Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars OMG!!!! This book is BOMB! If Carlsberg made Network security books - A Must read for every Network analyst
This covers a wide variety of topics and in more depth than I could have imagined!

It provides clear and easy for follow instructions on the what Network Security Assessment is all about but don't be fooled! It also covers all topics in detail. Be warned though! This author's knowledge us very extensive and you could end up better informed than you expected...
Published 14 months ago by HeadUp

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An in-depth technical resource
This book introduces the tools and techniques used for evaluating the security of networks and services. It aims to provide the readers with tactical and technical knowledge to determine how secure a network is by attempting to probe and exploit it. It serves as an excellent in-depth technical resource for those who continuously strive to protect their networks...
Published on 10 Jun 2009 by Siraj A. Shaikh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An in-depth technical resource, 10 Jun 2009
By 
Siraj A. Shaikh (Swindon, Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book introduces the tools and techniques used for evaluating the security of networks and services. It aims to provide the readers with tactical and technical knowledge to determine how secure a network is by attempting to probe and exploit it. It serves as an excellent in-depth technical resource for those who continuously strive to protect their networks.

The first chapter sets the scene and gives an overview of the network security assessment methodology. The following chapter familiarises the reader with tools and software that are used at various stages of the book.

The author then takes the reader on an extensive technical journey, tackling every aspect of a network to highlight potential weaknesses and vulnerabilities that may exist and ways to determine them.

From chapter to chapter, the author covers it all, including network enumeration, web services and applications, database and email services, VPNs, various Windows and Unix specific services and more. At the end of every chapter, a section on appropriate countermeasures is added to discuss means to protect systems from the vulnerabilities uncovered in the chapter.

A few chapters worthy of mention include chapter 4, which is one of the best surveys on network scanning and probing techniques I have come across. It covers the various characteristics of IP, ICMP, TCP and UDP protocols used to gather information about networked hosts and services. Scans and probes are discussed in relevant and clear detail along with the various tools available to launch them.

Chapter 14 provides a very thorough examination of memory manipulation attacks that are launched at the application level. Chapter 15 introduces Nessus, a popular vulnerability scanning tool, and serves as a good user guide to install and effectively use the tool.

What I really miss in this book is a final concluding chapter. A discussion on the overall strategy needed to carry out a rigorous and effective assessment, particularly for medium to large corporate networks where such an exercise is most needed, could have been very useful.

Network security assessment requires a considerable depth of technical knowledge and an aptitude for such activity. This book allows the reader to gain both. It is up-to-date and detail oriented, and is good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OMG!!!! This book is BOMB! If Carlsberg made Network security books - A Must read for every Network analyst, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This covers a wide variety of topics and in more depth than I could have imagined!

It provides clear and easy for follow instructions on the what Network Security Assessment is all about but don't be fooled! It also covers all topics in detail. Be warned though! This author's knowledge us very extensive and you could end up better informed than you expected :)

Downside: Some of the aspects covered are slightly dated due to the date of publication so that really not a criticism of the book itself but I would argue that 90-95% of what's covered is still relevant today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good taster for the world of network penetration testing, 22 Feb 2012
This book gives a good cross-technology baseline from which to learn about penetration testing. I would make this mandatory reading for all Security Analysts. Previous to this book I had not seen a more business-oriented vulnerability assessment guide. There's an awful lot of writing out there about theoretical attack vectors and techniques, but very few of these are oriented to needs of businesses in the real world of the actual risks faced by businesses.
In terms of it's applicability to penetration testing as a whole...we're talking about a huge field of knowledge, but this book should at least be seen as a very good place from which to start. Some of the more exotic attacks and exploits are not covered, but then again, the more exotic sides of penetration testing rarely are deployed in anger in a commercial penetration test.
As I have commented in my own book (Security De-Engineering: Solving the Problems in Information Risk Management) Penetration testing in today's commercial world is in most cases just a compliance show (companies need to show auditors their perimeter (whatever that is these days) has been tested by an independent third party), but there are some niches where quality is sought and appreciated. This book gives those entering such areas of the industry a very good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Network security book I've read, 3 May 2011
By 
Tom Crowley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Simply put, this is the best book on the subject I've read, and I've read a lot of them over the years. It's technical, but explained simply and succinctly. A great read, I look forward to the next edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Network Security Assessment", 18 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Network Security Assessment: Know Your Network (Paperback)
The defacement of websites are increasing day by day. It doesn't
matter whether they are windows or *nix. Numerous exploits and
malicious codes are released every day. Researchers published new
vulnerabilities everyday online. So, the need arises to secure your perimeter from hackers and crackers. There are numerous freeware and commercial products available for this purpose. The book "Network Security Assessment" covers the same issue in detail and describes how you can secure your perimeter. It describes numerous tools and shows how one can use these to explore vulnerabilities and misconfigurations in your network. It offers proactive defence measures to secure your network.
"Network Security Assessment" provides a good framework for anyone who is involved in network security. I've read a number of security books. But, I think this book is a text book for security engineers. The book starts from the basic concepts of network enumeration using basic scanning tools like nmap and discuss many server issues like http/ftp/smtp server etc.
It explains systematic use of tools and techniques for penetration testing. I strongly recommend this book for security engg and penetration testers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for any InfoSec specialist, 30 May 2004
This review is from: Network Security Assessment: Know Your Network (Paperback)
Although much of the book material I have known before, but the author illustrates the subject very well, and gives brilliant methodologies on how to perform pen tests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Network Security Assessment: Know Your Network
Network Security Assessment: Know Your Network by Chris McNab (Paperback - 29 Mar 2004)
24.24
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews