Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Investment I've Made!
I'm a 2nd year computing student, with limited experience of Perl and SQL. I'd never used PHP or MySQL and, with this book as my 'bible', I installed and configured the software and built an online voting application in a couple of weeks....and it's given me lots of other food for thought!
The book covers a very broad range of content - web protocols, database...
Published on 21 Jun 2002

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't really lead by example
It's a good and thorough book, and as far as it goes or any other book goes on this subject I would recommend it. There are however some caveats to this. The first is that there is a huge chunk in the middle which just lists a whole bunch of functions. It is essentially a reference section in the middle of the book. They do the same for MySQL as they do for PHP. So what...
Published on 20 Oct 2005 by Alan Sawyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Investment I've Made!, 21 Jun 2002
By A Customer
I'm a 2nd year computing student, with limited experience of Perl and SQL. I'd never used PHP or MySQL and, with this book as my 'bible', I installed and configured the software and built an online voting application in a couple of weeks....and it's given me lots of other food for thought!
The book covers a very broad range of content - web protocols, database design, php essentials, sql, authentication, session management and much more. It doesn't skimp on detail, though - There's enough here to enable anyone with any relevant programming experience to build a web database application with PHP and MySQL. The style is very accessible - each topic is covered in tutorial style and then applied to an example application (an Online Winestore) which is developed throughout the book and the code is available to download.
I've got more out of this one book than any number of others combined - I'd highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, shows you PHP and MYSQL well, 17 May 2002
By A Customer
A very good book, showing you how to use these two very powerful tools. Text is clear and well written, and the examples are good. It also has useful beginners references on database design, sessions, TCP/IP and HTTP. All in all, more about writing an application more than just PHP/MySQL.
Criticisms? Lacks the depth of a PHP or MySQL specific book, but thats okay. Main complaint is that the examples seem just a little to specific - more general example code rather than just the wine store would be nice. Thumbs up though, guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O'Reilly are the best, 27 May 2003
By 
M. G. Austin "recycler" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having bought many expensive computing books over the years, I find that O'Reilly tends to deliver what I'm looking for pretty much every time. With Web Database Applications with MySQL and PHP there was no exception. I found I was able to get MySQL and PHP working on Linux pretty quickly, by using this in combination with the PHP, Apache and MySQL install notes. Following that I have been able to get started on developing real web applications within a couple of days, and the examples given in the book have been useful and clear.
Although there is a brief "What is a database?" and "What is a webserver?" discussion at the start of this book, you should not expect to learn web concepts, SQL or HTML here. Having done lots of Oracle/Ingres and Java development before I hit the ground running. However, it might be too much too soon if your background until now has been building static webpages with Microsoft Frontpage.
It is interesting that there is no discussion as to when PHP and MySQL might be an appropriate solution. Indeed the back cover of the book asks "What do eBay, Amazon.com and CNN.com have in common?", answering that "they are all applications that integrate large databases with web interfaces". Interesting choice of examples, as Oracle is almost always the database of choice for this kind of very large implementation (including those mentioned). It seems to me that the real advantage of going down the PHP / MySQL route is that the software is free and hosting is very cheap. A dedicated chapter outlining the strengths and weaknesses of the PHP / MySQL approach would have been a nice addition.
All in all, I'd recommend this book as an excellent technical starting point if you want to use PHP and MySQL for your next development project. Having this book to hand will mean you don't need to delve too heavily into the nuts and bolts of the documentation for the first few weeks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't really lead by example, 20 Oct 2005
By 
Alan Sawyer "Alan" (Rome Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Web Database Applications with PHP and MySQL (Paperback)
It's a good and thorough book, and as far as it goes or any other book goes on this subject I would recommend it. There are however some caveats to this. The first is that there is a huge chunk in the middle which just lists a whole bunch of functions. It is essentially a reference section in the middle of the book. They do the same for MySQL as they do for PHP. So what are we upposed to do with this? Read amd memorise the whole lot?
It would have been a lot more helpful to bash through and construct a database application (which is what this book is about actually) and explain the code and have a reference section or a pullout at the end.
I now regularly use phpfreaks.com for their tutorials as this is what they do. Take a chunk of useful code, break it down bit by bit, line by line. when properly structured this is a much better way of learning as one really digests the commands and syntax. Just reading an incredibly dry list of commands and functions or being expected to do this is pretty unreasonable. I am still looking for that book that has a complex web application project that includes nearly all of the fnctions and syntax of PHP and MySQL where the reader is led through and comes out of the other end with a thorough understanding of all that is involved.
Summary: great reference book with an example of a web application towards the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful book, but some shortcomings, 7 April 2003
By 
Martin Farrimond "MartinF" (Bristol, UK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I managed to learn a lot from this book fairly quickly. From knowing absolutely nothing about PHP (and not being a programmer either!) to running the examples was a rapid progression.
It is, however, not a reference manual, and there seems to be occasional stuff presented and used that's not explained (like sessions).
The examples are good, though and give one a pretty good idea of what's going on on.
Unfortunately, php has moved-on slightly since the book was published. The examples one downloads from the publisher's website have been updated, but do therefore differ from the examples published in the book. The publisher's website also has an errata which does contain some significant corrections.
Two main criticisms:
1)The book doesn't really touch Windows - it focuses on Linux as the base OS. I did eventually manage to get Apache, MySQL & php all installed & working on Win2K - In the end it was easy, and all 3 seem to run just fine, but it was darkness all along the way.
2) Some of the stuff around authentication and sessions doesn't work - at least *I* can't get it to work - neither locally nor on the remote (Linux) web server & I have no idea why it doesn't work. As I said, I'm no programmer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars Really, 15 Jan 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would generally agree with much of what's been said by other reviewers, particularly the poor support for Windows -- which is a reasonable environment for playing and practising -- and one would certainly imagine a popular choice for trying things out.
Another thing that bothered me was the number of errors. O'Reilly have a good system for reporting book errata on their website -- and I used it in this case, going through all reported errors in the book, pencil in hand. However, despite the number of errors reported for this book, there are others I've discovered in only my first couple of weeks of using it.
It can be quite hard to trust a book with so many errors, and when one is learning something, it's much harder to spot errors except the hard way.
Once you do manage to get an environment set up in which you can play, it is a pretty reasonable book -- and I don't think their concentrating on their winestore example is such a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well written!, 13 July 2005
This book is an extremely well written book. The best thing about this book is that it builds a sample web database application (wine store) throughout the book.
The book is also very well organised which covers PHP fundamentals and demonstrates PHP's tight intergration with MySQL. It also has an appendix covering Modelling and Designing Relational Databases.
The book also covers advanced stuff such as Sessions, Authentication and Security, etc.
The book has an installation guide for PHP, MySQL and Apache.
I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to learn PHP.
A must by!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good concise and easy to understand, 27 Aug 2004
By 
R. Powell "Rp" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Web Database Applications with PHP and MySQL (Paperback)
I like this book - yes it is a bit heavy in terms of pages but it also covers a few of the things that are harder to find in other books - The OOP section is a very good and worth reading. This one will be in my bag and book shelf for a while..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but Dated!, 1 Aug 2009
By 
I. A. Peden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Web Database Applications with PHP and MySQL (Paperback)
This book is very well, and clearly , written.However, when attempting to use the examples , the PHP versions often conflict with the MySql versions.
This excellently written book could do with an update!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good introductory book on web applications development with PHP, 28 Sep 2011
This review is from: Web Database Applications with PHP and MySQL (Paperback)
It is a good introductory book on web applications development with PHP.
It is well written and easy to understand. Maybe for an experienced programmer it is a little verbose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Web Database Applications with PHP and MySQL
Web Database Applications with PHP and MySQL by David Lane (Paperback - 23 May 2004)
£32.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews