Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definitive
I'm fairly new to PHP, having implemented a couple of basic features in one of my websites. That said, this book is an invaluable aid, complementing the online PHP manual as a useful, concise reference guide. It not only covers the language core, but also looks at PHP extensions. Covers how to install PHP5, object-oriented PHP, file and string manipulation, HTML...
Published on 6 Mar 2006 by D. Graham

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice tutorial, not sure about the reference
Enjoyable book to read, and is a nice tutorial, but I didn't think it was that good as a reference. E.g., several basic language constructs/functions are not defined clearly, the index is quite poor, and there are loads of errors/misprints.
Published on 1 Aug 2006 by D. Rourke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definitive, 6 Mar 2006
By 
D. Graham (Wakefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I'm fairly new to PHP, having implemented a couple of basic features in one of my websites. That said, this book is an invaluable aid, complementing the online PHP manual as a useful, concise reference guide. It not only covers the language core, but also looks at PHP extensions. Covers how to install PHP5, object-oriented PHP, file and string manipulation, HTML forms and other topics such as XML and multimedia.
As with all O'Reilly books, this one is liberally strewn with excellent examples and clear diagrams, and is well written for its target audience. It does presuppose some knowledge of basic programming concepts such as variables and loops, but would still appeal to the beginner as an addition to the online user guide.
Definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference Book, 29 Dec 2005
By 
Richard McLeod (Somerset, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PHP in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
This book is great if you already have an understanding of PHP, it's concise and yet gives a very good over all view of anything you are likely to use PHP for. If you are a begginer I would recommend learning from another book and then using this one as a reference and to learn more complex parts of the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice tutorial, not sure about the reference, 1 Aug 2006
By 
D. Rourke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Enjoyable book to read, and is a nice tutorial, but I didn't think it was that good as a reference. E.g., several basic language constructs/functions are not defined clearly, the index is quite poor, and there are loads of errors/misprints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Overview of PHP, 16 May 2008
This review is from: PHP in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
This is the fourth "O'Reilly in a nutshell" book I have bought and they are always excellent.

These books are great for getting an overview of a language / providing a quick reference.

If you are new to programming then this should be the second book you buy as this book does not teach you how to program.

If you already know how to program (any language) and want a quick overview of PHP then this is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled by the date! This covers PHP5, 3 Jan 2011
By 
Richard Acquaye (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
As an experienced front-end web designer/developer (deals with XHTML, CSS, JavaScript), i was learning php through video tutorials and in some of the videos, there weren't indepth explanations of some methods and commands and i have to say this book is just what i needed for a PHP reference.

The layout of the book is very clear and it feels a bit like a dictionary for php as i felt fed up checking the online PHP manual all the time. Don't be downhearted by the date, this book even covers PHP5.

I wouldn't say a person could learn PHP from this book for the first time because the sample codes go from advanced/easy diffifulty in fundamental examples. For example, "Public functions" and "Constants" are being used in the first section of the book which describes "Conditional Loops" and there is no explanation about constants or public/private functions. But overall this is a good book to have by your side as a PHP developer no matter the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremelly Usefull, 11 Nov 2010
This review is from: PHP in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Being a web developer, I often have to look up code syntax and remind myself of certain coding methods. This book has it all. From object oriented code to image manipulation. I have refered to this book countless times since purchase and frankly don't know what I would do without it now. A must buy for any PHP web developer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding languages overview, 11 Sep 2007
This review is from: PHP in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
If you're looking for a concise and well organized guide to PHP, this is it. In the long line of O'Reilly books, it's clear, easy to follow, easy to read. Not a reference, but it really does have PHP in the proverbial nutshell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PHP in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly))
PHP in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) by Paul Hudson (Paperback - 23 Oct 2005)
£19.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews