Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing Manual - Snow Leopard
I have been a fan of the Missing Manual series for OS X since I changed from PC to Mac back in 2004. Having just moved to an iMac with Snow Leopard I have stuck with the series and have not been disappointed. Whilst all the information in the book is probably out there somewhere it is a great plus to have all this stuff sitting on a shelf close to hand. The shortcuts and...
Published on 27 April 2010 by Garraway

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Was too basic
Not as good as other books about the same subject; too big and not enough pictures and examples. Not a very good purchase.
Published 7 months ago by Adolfo Grandao


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing Manual - Snow Leopard, 27 April 2010
By 
Garraway (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mac OS X Snow Leopard: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
I have been a fan of the Missing Manual series for OS X since I changed from PC to Mac back in 2004. Having just moved to an iMac with Snow Leopard I have stuck with the series and have not been disappointed. Whilst all the information in the book is probably out there somewhere it is a great plus to have all this stuff sitting on a shelf close to hand. The shortcuts and 'hidden' properties that are in the book make it a real aid to faster and more efficient working. On past experience with my previous Mac I also found that when I had to do some emergency re-installation etc the relevant section in the Missing Manual was a great help, so regard having the current volume as good insurance.
Given my experience with the OS X series I have also invested in the companion volume on iWork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just one paragraph saved me two years of wasted time, 6 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Mac OS X Snow Leopard: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
if there is one thing that is pretty useless about macs it is the 'help' offered on the computer.
If you can find the issue you are searching for, the instructions have to be printed up,
unless of course you have a photographic memory, because the list of instructions vanish
as soon as you try to start following them. Googling your problem is far more helpful, and
it does show how many people, other than you, go through hell trying to resolve problems
that can generally be fixed simply with the right instructions.
running leopard and now snow leopard, I bought a new HP B110 printer, this time I had the
"Missing Manual" and in only two paragraphs of instructions learned the secret of adding a printer
to my Mac. Instead of installing the HP software using the CD provided,(for two years I used
this with my last HP Photosmart.) The "Missing Manual" told me to just plug in the USB to your
Mac, if the driver isn't already pre-installed, it will search the net, download it automatically,
and as the book says. "Voila" you have installed a new printer.
No booting up with alien HP scanner software, Image Capture replaces 'HP Scan Pro'.
Printing requires no more effort than clicking on 'print'. No more Applications > Hewlett Packard >
Printer. Any further 'problems' that inevitably challenge a non Psychic user like me, are resolved
by a fantastically specific index. Full and easy to follow instructions that don't vanish when you need
them most.
Even if you only use one page of the Missing Manual to solve one specific challenge, you will have
got your ten pounds back in the time saved and the improvement to your digital experience.
If you were systematically to use the book as a learning tool, you would become so clued up,
that people might find your dinner conversation a little geeky. For the inexperienced and those
who become set in the ways they use their Macs, this book is a must have, the information is
100% accurate, addresses the 'errors' built into the 'snow leopard' format and it will not only
make you more confident to attempt something new, it will massively enrich the enjoyment
you get from using your Mac computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing Manual has *missing* info, 21 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mac OS X Snow Leopard: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
D Pogue writes a truly excellent guide to the Mac.
BUT - a very large *but* - he does not begin where the beginner's actual needs are! Anyone coming from Windows to Mac - with the correct Missing Manual - will find he assumes you know so much more about Apple Mac than you possibly could. I spent ages fruitlessly looking for 'font book' for instance - so simple to any mac-user - but not to a newbie!
2] the other missing bit - which really is crucial - is a far better Index
There is plenty of helpful info here - you cannot grasp it when you are a new user - and unless you can cope with the total overload of trying to read the entire manual in search of what you need, you cannot find this info quickly and easily.
Looking at other reviews, it is clear that the 1-star ones are from people who have had this problem. so let's hope the publisher will employ a really thorough Indexer; and encourage David Pogue to do a first chapter which is a real 'beginner's guide'.

However - when you have explored your Mac, used it for a while and got used to some of the new ways of doing things, THEN come back to the Manual, and bless the day you bought it. Everything you want to know how to do *better* is there, waiting for you to have the questions ready to ask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mac OS X Snow Leopard Manual, 5 April 2010
By 
Kenneth B. Smith "HamRad" (Gloucester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mac OS X Snow Leopard: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Having for many years used PC"s running various versions of Microsoft Windows, I occasionally found my new iMac Snow Leopard something of a puzzle, hence the need for an authoritative Manual. There is no doubt that "The Missing Manual" by David Pogue is every bit of this. All necessary information is provided in detail, which can, at times be frustrating, due to the shear volume of data, which results in a book 5 Cms (2 inches) thick and could be said to involve too much nitty gritty. Should it have been provided with one quick fix chapter to solve some day to day problems. I would have given it the fifth star. However, enough of the criticism, It does provide an accurate and effective answer to Snow leopard problems and I have used it frequently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for the basics, 26 Oct 2009
By 
F. Sims (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mac OS X Snow Leopard: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
The last time I used Macs was back in the 90's. Having decided on a MacBook, I thought it would be useful getting a manual on the latest OS. I have looked at a lot of the available manuals and I like the style and lay out of his other manuals so decided to get it. Plus the other manuals appear even more superficiial.

It is clear that David has updated this with the latest Snow Leopard information and the book is littered with specific enhancements on virtually every page.

I find the style very readable and the information provided, very helpful. But it is not as detailed as I have come to expect from the Que 'Special Edition Using' series for Windows applications.
It is also not as full of the practical help of the 'Real World' series, for example, the area of using this OS on a MacBook with no mouse would benefit from some enhancements in future editions.

There are a places where I would like more detail, for example, the track pad section just covers the information that is covered by the videos that are built into the software without the practical advice of the benefits of certain options. To move applications in the dock meant a considerable amount of experimentation and I didn't find my eventual solution documented in this manual (hence the 4 stars). Prior to the publication of this manual, I had also found other keyboard shortcuts which are not documented for page up or page down, home or end, go to the beginning or end of line, next word etc.

I think it is the best of those manuals available and certainly worth buying to discover the potential of all the inbuilt applications. It is something I will read but then unlikely to keep referring back to in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mac Snow Leopard - Missing Manual, 24 May 2010
By 
W. Copeland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mac OS X Snow Leopard: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book - the author has taken the time to explain how to get the best from Snow Leopard in a simple, easy to follow style without treating you like an idiot. It takes you from learning the very basics right through to more advanced concepts - there isn't a better book on the market. Well worth the money and earns five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed reference guide, 28 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mac OS X Snow Leopard: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Acquired an Imac and needed a detailed reference book on the functionality of Snow Leopard.This book has proved excellent to date in that regard.When I have needed to refer to it the relevant information has been available to follow and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The inside track!, 6 Dec 2009
By 
David Walsh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mac OS X Snow Leopard: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Usual very high standard. All sorts of information one would not normally expect, except from someone with an inside track on what makes Snow Leopard tick. Introduces you to 'hidden' features of the software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mac OS X Snow Leopard: The missing Manual, 24 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Brian H. Wright (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mac OS X Snow Leopard: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
As with all "Missing Manuals", First class! I recommend that it is purchased when, or before, you move on to Snow Leopard, then browsed a section at a time as need or interest dictates. This, and other Missing Manuals, are always within easy reach of my computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everything i'd expected, 11 April 2010
This review is from: Mac OS X Snow Leopard: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Very heavy, comprehensive manual.
Starts from scratch so it includes EVERYTHING OS X which would be annoying if you only want a top up to Snow Leopard. But then it wouldn't be a proper manual if it did that would it?!
Excellent book overflowing with good info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa843a39c)

This product

Mac OS X Snow Leopard: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals)
Mac OS X Snow Leopard: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) by David Pogue (Paperback - 15 Oct 2009)
26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews