Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Wait for 3rd edition.
I bought the 2nd edition of this book when it was published and found it extremely useful. The 3rd edition is due soon - wait for it and don't be tempted to buy the old edition (things have changed in the world of HTML).
Published on 25 Jan 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat out of date
Not a bad reference, but rather dated, and the javascript section is rather too short. I bought second-user, perhaps there is a more recent edition?
Published 14 months ago by Nigel2357


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Wait for 3rd edition., 25 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Web Design in a Nutshell (A Desktop Quick Reference) (Paperback)
I bought the 2nd edition of this book when it was published and found it extremely useful. The 3rd edition is due soon - wait for it and don't be tempted to buy the old edition (things have changed in the world of HTML).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Web Design in a Nutshell, 7 Oct 2007
By 
Tami Brady "Tami Brady: Transition-Empowermen... (Calgary, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Web Design in a Nutshell (A Desktop Quick Reference) (Paperback)
Web Design in a Nutshell is not merely an updated edition of the previous book (2001) of the same title. Extremely quick substantial changes in the web design systems over these past few years simply wouldn't allow for such an update. Instead, the author has composed this book from the ground up to address the issues and concerns of web designers in 2006. This reference covers all the basics of web design how tos from basics like choosing text elements and creating links through more challenging topics such as optimization of graphics and using flash on web pages. However, the portion of the book that I found most useful was the sections on designing sites for a variety of different browsers and increasing accessibility on your website. Together, these aspects create an easy to understand guide for those individuals wanting an introduction to web design or as very solid reference material for current web designers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat out of date, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Web Design in a Nutshell (A Desktop Quick Reference) (Paperback)
Not a bad reference, but rather dated, and the javascript section is rather too short. I bought second-user, perhaps there is a more recent edition?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for web developers, 2 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Web Design in a Nutshell (A Desktop Quick Reference) (Paperback)
I was recommended this book by my Web Development Lecturer on my Computing Degree, and I have to say, i'm seriously impressed.

The sheer amount of information in this book is spectacular, yet it's not imposing, it's all explained well.

For anyone in the web development industry, learning about it, or who simply wants a refresher, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Yes, but..., 6 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Web Design in a Nutshell (A Desktop Quick Reference) (Paperback)
3rd edition is crammed full of information, sure, and it reads well. However, for me, its not as USEFUL as the 2nd edition. The first hundred pages is largely repetitive stuff about the W3C and accesibility, which is important, but not what I, as a learner, needs nearly so much of. What really loses a star from me is the fact that some of the things I am looking for have in this edition been shuffled into "this book is not the place to go into that" category. Juat one example - 2nd edition explains in some depth how to use FormMail, and as I have been struggling with this I was looking forward to the update. Not there...
So, its a good resource, but it won't solve all your problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 10 Aug 2009
By 
suejoh (Near Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web Design in a Nutshell (A Desktop Quick Reference) (Paperback)
I bought the previous edition of this book and found it invaluable as a reference to things I did not know and to explain things I did not understand. The new updated version is the same.
It probably would not teach a total beginner but once you have the very basics of html and css then this will provide much of the information you need to improve and it explains it better than a lot of detailed tutorial books.
I have been updating my skills and have been going through the first 3 sections - the web environment; the structure, XHTML; and the display, CSS. I find it covers a huge amount of ground - there does not seem to be anything not mentioned. It covers topics such as the declarations in the html header, search engine optimisation, deprecated attributes and what replaces them, the css box model etc. But it is still concise and clear. Each chapter lists resources where you can find more information if required.
I have not looked at the sections on Javascript, images, Flash etc in this book but the previous book did help me with different formats in use at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Web Design in a Nutshell (A Desktop Quick Reference)
Web Design in a Nutshell (A Desktop Quick Reference) by Jennifer Niederst (Paperback - 3 Mar 2006)
25.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews