Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such an easy read
This is an excellent book. I have read other books on design patterns including Design Patterns Explained by Shalloway Trott and whilst it was a good book it was rather a dry read.

By contrast the Head First book although looking a bit like a Design Patterns for Dummies type book by the cover does indeed cover the same material but in a way which is definetely...
Published on 15 Aug 2006 by C. CLARK

versus
26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Can See Why People Like It, But....
With all the raving my fellow reviewers have done about this book, you'd think it was God's gift to software engineering. But it has some downsides. Firstly, although the patterns it teaches you are useful for all OO languages, the implementation of them and some other knowledge this book uses is Java-specific. OK, so needed a real language they needed for their examples...
Published on 6 Jun 2007 by Mr. Stephen Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best design patterns book, 18 Oct 2005
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
I have bought many design pattern books and found all of them dull - but not this one! It explains the patterns with excellent examples that makes you REMEMBER and UNDERSTAND them. I wish all computer books were like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for gaining understanding, 9 Jan 2009
By 
Sven-Ivar Fjeld (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
I found this book excellent. Being a professional software engineer in the financial industry I always enjoy reading a good text book but this one stands out in that it helped me understand the patterns in a much more complete and thorough fashion. Some of the other reviewers giving it a lower grade mention that it can't be used as a quick reference - I completely disagree with this: The book gives you such a brilliant understanding of the patterns that the only quick reference you need is the name of the pattern. Everything else you will remember properly and with the code fragments you really understand how to use them and how to apply it in real life. It does of course help if you try to put what you learn to practice, especially "chain of command".

This book adds further value: After having read this book, other greater pattern books become easily understandable such as the gang of four book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 29 Mar 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
Revolutionary. The notion that subtle topics such as patterns can be learned more effectively using a mixture of graphics, text, interactions, and some humour is a very pleasing one - and it works.
I had read other pattern books including the GOF book but had always tended to understand the material in the abstract, without being able to use it effectively in my work.
The book really helps you understand how the stock patterns such as Factory or Decorator work, but perhaps more importantly you begin to see the motivation behind them, and the design principles at work.
Crucial book. Dont hesitate if you're into patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for JAVA, 12 Jun 2008
By 
William Duffy (Greenock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
I am an ASP.NET developer and write in VB and C#. If you program in any OO language the fact that this book is written in Java will not be a problem in the slightest.

This book impressed me by the way it took you through implementations of the design patterns in order to help break the learning curve down into more manageable segments. After reading each chapter I knew exactly how the pattern was applied and understood it fully.

Something that was a real eye opener for me was that from reading this book I could see that design patterns exist EVERYWHERE in the .NET framework. User controls implements the composite pattern, the whole event driven model is based around the observer pattern and I don't know how many times I've been unknowingly using the template pattern!

There really shouldn't be any reason an OO programmer doesn't read this book (even if they are already clued up on their design patterns). It's an easy, fun and enlightening read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, easy and oh so interesting - Design Patterns?, 6 Feb 2005
By 
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
I have been struggling with Design Patterns and trying to remember them and how to use them, but this book seems to unveil all the secrets and really help you remember how to use them.
The book really is unique in it's approach and consequently make the information stick into the grey matter.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Can See Why People Like It, But...., 6 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Stephen Jones "steve_jonesuk" (Bristol, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
With all the raving my fellow reviewers have done about this book, you'd think it was God's gift to software engineering. But it has some downsides. Firstly, although the patterns it teaches you are useful for all OO languages, the implementation of them and some other knowledge this book uses is Java-specific. OK, so needed a real language they needed for their examples (and chose Java), but there's barely a nod towards other OO languages' perspectives on the patterns. Then there's the writing style. I don't have any problem with the casual nature of it, but for a start it's not nearly as much fun as it thinks it is. And it's really waffly - if you think this review's going on a bit, you should try this book where pages pass while imparting a few sentences' worth of information. I flipped through it very quickly. On top of all of this, some of the explanations are vague almost to the point of being misleading. Eventually I got into the habit of always checking Wikipedia's entry on each new pattern for a second opinion. Having said all of that, it taught me a few useful design patterns without being dry or a hard read, so it's not bad at all - just don't be expecting literary perfection. If you're using Java and like a book to talk you through this stuff like an actual person talking to you, there's a lot going for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best computers-book I've read, 27 Mar 2006
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
I made the big move from ASP to ASP.NET recently - it was tough! Wish I'd had this book when I started.
But hey! Wait a minute, I hear you say, isn't this a JAVA book????!!
Well, yes it is, but really it's about Object Orientated design patterns. All the examples may be in Java but if you know C# then it's not too much of a stretch. The main thing is, it will change the way you program and open your eyes to a new world of not-staying-up-all-night-making-changes-and-then-fixing-everything-else-that-broke-because-of-those-changes (and then being told they don't like the changes, change it again!).
You might even get to read the odd fiction book with all that new found time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Sep 2009
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
Even though its a technical book I've read it non stop.

The approach that this book (this series, the "Head First") makes to learning is very refreshing and pleasant. Because it tries the total opposite of all the other technical books. For example: theres a lot of images that help understand what is being explained, the writing is informal instead of the classical formal tone.

You will learn Design Patterns in a very fast and fun time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent book, 27 April 2009
By 
Mr. J. D. Zullo "Dani z" (Nice, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
Basically it is brilliant the way this book describes each pattern. Even though I am not a Java developer, I was able to understand everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 12 Jan 2006
This review is from: Head First Design Patterns (Paperback)
If you have any OO software connections at all - even if you are just beginning actionscript in flash 7 or 8 ... get this book.
This was my first foray into patterns, I am now an avid user, and it consolidated my understanding of the OO principle in a way that no other book has.
It's a big book but an easy read - easy to pick up and put down, I've already re-read it once and intend to again.
The code is in Java but the syntax is so familiar that even as an AS 2.0 programmer I was able to follow easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Head First Design Patterns
Head First Design Patterns by Kathy Sierra (Paperback - 4 Nov 2004)
£25.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews