Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such an easy read
This is an excellent book. I have read other books on design patterns including Design Patterns Explained by Shalloway Trott and whilst it was a good book it was rather a dry read.

By contrast the Head First book although looking a bit like a Design Patterns for Dummies type book by the cover does indeed cover the same material but in a way which is definetely...
Published on 15 Aug 2006 by C. CLARK

versus
26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Can See Why People Like It, But....
With all the raving my fellow reviewers have done about this book, you'd think it was God's gift to software engineering. But it has some downsides. Firstly, although the patterns it teaches you are useful for all OO languages, the implementation of them and some other knowledge this book uses is Java-specific. OK, so needed a real language they needed for their examples...
Published on 6 Jun 2007 by Mr. Stephen Jones


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent choice, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
This book was the basis of one my lectures at uni. It is very well written and easy to understand. The code is in java but o was studying c# and it was still easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best reference book ever, 24 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
Most reference/programming books are not all that helpful and usually quite dull, however in this book a huge effort is made to make it more appealing, and if you ask me, they have definitely succeeded. Recommended! By the way, it says it only works for Java, but this is not true, as most can also be applied to C++ (.Net).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, Marvellous, 3 Nov 2011
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
After a professional life-time coding in non-OO database languages, the world of OO and design patterns has been a revelation. Especially when I think of the endless regression testing I've had to do on changes to Oracle PL/SQL code, and this book has opened my eyes to this new world like no other could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect reading!, 4 Oct 2011
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
This is no ordinary book. I've been learning Java for a year now (along with objects) and I actually thought I knew something. When I started readin this book it just stroke me. I didn't know a lot! Anyway, the book is really well written, and you can read and read and ready. No boring book,funny sometimes and light reading with plenty of images and simple examples, and you can learn a good deal with this. I'm glad I bought it. DP rock and so does Head First! I sure will consider Head First next time I need a book they have. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 27 Sep 2011
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
Very good and easy to follow book. Enjoyable read while learning design patterns. Practical cases are used to present design principles and patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good introduction to design patterns, 17 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
the patterns are discussed in an easy to follow way, and like the cover says it sinks in pretty easily. the authors do labour on points a bit too long, but that's probably why the information is easy to digest and it's purely a personal opinion. i'm going to follow it with fowler's "patterns of enterprise application architecture"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and informative!, 16 Feb 2011
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
I study Computing and last summer, I thought about enhancing my understanding by learning Design Patterns.

Reading a book for your study during summer holidays doesn't really sound like the best way to spend your time but with this book, it didnt feel like I wasted any minute.

It describes the basic Design Patterns, their use, their code structure in Java and if it similar to another pattern contrasts why they are different. Sounds boring? Could be but I was not bored for a minute. The authors use different techniques to present the information like an interview style or a discussion round with patterns talking about their use. They use really funny examples to introduce a pattern that helps you to remember them.
When you read a good novel, you remember the plot quite well although you just read it once, right? The authors try to use a similar technique to keep you mind engaged and they succeed.
Additionally, some small and fun exercises at the end of each chapter makes sure that you know what you have understood and what not.

This book was written so well that I was happy if I found the time to read it.

Finally, it forwards you to the real book about Design Patterns, written by "The Gang of 4" so that you can become a real pro in Patterns.

As possibly every reviewer will tell you: If you want to get started with Design Patterns, start here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 13 Feb 2011
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
The book is fun to read and it definitely runs away from the boring technical writing. It is comprehensive and it's structure makes sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 24 Jan 2011
By 
K. Annamalai "Kalyan" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
Wonderful book to read about Design Patterns. All the chapters are well written and easy to understand except Factory and Compound pattern. One of the best from Head First. One will definitely keep turning the pages.

I didnt like the organisation of the chapters. It keeps jumping between Structural, Behavioral and Creational patterns. There is no clue on how the chapters are organised. Though it makes you keep reading, it also makes you loose focus because the subject is explained using pizza, chocolate, coffee, tea, duck, monkey, donkey, ect... I should not complain it because the whole intension of the book is to explain a complex subject in a comical way.

The book itself claims that it is not a complete design pattern book and should be considered only as preamble for design patterns. It advises to read a proper design pattern book, preferably the book by GoF.

It is very much true. I tried reading GoF few years back but I felt it was too complex and lost interest. Now I have full confidence to read the book again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best write method, 2 Nov 2010
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
This book uses a very clever method to make read easier and more understandable. And it does this very well. I have read a few books for design patterns and none gives you a better/easy understanding of the essential points of each pattern.

The only drawback is that there are more patterns that I would like to read with this superb method. This book is huge, but missed a few useful pattern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Head First Design Patterns
Head First Design Patterns by Kathy Sierra (Paperback - 4 Nov 2004)
29.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews