Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for solving specifics
Well written, clear, precise - not full of useless waffle like some guides.
Provides solutions to common problems and tasks, which could be very useful for beginners and users with some experience of PHP. However, this is *not* a "how to learn PHP" book, rather, like the title states, it is a cookbook of solutions with examples.

I can recommend PHP...
Published on 3 Oct 2009 by Charles Dixon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Dissappointed
I bought this book for several key recipes that were shown in the table of contents. Once having it on my Kindle, I was frustrated to find only very brief descriptions with links to the PHP docs for more information. Personally, when I buy a book it's to expand on the online docs - not to summarise them!

I feel like I just wasted £16+ on an index of the online...
Published on 17 Jun 2012 by John Landells


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for solving specifics, 3 Oct 2009
By 
Charles Dixon "Cyberoak" (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Well written, clear, precise - not full of useless waffle like some guides.
Provides solutions to common problems and tasks, which could be very useful for beginners and users with some experience of PHP. However, this is *not* a "how to learn PHP" book, rather, like the title states, it is a cookbook of solutions with examples.

I can recommend PHP Cookbook, but not as your only PHP text, especially for beginners. I suggest looking at 'PHP and MYSQL Web Development', by Welling and Thomson, published by Addison Wesley - covers the basics and most everything else too an excellent book for learning PHP and MYSQL for web development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book, 9 Jun 2010
By 
A. Gaspari (Slovenia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I haven't read the whole book yet and all I can say is so far so good. The book is well writen and exmples are well explained for those who have some experience in PHP(not as good for beginners). It solves all the common problems and frequently asked questions on various topics. The best thing about this book is that it has no useless content and it gets straight to the point. Some expamples made me rewrite some of the code on my pages. It's really handy book and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job!, 2 Nov 2010
By 
Mt N. Holmes "Nick Hewyn Holmes" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
This really is an excellent book and would recommend it to everyone who works with PHP.

I have worked in I.T. for 20 years and have spent squillions on various I.T. books over the years. Most are not as good as you would hope. This one is better than I hoped and I have high expectations.

The general tone and approach of the book is first class. You are treated like a bright adult. I like that. Naturally, there are bits in the book that may not be of immediate interest to you. However, because the problem solving is so intelligent and interesting, you may well find yourself delving into them anyway. I did.

I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Dissappointed, 17 Jun 2012
By 
John Landells "jlandells" (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for several key recipes that were shown in the table of contents. Once having it on my Kindle, I was frustrated to find only very brief descriptions with links to the PHP docs for more information. Personally, when I buy a book it's to expand on the online docs - not to summarise them!

I feel like I just wasted £16+ on an index of the online PHP docs...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite programming textbook, 20 Nov 2009
By 
Chris WRIGHT "Crispy" (Twickenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I've owned quite a few programming books in my time, but this is far and away the most thumbed I've ever had. As other reviewers have noted, it's not the book for you if you want to learn PHP from scratch (but then you're probably better off following one of the many excellent online tutorials instead). But it's well organised and packed with great, well written and succint examples. I've used it to solve specific problems, and also just to dip into and get ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PHP Cookbook, 13 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I purchased this book a few weeks ago, probably one of the best books that I have bought. Although it may not be for the beginner in PHP, the content is well laid out with plenty of excellent examples.

I now have this book near by as a reference book, I have learnt so many new ways to code in PHP, well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, I use it for work, 22 Aug 2012
The book is a good book overall. I really recommend it for any php developer.. beginner or intermediate. It is all what you need to become a good php developer.

Too bad teh book is a bit old and doesnt have a comprehensive section on database.. e.g. pdo, prepared statement and application security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Didn't have the chance to start reading it yet. Just a diagonal view and has so many useful information to learn!
In terms of conditions, it's perfect. Handled with care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good cook, 5 Mar 2011
By 
Vignaux "LVdesign" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
C'est un très bon livre de recettes php. Avec quelques ingrédients restant dans votre placard ou qui vous posent des problèmes d'association, on vous presente la meilleur des solutions et mme différentes solutions.
pas mal non et pas mauvais du tout?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PHP Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly))
PHP Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) by David Sklar (Paperback - 4 Sep 2006)
28.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews