Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of those books that you wear out....
Find a group of Unix System Admins and somewhere nearby will be this book. What's more they will probably all admit to using from time to time. It covers just about everything you need to the depth you need everyday, from scripting to awk and sed to 'how do you get vi to do this'. A purchase I've never regretted.
Published on 4 Oct 2006 by dicksog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unix in a nutshell
This is a book that does what it says on the tin. It gives the reader a wealth of keywords and commands. This book however is not for the faint hearted. It can be seen as a bit clunky and heavy. On the other hand I can understand why so many see this book as a UNIX Bible.
Published 7 months ago by R Johnson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of those books that you wear out...., 4 Oct 2006
This review is from: Unix in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Find a group of Unix System Admins and somewhere nearby will be this book. What's more they will probably all admit to using from time to time. It covers just about everything you need to the depth you need everyday, from scripting to awk and sed to 'how do you get vi to do this'. A purchase I've never regretted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very insightful UNIX introduction, 22 Feb 2006
This review is from: Unix in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Well, once I have started with this book and it had been helpful and well guiding book. In is not the "only" book you will need. I have followed someone review's advice and paired this book with a "UNIX Essentials" DVD and they made a very effective couple. I found this DVD on Amazon.com but since they do not ship outside US I ordered it directly from CustomFlix.com
One way or another those people who pick book of this sort usually had no opportunity to attend some UNIX classes and the DVD alleviates this problem. May be it's just me,but when I pick a book and go through it I'm still no really confident. It does not matter how book is good, I'm never sure is it enough to make a claim that "I know UNIX". And this book along with the DVD had solved this issue to me. Book is easy to read and pleasure to follow. The examples and the explanations are very clear. So I liked this book very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geek Central, 14 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unix in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
If like me you are a UNIX administrator then this is a great reference book to keep you in touch with the commonalities between various flavours of UNIX (trust me, there are more flavours than you realise)and for those starting out this is an invaluable handbook to help you on the road to discovering UNIX, its idiosyncracies and it's potential over other operating systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Unix reference, 11 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unix in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
When I recently needed a Unix reference book, I bought this on Amazon sight unseen, knowing that the "In a Nutshell" books tend to deliver. And I was not disappointed - this is the sort of comprehensive, clear reference that a newish Unix developer needs, but that will still be useful for even the most experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelivable condition, Perfect not a mark, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unix in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
No a mark on this book. great condition with a great price. Was nearly going to buy this for €27 in Ireland only 2 days before, but thought I would chance a 2nd hand book on Amazon. Was glad I did in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unix in a nutshell, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unix in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
This is a book that does what it says on the tin. It gives the reader a wealth of keywords and commands. This book however is not for the faint hearted. It can be seen as a bit clunky and heavy. On the other hand I can understand why so many see this book as a UNIX Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference Guide, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unix in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I bought this for a family member who is an apprentice computer programmer. He specially requested it having browsed a number of other reference books but decided this one was the most comprenensive and easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unix in a Nutshell, 28 Sep 2011
This review is from: Unix in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Very comprehensive and detailed, but I have not had the opportunity to try out the commands and programming recently. Perhaps there could be more examples on the use of sed and awk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unix in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly))
Unix in a Nutshell (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) by Arnold Robbins (Paperback - 5 Nov 2005)
22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews