Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a doorstop
An really excellent beginners book. You can read it away from a computer then come back and try things out. The writer has resisted the temptation to put everything he knows about PHP into the book, in the knowledge that you can go to the PHP web site (or many others) to learn more about something that interests you. Having said that, there's more than enough in the book...
Published on 14 Feb 2010 by Keith Taylor

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far to simplistic and lacking in substance
This is not a book for anyone with any level of programming experience (no matter how small) The author seems to stretch out simple topics over complete chapters. And although he gives plenty of code examples to illustrate his points, they are often so similar you wonder if he could of just had the one rather than half a dozen with small incremental changes...
Published on 11 Jan 2012 by Tasty Sauce Code


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a doorstop, 14 Feb 2010
By 
Keith Taylor "sackbut" (Warsash,Hampshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learning PHP 5 (Paperback)
An really excellent beginners book. You can read it away from a computer then come back and try things out. The writer has resisted the temptation to put everything he knows about PHP into the book, in the knowledge that you can go to the PHP web site (or many others) to learn more about something that interests you. Having said that, there's more than enough in the book to enable you to use PHP on your web site.

The examples really do help you to understand the text and the exercises are well worth working through. There's a good index. I didn't spot any errors. Finally - A well made book that lies flat when you open it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must have if..., 10 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Learning PHP 5 (Paperback)
If you are coming from website development with html/xhtml and would like to move on learning php, this is the book to have.
It teaches you the very basic of programming from the very start with php so you have a solid foundation to keep building on.

I bought so many books where the writer just expected you to sit in front of a computer with the book somewhere between the keyboard and the mouse; This is not one of them, you can read this book on the train without having a computer in front of you as there are numerous examples and the result that would have been printed on the screen if you had done them.

At the end of the chapters, you also have exercises so you can learn by practice and monitor your progression (there you will need to be in front of your screen). The answers are at the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far to simplistic and lacking in substance, 11 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning PHP 5 (Paperback)
This is not a book for anyone with any level of programming experience (no matter how small) The author seems to stretch out simple topics over complete chapters. And although he gives plenty of code examples to illustrate his points, they are often so similar you wonder if he could of just had the one rather than half a dozen with small incremental changes.

His policy of being 'jargon free' is also a double edged sword, it means it's more readable but as a result he has a tendency to gloss over the all important 'why' (when to use certain features or what they actually mean past a simple and often trivial explaination)

I would only recommend this if you are an absolute beginner at anything remotely code related. To everyone else, there are much more concise and better detailed books out there. The one I personally would recommend is by the creator of PHP, Rasmus Lerdorf himself. ( Programming PHP ) To me, 'Learning PHP 5' is like a tourist phrase book; you gain very little understanding of the underlying meanings or the all important context of how to use it - but hey at least you can ask for directions (albeit rather stiltedly) to the nearest post office or restaurant... ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great deal!, 2 Feb 2012
This review is from: Learning PHP 5 (Paperback)
Perfect conditions and a good price for an excellent reference book.
The book arrived in 5 days and since then I've been reading it constantly. Really satisfying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top class., 10 Aug 2011
By 
D. Halberg "GreyGoose" (Gravesend, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning PHP 5 (Paperback)
I have to say that this book is absolutely brilliant, very easy to follow and understand and makes PHP a breeze to learn. If, like me, you've dabbled with PHP for a while you'll find you don't even need to be in front of a computer a lot of the time 'cos it's all falling into place. You can very easily read the chapters and then use the pc to work through the examples. I'm happy to recommend this book both to beginners and experienced PHP users - it makes a great reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 29 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Campbell D. Morrison "minoandad" (Belfast, Northern Irelanc) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning PHP 5 (Kindle Edition)
It is an absolute absurdity that in order to rate something you have to write an essay - I have better things to do with my time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical little book!, 12 May 2011
By 
A. Kwabula (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learning PHP 5 (Paperback)
This is one of my PHP books that I use very regularly. Some PHP books require that you sit on a computer and type code line by line. That means away from your PC, the book is less helpfu. Now that's a good thing, nothing wrong in that approach but you may agree with me that if all your boooks were like that you would not get thed most out of you book collection. Sometimes you want to go through the book in front of the TV, alternating between viewing and reading about arrays or functions. With this book that is possible. I have even carried it to the local park. I love the style, no screen shots. Instead, it shows what your script will print. For instance if you are looking at a while loop that outputs a table, it will show you the code that will be produced by the loop and not the table as it will render in a web browser. Because of this, you can analyse the code yourself and plug it in a PHP editor when you are ready plus the book is only 349 pages but packs so much data that if screen shots were shown this would be a huge book in terms of page count. You can read a chapter then go to a PC and see for yourself how the code is parsed.

The choice of examples is excellent. You will find examples of a loop that produces a table with alternative colors as well as iterating deeply nested arrays. You will find code that you can easily expand for use on a real world project. There are practical examples at the end of each chapter that will ask you to write code that solves a problem such as calculating the cost of a restaurant order (meals, tax, tips). You have the answers at the back to check if you are getting better in your programming. This is just a great book, not necessarily perfect, as that is impossible.

I am glad I bought this book, it's realy Learning PHP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Learning PHP 5
Learning PHP 5 by David Sklar (Paperback - 5 July 2004)
£19.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews