Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funky
This is a great little book, full of funky tricks and tips for improving, amongst other things, your mental arithmetic, memory, ability to brainstorm effectively and so on.
The hacks themselves are split neatly into eight sections: Memory, information processing, creativity, math, decision making, communication, clarity, and 'mental fitness'
Some of the hacks in...
Published on 11 April 2006 by D. Graham

versus
4 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish
This is a snappy title with rubbish contents. I like nothing about the format or the formulaic content

Several years later: It strikes me that, so far, 13 people have found my review unhelpful. Interesting that this is the case, don't you think, as you're either looking for a review because you've not read the book, so how can you have an opinion, or you're are...
Published on 8 Sep 2009 by Christophlamipie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funky, 11 April 2006
By 
D. Graham (Wakefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mind Performance Hacks: Tips & Tools for Overclocking Your Brain (Paperback)
This is a great little book, full of funky tricks and tips for improving, amongst other things, your mental arithmetic, memory, ability to brainstorm effectively and so on.
The hacks themselves are split neatly into eight sections: Memory, information processing, creativity, math, decision making, communication, clarity, and 'mental fitness'
Some of the hacks in the book are pretty intense, requiring a fair amount of legwork (or should that be brainwork?) to get them up and running. Some of the memory systems for example would clearly need you to remember the system before you could remember other things!
I loved the way that the hacks are set out - starting out with what the hack will achieve, how it would work 'in action', then applying it so that you can see how it would work 'in real life'
My favourite section was the Creativity section, with some great ideas and tips for getting the old grey matter ticking along. As with every O'Reilly book I've read, the author's style is friendly, clear and informative, not to mention funny.
You may not use all the hacks in this book, but I'll bet you a dollar you come out of it wanting to try more than a few. Top stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with useful tips, 22 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mind Performance Hacks: Tips & Tools for Overclocking Your Brain (Paperback)
Packed with useful tips for improving mental performance. You can either dip in or read cover to cover. The only catch is that you have to carry out the suggestions, not just read them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Variety!, 15 May 2013
This review is from: Mind Performance Hacks: Tips & Tools for Overclocking Your Brain (Paperback)
I love this well written and organized collection of mental tricks, hacks, and exercises. While other reviewers seem familiar with these, I am not, so find them all to be interesting. Though many are not for me, knowing about them has proved useful in odd situations. Others helped me to think about the subject in a new way.

On the first day of reading, I used number sixteen to reorganize some of the information I had gathered for another book--the method was a completely unexpected and welcome find.

One of the things I like most about "Mind Performance Hacks" is the variety presented. As well as the obvious cognitive subjects--remembering things, calculating things, and organizing things--other less left-brained methods are given, including instructions on meditation and self hypnosis.

It is a wonderful collection and very useful to come back to when needed, so I heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 24 Jan 2012
By 
J. PORTER - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great collection of clearly presented, applicable ideas for improving your performance across a wide variety of areas. Easy to dip into, and a great starting point for finding out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 8 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mind Performance Hacks: Tips & Tools for Overclocking Your Brain (Paperback)
This is a snappy title with rubbish contents. I like nothing about the format or the formulaic content

Several years later: It strikes me that, so far, 13 people have found my review unhelpful. Interesting that this is the case, don't you think, as you're either looking for a review because you've not read the book, so how can you have an opinion, or you're are the author looking for reviews.
Now let me think; if I wrote a book and found a negative review might I hit the helpful review button or something else??
Feedback is feedback and this is still a rubbish book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mind Performance Hacks: Tips & Tools for Overclocking Your Brain
Mind Performance Hacks: Tips & Tools for Overclocking Your Brain by Ron Hale-Evans (Paperback - 16 Feb 2006)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews