, do not try to read from cover to cover, as i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Had Unix in a nutshell for some years - pages had started to fall out. As I work more with Linux these days, I purchased this book. Its Great - what more can I say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Nov 2014
This review is from: Linux in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
great prompt delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Linux in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly))
Linux in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) by Arnold Robbins (Paperback - 2 Oct 2009)
£25.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews