Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent place to start with Active Directory
This book is an excellent place to start if you know little or nothing about MS Active Directory. Another review says the scripting section is quite large, which is true.
I found most of chapters invaluable, as it covers much of the stuff Microsoft assumes you already know, such as how to design your DNS and AD structure, how to Migrate/Integrate from/with Windows...
Published on 13 Mar 2002

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More for people intrested in Scritping.
The book in split into 3 Sections, 1 & 2 are about "Basics" and "Designing" and are about 330 pages between them. The last section on "Scripting" is 250 pages, so the main focus of this book is on that. One of the best ways to find a good book, is to look at the index (I did this after I bought this book) under "I". This section has 2...
Published on 14 Dec 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent place to start with Active Directory, 13 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This book is an excellent place to start if you know little or nothing about MS Active Directory. Another review says the scripting section is quite large, which is true.
I found most of chapters invaluable, as it covers much of the stuff Microsoft assumes you already know, such as how to design your DNS and AD structure, how to Migrate/Integrate from/with Windows NT. Also touches on Exchange2000.
This is not really a reference book, more a chapter-by-chapter read. This is not a critisism as I retained much of the information the book contains.
Buy this book if you know little or nothing about MS Active Directory, and wish to know how to go about designing your AD network and how it will affect your existing environment. Also, if you are a late starter to AD and Windows 2000 Server this book is for you.
The only reason I gave it four stars was because once it had served it's purpose, I moved on and would probably not read it again. Do what I did , and pass it on.
Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent coverage of all aspects of Active Directory, 15 July 2003
By 
Dr. R. Jardine (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Active Directory (Paperback)
Considering it's not the largest IT book on my shelf, "Active Directory" 2nd Edition certainly packs a lot in.
It covers the essentials clearly and concisely, from the basic theory of what AD is to more practical details such as an excellent detailed description of all the settings available in a group policy object.
It then moves on to designing Active Directory, including a few invaluable practical examples and more up-to-date info such as how to upgrade to 2003 Server and where Active Directory fits into Microsoft's overall vision for Directory Services.
Finally there is quite a large section that gets into the nitty-gritty of writing scripts for AD using ADSI, ADO or WMI and how to extend the existing snap-ins.
Overall, I have to say this is the best book I have read on Active Directory (and I've read quite a few!) and is a considerable improvement over the first edition, mostly because it obviously draws heavily on the experiences the authors have gained by actually administering an Active Directory for a few years.
Throughout the book the authors highlight what's new in Windows Server 2003 regarding Active Directory, and the book is worth the money for this alone.
If you only buy one Active Directory book, buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O'Reilly does it again., 3 Oct 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
As a departmental administrator in a global multinational system with many servers, I found this book useful to get you off the ground and keep going. The concept of Windows 2000 Active directory is not intuitive and requires the use of this book or similar material to understand and maintain the system properly. IBM can supply sufficient training and training material; there comes a time when you need to see the information from a different perspective. This different perspective is given in this book.
If windows 2000 Active Directory is totally new to you or if you are used to NT, Novell, or Unix systems then you may want to read "Active Directory for Dummies" ISBN: 0764506595 first for the over all changes that use the same vocabulary to mean completely different concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars why cats?, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a heavy going book but should allow me to be able to get to grips with active directory, well i hope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More for people intrested in Scritping., 14 Dec 2000
By A Customer
The book in split into 3 Sections, 1 & 2 are about "Basics" and "Designing" and are about 330 pages between them. The last section on "Scripting" is 250 pages, so the main focus of this book is on that. One of the best ways to find a good book, is to look at the index (I did this after I bought this book) under "I". This section has 2 pages of references to "IADs". Compare that to "DDNS", "DNS" and "LDAP". Tools to work with Windows 2000 are really important e.g. "RepAdmin", "ReplMon" "DSAStat", "GPOTool" and "GPResult". It does mention "NETDOM" and MOVETREE" but not enough information on the subject of Tools in general. To back this up look at page 61 and see what is said about "RepAdmin" and "ReplMon". I did get into this book but I wanted more before the scripting section. Don't get me wrong Scripting will be big in Windows 2000 but it doesn't warrant the coverage in this book compared to the other sections. Maybe people into VB and programming in general might disagree with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book on the inner workings of the Active Directory!, 17 Feb 2000
This book covers many areas of the Active Directory, which others fail to mention, or get completely wrong in the explanation. As a consultant & trainer of Windows 2000 this book is an invaluable technical reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW ,just plain WOW, 11 May 2000
i`ll keep it short..... i am a system`s engineer . i had to migrate 500 users to w2k and build new domain structure...i didn`t have a clue...i bought and read this book ....experimented with the rest of w2k.i.e DFS DDNS and BINGO ....JOB DONE.....NEVER have i read such a usefull book on anything let alone the AD before....AD is basically W2k if you get that part wrong then the rest won`t matter if its right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 16 Dec 2009
By 
A. Leak "Wheelsup" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought this was a book about animals! No seriously, it's a good guide to AD and a must if you want to sit down and read instead of staring at a screen going through the electronic version. Great for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Active Directory, 2nd Edition, 14 Aug 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Active Directory (Paperback)
I was recommended this book and can only guess at what the person who recommended it was thinking. Make no mistake, this book is poor. Some parts are misleading, there are a number of omissions (for example, there's a long discussion of changing domain/forest modes, but no discussion of what the modes are and what each provides) and some parts are just plain incorrect. Now, how do I get my money back?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Active Directory
Active Directory by Alistair G. Lowe-Norris (Paperback - 29 Jan 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews